We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view- worth the upgrade!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Save Saved
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view- worth the upgrade!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We upgraded our room to an ocean view. Our room had a huge balcony, 2 beds, and a small kitchen. The bathroom was on the smaller side but the shower was big enough. We had A/C in our room and was very glad we did! I would try to make sure you get a room with A/C because not all of them do. The room was close the the national park and buses come by at least every 30 minutes. You really don't need to drive any where or take a cab because the buses are so accessible and cheap! About 75 cents per trip. (285 Colones). The service was better at other places we went but I thought the service was just fine- the staff was friendly, the maids did a great job cleaning the rooms, waiters and waitresses were nice. Not all the staff spoke English but enough did that we were able to get all our needs met. Can't expect everyone to know English! Overall I thought it had the best view of any place we stayed and although the beds weren't great- they were much better than the rocks we slept on the hotel before!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park and make sure to get A/C- its hot and humid there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    279
    106
    44
    32
See reviews for
255
282
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I took my husband here because we met on a 727.
To be able to stay inside this amazing fuselage was very special. The view was incredible and made you feel like you were truly in your own private treehouse. You do have to consider you are in an airplane suspended in the trees. I would suggest to the resort that they turn on the air conditioning prior to your arrival. I believe it took quite along time to cool down and dissapate the musty smell. The teak wood surrounding the airplane and inside walls will make you awestruck. The king size bed was not very high quality and was in much need of a mattress pad. If you want to be amazed at natural beauty around you....this would be the place.

Room Tip: Stayed in 727
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Summary:
Would not return to this hotel and I recommend do not stay here.

Detail:
The bad - we had the sense that the staff were at best only minimally concerned with us, and at worst we were an annoyance to them. The rooms - flimsy cheap mattresses with very cheap thin sheets. Ants ants ants all over the place. Shoddy appliances/furniture/dinnerware. Restaurant is a bit divey we thought - but easy enough to avoid this, as there are many restaurants in town.

The good - Fantastic view! My wife and I were in Costa Verde 2 and had a room with view of the ocean - beautiful. A/C worked fine in our room. 15 minute walk to beach (uphill coming back). And we did spot some toucans and monkeys on premises.

Room Tip: Costa Varde 2 - under 17 not permitted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is fabulous. We stayed 3 nights in Bugalow A13. There was 5 of us. And then transferred to two separate rooms B8 and B7 (because of my bad booking). The beds in B8 were not comfortable but were more than made up for in great views!!!
This hotel has it all. 3 pools (including one for adults only). 2 airplanes. a shuttle to get you around. Very friendly staff and a great location - although its about a 10 minute walk to the beach.
The only real negatives I can say are that the breakfast is VERY slow and the beds aren't comfortable. Other than that we will definately go back.

Room Tip: Bungalows are fabulous. I highly recommend. Just remember...it's not raining. Those are monke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is up on the hill from the bay of Manuel Antonio. We had a cabin with a great view of the bay. White-faced monkeys visited us every day on the balcony. Good restaurants are within easy walking distance. The bar and pool is a fantastic place to relax at the end of the day and enjoy sundown. We liked the place a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Rooms are so 80's old oak wood and look terrible. Rooms are not dark at night, as the grandma curtains are light. The town loses electricity power almost daily, and the hotel apparently does not have a generator. Very annoying when it's hot outside, your trying to sleep, and your 1970's style Air Conditioner does not work.

The views are good value for money. But the whole hotel experience is pretty poor.

If you don't care about having good customer service or having a dark room, or like to have a cold shower because the hot water ran out, or dont want to be in a modern place then this is your hotel.

Some tips if you decide to stay here:

1. The walk to the beach is 15 mins and downhill all the way. Catch a cab back as its all uphill, and can be annoying on a very hot humid day.
2. Don't get breakfast included into your room rate. The breaky menu is limited, and its not buffet style. Go to Cafe Melagro up the road. Good coffee, food and great service.
3. Lock your stuff in a safe. We got our room cleaned, and came back to the shock horror of the maids all leaving our front and back doors Open.
4. The staff are nice, but between you and me, they really could not care. The hotel is owned by a millionaire who is basically allowing this hotel to fall into the pieces.





  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Costa Verde II at the beginning of December and we were thrilled with the hotel. We stayed in a Studio Plus room which was very spacious, comfortable and clean. Because there was also a kitchenette in the room, we were able to have our breakfasts on the balcony and enjoy the view of the ocean and the park.

One night we were given a free drink voucher for La Cantina. We already had dinner reservations, so we weren't able to try the food but the drinks were great. My Mojito was probably one of the best I've ever had.

The only caveat with the room was that the windows didn't open and there was no screen on the door to the balcony. We would have loved to keep the door open and listen to the waves at night, but considering everything else, it was really no big deal. Also, I noticed that someone complained about ants in the room. I just want to note, that we didn't see any ants or bugs in our room.

If you are looking for beautiful place to stay in MA that is also affordable, then I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I think any of the Studio Plus rooms facing the pool would be perfect. We were on the first floor d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.