We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still more monkeys than people... so true !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“still more monkeys than people... so true !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

As a native costarrican after almost 25 years I still get excited to spend another glorious weekend at Manuel Antonio beach and picturesque town of Quepos. The hotel I used recently closed so had to look for a new option. Watching my BUDGET decided to check Costa Verde and guess what ... found another wonderful reason to keep coming back: amazing gardens, wildlife everywhere, friendly and efficient staff, spotless place, THE most fantastic view from the adult swimming pools and just a short drive to the beach. A wonderful place to stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    333
    118
    51
    36
See reviews for
296
334
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calistoga, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great place! Sunrise and sunsets the squirrel monkeys fill the trees all around the hotel and restaurant! We got some fantastic pictures of them. We stayed in room R 2 . It was the size of an apartment , with a decent view of the ocean but right below the restaurant. If you're not an early riser you will be woken up around 6 am. The staff was very helpful and responsive. I returned after a week hoping to find my battery charger I left behind and they searched all over for me including driving to the laundry building and letting me check the room.
Stunning views of the ocean from the adult pool and a short drive to the beach. A heads up about parking on the beach. Many people will try flag you down to get $4 from you to park your car. They are not officially working for anyone but themselves and most likely will not be there when you get back. Tell them you will pay them when you return to your car.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comeagua
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I didn't know until checking in at the front desk that this hotel's motto was "more monkeys than people". 3 out of 4 mornings there was some type of wildlife off our balcony and greeting us at breakfast. There were better, up close and personal animal encounters with sloths, monkeys and lizards here than any guided nature trail I've ever been on. Super cool. Sloths apparently are as common as our possum in America it seems. We saw two on the hotel property that you could touch if you dared - they were within arms reach and not exactly moving at rocket speed.

Our room had a fantastic view of the ocean and bay. Absolutely gorgeous with a large porch to sit out and enjoy the breeze and view. Somewhat large refrigerator, even a stove top for cooking with pots and pans should you choose to bring your family and cook. Good size, plenty of room. Our room was somewhat close to reception and I was initially disappointed when I saw the rest of the sprawling property. However it's closeness to the restaurant that served breakfast, lunch and dinner was extremely convenient. If you have an early departure, breakfast is quick and at the end of the day you can stop off for a couple of drinks before retiring to the room, a short, easy walk away.

$$ - Everyone and everywhere takes dollars, and if you don't want to convert they were almost always shown with the tally in Colones and Dollars. Very convenient for us - until you learn a quick way to do the conversion - then it's a nice back up.

4 restaurants - all good! El Avion seems to have the best "vibe" in my opinion. The bar inside C-123? was very cool with good drinks, although the rest of the restaurant is also amazing and every restaurant there has gorgeous views. Service is definitely at a leisurely pace but breakfast at the main restaurant was quick even for American standards. Everything closed around 1030pm but honestly, after a day in the sun, ocean and or jungle - we were in bed by 1100 at the latest and we like to drink! Another option we used our last night was just to stay out in town after the beach and eat there just to see how it compared. People watching was fun, limited on food options, and the cab was only 2$ home to the hotel. We walked the hill back 3 times and although it's do-able, it's not a joke either! It's quite steep!

3 pools - one for adults only that once again - had an amazing view! And a bar. Always nice..

Loved, loved, loved this place - but it would have been nice to be a tad bit closer to the actual beach.

Room Tip: Depends on if you want a view, privacy, or both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The bed sheets are rougher than sand and are the same material as the drapes used in the room.Terrible wifi connection due to lack of sufficient routers, you might get lucky and get a room in which their wifi is on your balcony. Breakfast not included and international calls are not included neither are local calls if I remember correctly. Also further from the beach than we expected and no included beach towels. Towels are only for bath and pool use. No jacuzzi anywhere.

On the good side the view is amazing several species of monkeys visit during the day right up to your balcony. Iguanas sun bath beside you at the pool. Bottom line for the competition that, that section of the country has to fight with you'd expect them to reach out more with the perks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Costa_Verde, Manager at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. It is unfortunate that you were not comfortable. We are a mid-range hotel and we use standard bedding that is common in the industry. We do not have comforters, but our bed coverings (not the sheets) are a heavy weave that is also used on the windows.

We apologize if you had intermittent WiFi. We do have a sufficient number of routers and only experience an occasional overload during peak times in high season. We are also in the process of building a new network that better supports the increase in Smartphones and other handheld devices over the last few years.

Unfortunately we no longer offer towels for the beach. It became quite an expense to replace the many that were left behind at the beach. And, the towels that were returned to us often came back with an amount of sand that was not healthy for our washing machines. As an alternative we have bamboo beach mats available for the beach. Our apologies if our staff did not recommend this option to you.

Local calls are .20 per minute
International calls are .30 per minute.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our extraordinary views while hanging out with our jungle friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at Costa Verde for a week and property was absolutely beautiful. The only reason I did not give this my top rating is simply because my room was a little smaller than typical in Costa Rica but this may have just been bad luck. Monkeys visited three of the days and a sloth slept in a tree right outside of our room it was Amazing! The pools are excellent, the adult only pool stunning views. The service overall was excellent although I did deal with one or two people that seemed a bit off. The only drawback for some may be the size, this is a huge complex although the vegitation does give you a very good sense of privacy. Moderately priced it was a great stay and I would definately go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

First, everything reviewers say about the handful of rude staff is probably true. We found a couple of employees who were bafflingly unaware that people in customer service are paid to be nice to guests. Lucky for us, we only needed to ask for extra sheets to make up for the NO MATTRESS PADS at this hotel. A $200 a night room needs decent sheets and a protected mattress, and it is gross that even CVII doesn't have this. The sheets arrived with some snarling, reflecting either bad training, or more likely, an upper management directive on what guests may or may not have. But beyond that, the hotel really is a nice property and staff are mostly lovely. We made wonderful meals in the pathetic little kitchen, and we also ate at Anaconda, where the food was well prepared and reasonably priced. There are several interesting birds on the property, and some capuchin monkeys at about 5:30 each evening by Anaconda (but don't expect a lot of either). I'd come back here. Just book well in advance and get a studio plus in CVII.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

It is hard to imagine a more beautiful tropical setting. My room was not an ocean view, the forest coming right to the patio. Squirrel monkeys played in the trees. Birds sang in the thick forest. This is a large hotel with several pods scattered unseen in the forest. Two pools, children are allowed in one; a small gift shop and one restaurant with magnificent ocean views are on one side of the road. On the other side are three restaurants. There are walking trails on both sides that wind through the forest. Squirrel, white-faced and howler monkeys are seen and heard often. The beaches are an easy 10 minute walk down the road as is the entrance to the park.
The rooms are very large, comfortable beds, very clean, a kitchette with fridge, coffee pot and all needed utensils and pans should one chose to eat in.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 1st floor, forest side. If you prefer an ocean view and/or more open you can move up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.