We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The views from the room were stunning and the room itself was spacious and clean, if in need of some modernisation. The pool area was lovely, and we enjoyed some good lunches here. The hotels restaurants had a great atmosphere with either great views or were aesthetically appealing, although the food is fairly simple and plain.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    288
    107
    46
    33
See reviews for
261
289
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

View from our room was wonderful seeing all of the bay,spectacular also with the storms!Glad we went out of high season as the pools and restaurants would have been really crowded.Food in the restaurants was good .We liked the quirky restaurants.A bit of a walk into Manuel along a busy road.
Hassled by lots of guides and market and activity salesman

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Costa_Verde, Manager at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate our rainy season as we do. The lush green all over and the fantastic storms out over the ocean are surely a sight to see!

It is true that there is a stretch near the beach where the tour guides and souvenir sellers can be a bit overwhelming. But, people in Costa Rica are relaxed by nature so a quick "No, gracias" will usually suffice and allow you to get back to your peaceful strolling of the beachfront.

We hope you'll join us here again one day! Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel, while on a hill, was wonderful. The view from our room was great, the food in every restaurant was yummy, the people were nice, and the wildlife was abundant. The trails on the property were really neat, hidden in the rainforest. The monkeys are breakfast and later in the day were neat to see. We were able to spot a sloth and a porcupine in trees right on the property.

Room Tip: I think any room is good, they are all different as far as views. Some are of the beautiful pool, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My cousin and I stayed at the Costa Verde for 4 nights through CostaRicaforLess.com. Our breakfast was included every morning and did not disappoint. The food was awesome, the portions kept us full until lunch and there was so much to choose from.

The staff there were more than helpful and patient. The grounds were very kept up, lush and easy to navigate, even though their restaurants went up the street.

Our room could not have been better. The balcony with a view was the best part (we had a suite, room B12). The pools were well maintained as well, and one of them is 17+ only with a bar (although the bar was not open when we went to the pool, so I can't say if it was good or not).

The hotel has 'still more monkeys than people' on it's sign, and I was pleasantly surprised that I was able to see the Costa Rican wildlife just doing it's thing among the quickly-growing Manuel Antonio area. On my walk back to my hotel room from the pool, I ran into a troop of Squirrel Monkeys, who were high up in trees but not shy when I took my camera out. Then, a single Howler monkey ran across my path and joined them, it was a 2-for-1 experience to see them hanging out in the trees right behind the reception building of the hotel.

I did not see either one of these types of monkeys anywhere else on my trip, so I felt grateful that there was so much vegetation left within the hotel grounds themselves to be sure to give the animals who were there first a chance to live safely among the hotels.

local calls were .30/min and calls to the US were .50/min. Coffee was provided in the room, which also had a fridge, stovetop and some kitchen supplies. The wi-fi was not free, and we did not bother 'buying' the username and password, but it was available should we have needed it.

the public bus to the public beach/Manuel Antonio National Park stops right outside the entrance of the hotel and is .50/one way. the bus ride to the beach is about 7 minutes at the most and was quick and easy. It was nice being so close to the main beach in Manuel Antonio but not being in a hotel directly where everyone is walking around/cars driving by all day.

The people at the front desk were awesome. they helped us call our tour company when we had questions and when one of our excursions were cancelled, which made our lives and trip a lot easier. they also were accommodating when we had to leave at 3am on Thursday, so they let us turn our key in the night before so we would be all set to go the next morning.

the only thing I can think of was that there were ants by our coffee machine, even before we opened the coffee and sugar packets, then there were many more ants coming out of nowhere...but the room was so open to the outside anyways and it really didn't bother us too much...

Totally happy with my stay there, the atmosphere, the quiet, the views and the service I would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Manuel Antonio area.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor. our room was in Section/Building B and it was room 12, overlooking the publi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My room was one of the last one on the road, and I did not like the place, for me seems to be poor... It is a big room but really simple... we could not enjoy the pool or be close to the reception because they sent us really far... The hotel is located in differents parts on the road... it is not just in one place... so I didnt like that... the bathroom was really small...

I wont stay there again...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Costa_Verde, Manager at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our property is definitely unique in its layout and design. We've worked to build it into the landscape in order to keep an authentic jungle feel. And, so that we could capture the absolute best views of our pride and joy - Manuel Antonio National Park. We like our guests to feel as though they've truly escaped and landed in the rainforest!

We hope that you will consider us if visiting again in the future. We have several room types that we're happy to walk through with you to ensure that you get the right fit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarchi, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed with another couple in bungalow E-6 for four nights in off-season. It was fabulous--especially for the $70/night price each of us paid. The bedrooms are HUGE, bathrooms fine, shared veranda fabulous, and kitchenette perfect (except no microsave). Service was fine, arrangements for tours were no problem, and the restaurants affiliated with Costa Verde are all great (we tried all but El Avion because we ran out of time). This particular room is their newest and we had no complaints but can imagine that during the high season there might be substantial traffic noise because it's right on the main road. That was NOT a problem for us, however. From our veranda we saw several troops of white-faced monkeys, along with about a zillion birds. Fabulous!!!! We'd return any time.

Room Tip: See review. In high season, it would be a good idea to request a room off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We traveled to Costa Rica with our whole family, daughter, son-in-law, granddaughter, & son. We spent a long week end with our Costa Rican friends at the Costa Verde resort. Because there were eight of us, we stayed in A9-10, which was a gorgeous Villa with four bedrooms and four baths overlooking the ocean close to pool A. We cooked several meals there and ate on the patio with ocean views. We loved the accomadations so much, we decided to stay another night. The villa was not available, so the front desk suggested the 727. What a treat! Even though it wasn't quite as spacious, the views from the decks (wings) were awesome. Beautiful teak paneling all thru the interior, along with the original cockpit in the bathroom. Monkeys, sloths, iguanas were everywhere on the property. it was like they were performing for us. I would highly recommend Costa Verde to anyone. Staff was friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean and fresh. Monkeys weren't at the restaurant at sunset, but staff said to come back at breakfast. We showed up at 6am, and they were playing in the trees.

Room Tip: Ocean views are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.