We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at Costa Verde for a week and property was absolutely beautiful. The only reason I did not give this my top rating is simply because my room was a little smaller than typical in Costa Rica but this may have just been bad luck. Monkeys visited three of the days and a sloth slept in a tree right outside of our room it was Amazing! The pools are excellent, the adult only pool stunning views. The service overall was excellent although I did deal with one or two people that seemed a bit off. The only drawback for some may be the size, this is a huge complex although the vegitation does give you a very good sense of privacy. Moderately priced it was a great stay and I would definately go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    316
    115
    50
    33
See reviews for
280
318
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First, everything reviewers say about the handful of rude staff is probably true. We found a couple of employees who were bafflingly unaware that people in customer service are paid to be nice to guests. Lucky for us, we only needed to ask for extra sheets to make up for the NO MATTRESS PADS at this hotel. A $200 a night room needs decent sheets and a protected mattress, and it is gross that even CVII doesn't have this. The sheets arrived with some snarling, reflecting either bad training, or more likely, an upper management directive on what guests may or may not have. But beyond that, the hotel really is a nice property and staff are mostly lovely. We made wonderful meals in the pathetic little kitchen, and we also ate at Anaconda, where the food was well prepared and reasonably priced. There are several interesting birds on the property, and some capuchin monkeys at about 5:30 each evening by Anaconda (but don't expect a lot of either). I'd come back here. Just book well in advance and get a studio plus in CVII.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

It is hard to imagine a more beautiful tropical setting. My room was not an ocean view, the forest coming right to the patio. Squirrel monkeys played in the trees. Birds sang in the thick forest. This is a large hotel with several pods scattered unseen in the forest. Two pools, children are allowed in one; a small gift shop and one restaurant with magnificent ocean views are on one side of the road. On the other side are three restaurants. There are walking trails on both sides that wind through the forest. Squirrel, white-faced and howler monkeys are seen and heard often. The beaches are an easy 10 minute walk down the road as is the entrance to the park.
The rooms are very large, comfortable beds, very clean, a kitchette with fridge, coffee pot and all needed utensils and pans should one chose to eat in.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 1st floor, forest side. If you prefer an ocean view and/or more open you can move up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our final stop in Costa Rica. We spent 4 nights here in early January. My husband and I were in D2 and my sister, husband, and two kids were in D4. We were upstairs and my sister was downstairs. Both rooms had beautiful views with large decks. There was a gap between the sliding door and the wall so we did get several visitors (bugs) in our room. Our building was across the street from the rest of the resort (closer to the ocean) so we had a hike to the pools, restaurant, etc. but it was very quiet with only 4 rooms in our building. The room was very comfortable and had beautiful views. The "kitchen" is very small. You get a full-sized fridge, a coffee maker, and a two burner hotplate. They did have a good assortment of pans, dishes, and utensils. We cooked breakfast and lunch in our rooms and went out for dinner.

They had three pools. The main one has nice views of the ocean. There is a smaller one that was very quiet. We saw a lot of animals there while cooling off in the water. The third pool is in the adults-only area. It was beautiful with an unobstructed view of the ocean/sunset. Unfortunately, every time we tried to go there, we were smoked out. This pool seems to have a lot of people who were chain smokers and there was nowhere to go to get away from it.

There was so much wildlife to see here. We saw more animals while at the resort than we did when we went to the Manuel Antonio National Park. We saw squirrel monkeys every evening near La Cantina BBQ, white throated capuchins all over the property, and howler monkeys one evening. We watched a sloth climbing around a tree, finding food to eat. We saw iguanas, butterflies, toucans, a Jesus Christ Lizard, and a green vine snake - all on the resort property. They have several walking trails that we enjoyed exploring. It was a great place to sit back and enjoy the nature around you.

We ate dinner one night at El Wagon and had great pizzas. The next night, we went back just before 5:00 so we could order off the lunch menu. We enjoyed the hamburgers, hot dogs, and wraps. Our final morning we had breakfast at Restaurant Anaconda. The food was good but the views were excellent. Where else can you eat and be entertained by monkeys while looking at the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in area D and had the most beautiful ocean view room with giant doors you could slide open to the balconies. It is recommended to lock the doors when you're not there, which we realized was a good idea when we saw a capuchin in the tree outside our room. We also saw lots of birds and a giant iguana munching on leaves in the same tree. We had to walk up quite a ways for breakfast in the morning but right at 6:30am the capuchins all walk past the breakfast restaurant. At 5:30pm the spider monkeys all walk past the "BBQ" restaurant right next door too! The location is really nice, easily within walking distance of a public beach and Manuel Antonio Park. There's also a bus stop near reception where you can either go to the park or to town for around 285 colones (50¢). There's a family pool but a little more walking will get you to an adult only pool with an ocean view and a bar. We loved staying at the hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent 5 days at this resort and it was beautiful! We were in Building E, ( lots of walking up and down stairs) but after a day or two we were used to it.

Walk to the beach was longer than we thought, but it was beautiful once we got there. Would have been perfect if we could have cut thru the vacant property accross the road directly to the beach. We rented two units, one on top of the other. Both clean and great view of the oceans. yes their was a couple ants... but we are in the jungle! the staff was nice and the atmosphere was wonderful. Resturants across the street, made it easy to grab some to eat.


Be ready to be arm... the ocean and pools do cool you off...
We did the 1/2 day horseback riding ( which was really a 3/4 day) and it was wonderful. Booked it with the staff at the hotel.

My whole family was sad to leave... it truly was a piece of paradise.

Getting there was another story.... roads are not great in Costa Rica, be prepared for a bumpy road!

Room Tip: If walking is difficult, try to book cabin near lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. The accommodations were nice and clean...views are amazing. My husband & I sat on our balcony and spotted a sloth and white faced monkeys within the first hour! The next morning, several monkeys were playing in the trees and jumping on the roof of the breakfast restaurant. Staff is helpful. All Costa Verde restaurants on the property had really good food. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Spend the money to get an ocean views with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.