We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Save Saved
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Costa Verde II and had a wonderfull stay with a beatifull view from hotel room

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    271
    102
    43
    32
See reviews for
250
276
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Highly recommend this place! Squirrel monkeys in the trees at the entrance was a treat in itself. The room was huge, clean, cool and comfy. Would defiantly return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We LOVED Hotel Costa Verde. We stayed in A-8 which had a kitchen and a deck to die for with seating for many people and a view of the sea. Lots of iguanas and squirrel monkeys passing through right at our room. We also saw an agouti on the ground. We had air conditioning (a must - this was March). At night we went to the Anaconda restaurant (another thing that makes this place THE BEST place to stay and got pina coladas to take to the deck. We sat and listened to the beautiful sound of cicadas and other insects and the ever-present howler monkeys. The hotel borders the national park. We saw many parrots flying around, especially from the Anaconda where you will also see monkeys. There is an adult-only pool right over the ocean with a full bar and food service. A nice place to hang out and meet other travelers. This was the most thrilling and example of the esthetically Costa Rican beauty I saw in this country. The beautiful wood is used to it's fullest. The hotel can arrange outings and everything runs smoothly. I liked the gift shop, but not the fact that it wasn't air conditioned (makes you want to leave earlier than otherwise), but then we're in Costa Rica after all - the greenest country on the planet.

Room Tip: We stayed in A-8 and I wish I could beam myself there on a daily basis. I have no interest in even c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia/Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

For our stay in Manuel Antonio, we chose Hotel Costa Verde. We stayed one night in a regular room and three nights in a two bedroom bungalow (E-6) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Other than being right next to the road (which was quite noisy at times, our bungalow (which was set apart from the rest of the resort) felt like a private place in the jungle. The large balcony looked into the forest with a view of the Pacific beyond. The accommodations themselves are a little worn out (especially the bathrooms) but even my wife who is often picky about such things felt relaxed and comfortable. Costa Verde has a substantial number of "security guards" and they made it clear they were looking out for us (though we never felt uncomfortable during our entire trip to Costa Rica). The pools were nice and the location cannot be beat - close to everything. The staff was helpful, and the Anaconda restaurant was terrific for breakfast each morning - beautiful view and good food at a decent price.

Room Tip: Our bungalow (E-6) was located apart from the rest of the resort right on the busy road. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We didnt do very much research when we booked this hotel for our honeymoon but we got lucky bc we had a great experience. Our suite was a mix of luxury and quaintness and the views from our glass doors were spectacular. In the mornings we would sit outside with a cup of coffee and gaze at the dozens of monkeys swinging around the trees right in front of us. We even had a few brave monkeys jump on our balcony and hang around for a while which did freak me out a little at first but we caught it all on video so it was a great experience over all. The service was great, the restaurants even better (although pricy) and close to everything. Tip: for even better food at a fraction of the price, venture out to the surrounding villages and eat at some Sodas (which is what they call their tiny mom and pops restaurants).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Three couples stayed in the three unit Casa Quinta (A-9). Each of us had our own full bath and we shared a small kitchen. The view of the ocean was spectacular. You can walk down (and I mean down) to the beach. It is a workout walking back from the beach.

We had a pool very close by. The monkeys visited every morning and there was a lot of other wildlife and gorgeous vegetation.

Our bed was very stiff but surprisingly comfortable. They have 3 separate pools, one of which is adults only and an attached bar. Many restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: It appears that all rooms are back in the vegetation (rain forrest). They have one very interesting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were a party of six - hubby and myself, our two teenage daughters, and another adult couple. We all loved this hotel. We had a bungalow with two large bedrooms, two baths, a kitchen, and a very large balcony with four rocking chairs and a table with dining chairs. Our room was actually built around a large tree! The beds were comfortable and we slept well. Although we were very close to the main road, we ran the AC, which masked any noise. The kitchen was well stocked and we prepared our own breakfast one morning. Otherwise, we had breakfast at the Annaconda. We also had dinner there our first night. All three meals were very good. However, our favorite meal was at Raphael's, which is across the street. Divine! The staff at Costa Verde were all so polite and helpful. We only paid $200 per night, which we felt was an exceptional value. The best part of our stay, however, were all the monkeys, sloths, iguanas, and other wildlife! A mamma monkey appeared on our balcony with her baby on her back our last morning - a truly priceless memory!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.