We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and lots of monkeys!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Save Saved
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and lots of monkeys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We really enjoyed all aspects of this hotel, the pools, stunning views, large beds, nice room and kitchenette. We ate at both Anaconda and El Avion restaurants and enjoyed both, along with the amazing views. We saw white-faced and squirrel monkeys on the grounds as well as a three-toed sloth (at night) and many iguanas.

The only thing lacking for us was more warmth and friendliness from the front desk staff. They were cordial enough and seemed helpful if you needed something but didn't really extend themselves. Maybe this is typical of larger hotels. (But we've stayed at so many smaller places in Costa Rica where the staff got to know us personally, bent over backwards to help, always called us by name and extended themselves in many different ways.)

We enjoyed Costa Verde and would certainly go again, if we have the chance. The views alone were worth the price of admission, so to speak.

A few nights there was loud music nearby at some bars, but it didn't bother us all that much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    271
    101
    43
    32
See reviews for
247
275
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent just one night at Costa Verde, on our way fron the airport in San Juan to Ojochal, our destination for the week. It took us a bit longer than we thought it would to get to Manuel Antonio from San Juan, and we ended up checking in after midnight. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful, even at that hour! The room was fine. The air conditioning worked well (no joke... it's HOT in Costa Rica... even when compared to Mexico near the Belize border, or South Florida), the four of us had plenty of room for our stuff and ourselves. However, the best service point is the following: On our way back through the area several days later, we wanted to hit the beach for a bit. However, we had no place to shower and change afterwards for the three hour car ride ahead. My buddy had the idea to ask the folks at Costa Verde if we could use their showers and lockers, even though we had not stayed there in a week. To my pleasant surprise, they were more than obliged. They did not accept any payment for the service, and they genuinely seemed happy to do it. 5 stars for service!

One point, unrelated to the hotel itself: The Manuel Antonio and Quepos areas are CROWDED. The beaches are crowded, the whole place is sort of a bustling beach town that clearly caters to tourists. So, I don't wholly buy the "More monkeys than people!" line. Want to stay in your "comfort zone" and be around more tourists than locals? Then stay in Quepos. For solitude and more "old Costa Rica" feel, head south to Dominical or Ojochal areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayuta Lake
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is not a fancy resort and our room was D2 across the road from the main section. Even though the room was described as a having a kitchenette, I did not feel it was practical to cook. There was no cutting board and no area to prepare food. We did cut fruit and keep it in the fridge. That being said, there was really no place to shop for food anyway, just a couple of larger conveniece stores unless you wanted to go to Quepos, the next town. Also, if any scraps of food were left, teeny bugs came around. The room was clean and there were ample towels left for us daily even though there were signs that said if the towels were on the rack they wouldn't be replaced. Our view from the porch was exceptional.
The climb to the restaurant was something like 187 steps with the pool half way up. Not a problem for us but could be for others. About the family pool closest to us: It was a nice pool and there was always some shade, but if I was the manager, I would have somebody down at the pool offering towels and beverages. And I would add some running water to create a small falls and maybe a waterslide.
Restaurants: Disappointing! I really wanted to like them. The staff was friendly, but not really interested in taking orders, selling drinks, moving people on to make tables for others. We waited at Anaconda for change, at Cantina for check, at El Avion for someone to take our order.. actually we left. We tried at all 4 restaurants. None of the food was great save the Fish Soup at Anaconda. Desserts were disappointing. There are alot of other restaurants around.
I have to say: If you want to look in a mirror that makes you look really good. ...Ask for D 2, It makes a size 12 look like an 8.
Walking along the road is dangerous.

Room Tip: D2 has a great view and a great mirror.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Costa_Verde, Manager at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. We especially appreciate the "Reception staff is great" headline! Accolades for our staff are always the greatest compliment as they work hard every day to meet the varying needs of our guests that visit from all over the world.

As for the teeny bugs...we've come to know them as our friends here. Living in the tropics we have all kinds of neighbors and these guys love some fresh pina and papaya as much as we do!

Our apologies for the restaurants. While there really is no excuse for poor service we do try to remind guests that we are in a different area of the world where service standards may differ from what you're used to. The pace of life here, even in touristy areas, is definitely slower. This can often be a good time to remember the popular Tico phrase "Pura Vida" and then sit back an enjoy the El Avion view.

Note taken regarding the mirror in D2 - great insight that we hadn't heard before!

We hope to see you back here again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

As a native costarrican after almost 25 years I still get excited to spend another glorious weekend at Manuel Antonio beach and picturesque town of Quepos. The hotel I used recently closed so had to look for a new option. Watching my BUDGET decided to check Costa Verde and guess what ... found another wonderful reason to keep coming back: amazing gardens, wildlife everywhere, friendly and efficient staff, spotless place, THE most fantastic view from the adult swimming pools and just a short drive to the beach. A wonderful place to stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great place! Sunrise and sunsets the squirrel monkeys fill the trees all around the hotel and restaurant! We got some fantastic pictures of them. We stayed in room R 2 . It was the size of an apartment , with a decent view of the ocean but right below the restaurant. If you're not an early riser you will be woken up around 6 am. The staff was very helpful and responsive. I returned after a week hoping to find my battery charger I left behind and they searched all over for me including driving to the laundry building and letting me check the room.
Stunning views of the ocean from the adult pool and a short drive to the beach. A heads up about parking on the beach. Many people will try flag you down to get $4 from you to park your car. They are not officially working for anyone but themselves and most likely will not be there when you get back. Tell them you will pay them when you return to your car.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comeagua
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I didn't know until checking in at the front desk that this hotel's motto was "more monkeys than people". 3 out of 4 mornings there was some type of wildlife off our balcony and greeting us at breakfast. There were better, up close and personal animal encounters with sloths, monkeys and lizards here than any guided nature trail I've ever been on. Super cool. Sloths apparently are as common as our possum in America it seems. We saw two on the hotel property that you could touch if you dared - they were within arms reach and not exactly moving at rocket speed.

Our room had a fantastic view of the ocean and bay. Absolutely gorgeous with a large porch to sit out and enjoy the breeze and view. Somewhat large refrigerator, even a stove top for cooking with pots and pans should you choose to bring your family and cook. Good size, plenty of room. Our room was somewhat close to reception and I was initially disappointed when I saw the rest of the sprawling property. However it's closeness to the restaurant that served breakfast, lunch and dinner was extremely convenient. If you have an early departure, breakfast is quick and at the end of the day you can stop off for a couple of drinks before retiring to the room, a short, easy walk away.

$$ - Everyone and everywhere takes dollars, and if you don't want to convert they were almost always shown with the tally in Colones and Dollars. Very convenient for us - until you learn a quick way to do the conversion - then it's a nice back up.

4 restaurants - all good! El Avion seems to have the best "vibe" in my opinion. The bar inside C-123? was very cool with good drinks, although the rest of the restaurant is also amazing and every restaurant there has gorgeous views. Service is definitely at a leisurely pace but breakfast at the main restaurant was quick even for American standards. Everything closed around 1030pm but honestly, after a day in the sun, ocean and or jungle - we were in bed by 1100 at the latest and we like to drink! Another option we used our last night was just to stay out in town after the beach and eat there just to see how it compared. People watching was fun, limited on food options, and the cab was only 2$ home to the hotel. We walked the hill back 3 times and although it's do-able, it's not a joke either! It's quite steep!

3 pools - one for adults only that once again - had an amazing view! And a bar. Always nice..

Loved, loved, loved this place - but it would have been nice to be a tad bit closer to the actual beach.

Room Tip: Depends on if you want a view, privacy, or both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The bed sheets are rougher than sand and are the same material as the drapes used in the room.Terrible wifi connection due to lack of sufficient routers, you might get lucky and get a room in which their wifi is on your balcony. Breakfast not included and international calls are not included neither are local calls if I remember correctly. Also further from the beach than we expected and no included beach towels. Towels are only for bath and pool use. No jacuzzi anywhere.

On the good side the view is amazing several species of monkeys visit during the day right up to your balcony. Iguanas sun bath beside you at the pool. Bottom line for the competition that, that section of the country has to fight with you'd expect them to reach out more with the perks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Costa_Verde, Manager at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. It is unfortunate that you were not comfortable. We are a mid-range hotel and we use standard bedding that is common in the industry. We do not have comforters, but our bed coverings (not the sheets) are a heavy weave that is also used on the windows.

We apologize if you had intermittent WiFi. We do have a sufficient number of routers and only experience an occasional overload during peak times in high season. We are also in the process of building a new network that better supports the increase in Smartphones and other handheld devices over the last few years.

Unfortunately we no longer offer towels for the beach. It became quite an expense to replace the many that were left behind at the beach. And, the towels that were returned to us often came back with an amount of sand that was not healthy for our washing machines. As an alternative we have bamboo beach mats available for the beach. Our apologies if our staff did not recommend this option to you.

Local calls are .20 per minute
International calls are .30 per minute.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our extraordinary views while hanging out with our jungle friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.