We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to See Monkeys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byblos Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Byblos Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Byblos Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
San Carlos, CA
1 review
“The Best Place to See Monkeys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

We just got back from a wonderful stay at the Byblos Resort and Casino. The staff was so friendly and helpful with scheduling tours. We enjoyed relaxing by their beautiful pool and the late afternoon visits from the monkeys. The restaurant's pizza and guacamole were out of this world. For a large group, check out Casa Sarita, just a short walk from the hotel. This beautiful private home in a jungle setting offers the ultimate Costa Rican experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    109
    38
    12
    13
See reviews for
74
153
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

My husband & I had so much fun. Byblos is like a tropical paridise.
Animals and nature are abundant.at the resort. Staff was very curtious & friendly.
It was very romantic - the Bungalow was Awsome!
They have the most wonderful pizza. White water rafting,ATV riding so much fun.
I highly reccomend staying at Byblos - we would definitely stay again!

Niccole & Jon G.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Ive done a lot of traveling through central and south america and Byblos was one of the only hotels that gave me a really authentic feel. It wasn't touristy at all, and the hotel really lets Costa Rica's beauty speak for itself. There was a little bit of everything for my fiance and I. Our bungaloo balcony overlooked a a jungle of monkeys and wild animals with a soothing creak. There is even a very fun bar/casino that is quite the hoppin area for locals and tourists alike. Our room felt very cozy, clean, and beautifuly decorated (very romantic). The pool was clean and breathtakingly situatied in the jungle next to one of the two resort's resturants (which was delicious and had GREAT local food- try the Casado).
I was very weary to go to Costa Rica and stay at a "resort." This was the most down-to-earth, authentic, and natural feeling luxury hotel I could've asked for and very romantic or great for families. a very local feel, and great value. I've stayed at other hotels in the area during my last trip and did not get this kind of quality experience. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This was a lucky find for my husband and me on a recent visit to Manuel Antonio. The other hotel we had booked had ongoing problems with air conditioning, so at the last minute we were hunting for a new hotel. We found Byblos by chance on the main road to the Park, and luckily they had space in a jungle bungalow. What a great room: spacious, confortable, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker...perfect for us. We really liked that we could sit on our balconey and watch troops of monkeys go by the pool each day. We saw several other animals pass through there, but we honestly don't know what they were. The waiters called them watusas, but we had never heard of them before, and they looked like beavers. The staff were very friendly, the cold beer and pizzas at the pool were the perfect way to end each day. We didn't use the casino, but my husband enjoyed the free billiards table at the sports bar. Defiitely take the Titi Canopy tour that the staff recommends. We had a blast and highly recommend it. Also don't forget to walk about 1/4 of a mile down the road for the sunsets at the old Contra Airplane Restaurant, very fun! So, that's about it, just wanted to let others know how much we enjoyed this little hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

Our "all inclusive rate" turned into an "almost nothing inclusive rate"!

Where should I begin? We were promised that all meals would be included, then we were promised that a few would be uncluded, then we weren't sure. The wait staff watched ever slice you ate and would run you down if they though you ate an extra slice of bacon. We had one "all inclusive meal" but were charged extra for more than one glass of wine and the waitress tried to charge us for someone else's wine. We then dined some where else and found some much better places just up the street!

The roof leaked in our room. The bathroom had an awful smell. There were snakes hanging out of the roof of the restaurant. Want to know more? OH yes it was very over priced--Room over $250 a night. There are many other nice places to stay!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavisFromAustin, Owner at Byblos Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 15, 2009
MANAGEMENT RESPONSE:
At Byblos Resort we always welcome guest comments with the hope that we can improve our overall guest experience. Unfortunately, we do feel the need to defend ourselves regarding certain points that were made in this visitor’s negative review. The package this gentleman refers to was a package specially arranged for a specific group of people, whom at the last minute included this traveler as a third party. At no time did we directly send him any material, details or descriptions of the package. We are not sure how this package was represented to him, and unfortunately we did not take the time to double check that he knew exactly what he was buying. Nonetheless, we do know that at NO time did Hotel Byblos represent the package as all-inclusive. The customized package offered specific meals, round trip transportation from San Jose to the Hotel, and two excursions, included in the total price. We suspect that this is where some of the misunderstanding began. These numerous additional services represented the majority of the total cost of the package.

We feel comfortable representing ourselves to be among the best three-star hotels in Costa Rica. Trivago rates The Hotel Byblos #1 as the best three-star Hotel in Costa Rica. This gentleman’s review is the first that I have heard about a leaking roof or foul smells, and had we known of the problems, we certainly would have corrected them immediately.

It is unfortunate that this gentleman did not care for the experience with the non-venomous snake, and take pictures as many other guests did. The majority of the visitors that we host at our Boutique Jungle Adventure Resort (as described on our website) come for that exact reason. They are looking to have a true jungle encounter with the animals that inhabit the rainforest. Although a snake may not be the most popular visitor to our hotel, it will always find a safe haven in the eco-friendly environment of Hotel Byblos.

We did not meet the expectations of this gentleman, and that is truly a shame, but his expectations were not based on any promises or representations that were made by us. We sincerely hope that travelers looking for an affordable, activity-filled, jungle hotel experience will choose to refer to the overwhelming positive reviews that Hotel Byblos Resort and Casino has received over the many years of operating in beautiful Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. Thank you for taking the time to read this and we wish pleasant travels to all!!

Davis Henley,
Managing Partner,
Hotel Byblos Resort and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed at Byblos Hotel for 3 nights beginning April 1st and couldn't be happier with our choice. Thanks to my helpful fellow travelers on tripadvisor.com, the reviews of this hotel eased our decision to stay here and we did not want to leave.

Check in was as simple as could be and we enjoyed Bungalow #2. We were told by some other guests that they'd regretted choosing a room over a bungalow so we were glad to have a private bungalow. The sights and sounds of staying in the jungle simply cannot be beat. The bungalow itself was spacious, neat and 98% clean. Our only small gripe would be some mold in the shower. Really not a big deal to me, but my girlfriend had a little issue with it. We resigned ourselves to the fact that we were in a humid, tropical rainforest and just a little mold in the tiles of the shower would not be enough to warrant a negative review.

The service and friendliness of the staff was above and beyond what we expected. A friendly smile and greeting were at every encounter (as it was in ALL of Costa Rica from our experience). The grounds were very well kept, and rooms cleaned well (aside from the minor mold). The location was great. Walk to many of the fantastic restaurants in the area, and just minutes from Manuel Antonio National Park and beach.

The 2 restaurants on site were great also. Try the typical Costa Rican breakfast with rice and beans. It was outstanding. Billfish Sports Bar was a nice way to cap off the night with some locals as well as hotel staff and guests enjoying the sporting events on several tv's.

Our little "adventurous" encounter with a crocodile in the small river that runs through the resort only added to our experience (as well as scared the heck out us!). One of the kind groundsmen pointed out a croc which was catching some shade directly outside the door of Bungalow #3 (on the concrete slab). He told me I just missed seeing it on the walkway, but he did show me where it went - just behind Bungalow #3 - in the small creek and I was able to take a couple of great pictures which I've posted.

Yes, the croc was a little too close for comfort, but you'll see more friendly monkeys, toucans, iguanas, and other exotic creatures in just one day at Byblos than you can imagine. After all, the jungle is their home!

Kudos to Byblos. The second I arrived, I knew I would be back. I recommend this place highly. You'll have a unique vacation experience for sure.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We stayed here two nights in March, the grounds are so beautiful you feel like you are tucked into the rainforest. We saw monkeys and birds. The pool was very nice and relaxing. Not a walk to the beach, but the taxis were pretty cheap. We stayed in a bungalow that overlooked the forest and grounds it was spectacular. I highly recommend Byblos!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byblos Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.