We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Basehor
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel was a great surprise, the rooms were fantastic and the view of the ocean even better. We only stayed one night but wish we had booked more time here. The rooms had a fantastic deck with an open air feeling. Lots of space and even had the best internet service of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica. Our highlight was watching the spider monkeys come home around 5:20. Very beautiful, very comfortable. Restaurant was great and we really enjoyed getting to know our waiter, Bruce. Front desk felt a little stiff, it was set up more like a business office and did not give us a good understanding of the layout of the resort, beach or town. Only staying one night, we still figured it out and was a great place to end our vacation. Hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    325
    115
    51
    36
See reviews for
288
324
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel fully met our exacting expectations for paradise. The room was booked for my wife and son for a couple nights stay in Manuel Antonio. The room was large and beautiful with lots of woodwork throughout. And the balcony overlooked the wonderful Pacific ocean with the jungle in the foreground. We didn't need AC as the night air cooled us sufficiently. The hotel's pool was a secret place of its own with an awesome view of the ocean. The hotel's restaurant was great and the food was very tasty - especially the breakfasts. And the wildlife we saw while dining kept us transfixed - monkeys and sloths - awesome! We hit the El Aviion for lunch the next day and had a memorable one watching the turkey vultures soar on the currents as we downed our Imperial beers. We will definately make a return trip to Costa Verde.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asbury park, nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Costa Verde is on a huge property so you still feel like you're in the rainforest, even though you're at a resort. The room was spacious and had a small kitchen. Good bathroom and shower, and the beds were large, although a little hard. But the big WOW factor is the view of Manuel Antonio Beach! Amazing sunset view from the pool, or the balcony if you get an ocean view room… which is a must! Breakfasts are wonderful … order the banana bread! Close to the beach, restaurants, and downtown Quepos! Overall great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have a efficiency room. It has a hot plate that won't boil water and a coffee pot and a fridge. The dishes are stored where the garbage can is, under the sink. If you hate bugs, this is not the place for you. The people in the office are very nice, they will pick you up and take you to any off the resorts restaurants or pools. The monkeys play in the trees and lizards are everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We Stay 1 night with our son, big room, amazing view, great location. The room was big, very clean, simple but with all the things that you need when you travel with family, small kitchen, coffe maker, great balcony to relax and eat. The pool was nice and refreshing after long day in the sun and we even saw sloth on the tree next to the pool and many birds. We defenatly will come back for more.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a generally positive experience here. The rooms were very nice. Both of our rooms had fantastic balconies with great ocean views (although, in this case, ocean view also equals road noise) with small but decently equipped kitchenettes. One of our rooms (B2) had a shower where you could open the curtains and essentially have an outdoor shower - kinda cool! The beds were fairly comfortable but the blankets are very rough. The various buildings are basically cut right into the jungle, so it's a very natural, relaxing experience. Depending on which room you're in, be prepared to get a workout walking around - lots of hills and stairs.

The pools were nice. Sometimes crowded but nevery annoyingly so, and people came and went constantly, so we often had it to ourselves or just a few others. The adult pool has a great ocean view. We spotted quite a bit of wildlife during our week there (although definitely not "more monkeys than people") - capuchin monkeys, squirrel monkeys, a sloth, an iguana; we heard others saw toucans. And you can't miss hearing the howler monkeys.

The hotel website's description of how close the hotel is to the beach is pretty misleading. The very southern limits of the property might be a "ten-minute walk" to the beach, but for most of the rooms it's much farther. And walking along the road, although a lot of people do it, feels pretty dangerous, especially with kids (there are no sidewalks in the direction of the beach). However, it's very easy to get to the beach on the public buses. The bus stops right in front of La Cantina restaurant across from the front desk, costs only about 50 cents, and quickly gets you down to the beach. We couldn't quite figure out the schedules (I think there are several different bus companies) but during the main part of the day, they came much more frequently than the "every 30 minutes" you see quoted.

The bus is also very handy for going to other hotels and attractions (for instance Fincas Naturales and the butterfly garden), the village of Manuel Antonio which has some restaurants and shops, and the town of Quepos. The bus routes end at the bus station in the middle of downtown Quepos; there are numerous restaurants and stores in the downtown, including a couple of grocery stores right next to the bus station. Taxis are also easy to get. In Quepos, they line up near the bus station. We also hailed them along the road near the hotel. And the hotel's front desk can call a cab for you. They are very reasonably priced. Cost about $6 to get into Quepos and they take American dollars.

The main issue we had with Costa Verde was the service. Most of the waiters and waitresses we had at the various restaurants were friendly and good (Anaconda less so), as were the maintenance and cleaning staff that we encountered. But the front desk staff definitely has some attitude issues. Some are nice. Sometimes. But on the whole, they were not terribly helpful or friendly, and often were dismissive or condescending. One of the clerks at the gift shop took about 30 seconds to finish writing a text message while I stood there, rather obviously, waiting to buy something.

We booked all our excursions through the hotel, just to simplify our lives. We were very happy with all the companies that they used. We did a mangrove tour with Safari Adventures (big plus that they don't feed the monkeys), ziplining with El Santuario, and ocean kayaking with Iguana Tours.

All in all, a great experience. We really enjoyed our week here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in costa verde 2 and the view was amazing, the room was huge and amazing. There are a few restaurants that's you can run tabs on and the food is pretty good. The pool at costa verde 2 is lovely but get there early as it can get busy especially in the afternoon when people get back from trips. The pool bar is also worth using, but watch out tab can bite at the end of the stay. We say plenty of monkeys and sloths. The iguanas roam around as well. I missed this view so much when we left, it's a Pacific Dream.

Room Tip: Monkey Biz cocktail by the pool, but get a space early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.