We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the country and the Byblos resort, a throwback to more gracious times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byblos Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Byblos Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Byblos Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Houston
1 review
“loved the country and the Byblos resort, a throwback to more gracious times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

my stay was enhanced by the attentiveness of the staff and the lush surroundings. The bungalow was colorful and comfortable. it was great fun watching the monkeys in the trees here. It is a plus to be able to connect and check email as well.

  • Liked — interesting surrounding area... great shopping across the street, many restaurants in area
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    114
    42
    13
    15
See reviews for
78
160
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

The Byblos Hotel was a wonderful oasis in Manuel Antonio. It is a beautiful hotel with lovely bungalows and rooms. The food at the restaurant was very good and the staff was very helpful and helped with tours, etc. If you go and don't eat dinner at the hotel, try the restaurant Agua Azul. It was fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

Very unique hotel with lots of charm! And, if you want to see monkeys, this is the place. They cross over the property many times a day and can be enjoyed while eating a great pizza or having a drink at the pool. We also saw toucans, heard howler monkeys, and beautiful butterflies, among other wildlife. For a "right in nature" experience, with all of the benefits of a hotel...this is the place! And, the owners go above and beyond in order to ensure a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — The natural feel of the place, including the wildlife
  • Disliked — Hard to say.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

We wanted a Thanksgiving getaway, and remembered a past visit to Hotel Byblos, a small immaculate Inn in the rainforest. We remembered the spacious bungalows and the three tribes of monkeys who entertain during Happy Hour. We remembered that all the hotel staff were so helpful (and most even spoke English). What was a surprise and prompts me to write this review, was the quality of the food at the two restaurants on the property. Down by the pool is the pizzeria, and the light crust and unfailingly hot and fresh toppings were a daily delight. But we were astonished at the Thanksgiving dinner they turned out: moist Turkey better than mother used to make, a rich gravy with some extra zip to the taste, fresh veggies ,creamy sweet potatoes, home made bread, pineapple tart made right on the premises, etc. The next day we ate at the Sports Bar and discovered a juicy hamburger with light non-greasy french fries - crisp salads, smiling waiters. I think that Byblos is a cut above other hotels in its class, based on the attention to good dining, onall the amenities in the rooms, and the consistently attentive employees. We loved it.

  • Liked — Great food, beauty of the setting
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

I would highly reccomend this resort. (Byblos).
The pizza's are so good. All the food is wonderful. Everyone very friendly...
management very accommodating
Sari and Davis Henley went above and beyond the call of duty to help with tours,spa ETC...My husband Jon Garfield and I had a blast. It is a beautiful resort and very clean. My name is Niccole Garfield. Great swimming pool and views. It's like being in a tropical jungle,very romantic... We stayed in Bunglow #4.
Thank You, Niccole and Jon Garfield
P.S My Husband loved the white water rafting very exciting.

  • Liked — The scenery it was beautiful there
  • Disliked — I have nothing negative to say...
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

An excellant adventure into another culture well assisted by a small first class hotel with supporting staff focused on making our trip a wonderful experience! Bungalow in the trees with all modern conveniences surrounded by natural beauty and occasional visits from white faced monkeys and butterflys. Hotel well located for all the area has to offer (rain forest, fishing, zip-line and white water rafting tours). Food was great and speciality pizzas are famous in the Manuel Antonio area. I would strongly suggest anyone considering a trip to Central America in general or Costa Rica specifically check out Byblos. You will be glad you did!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, staff
  • Disliked — Noise in the mornings from monkees
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

We had booked a private villa in Manuel Antonio which proved unacceptable on arrival (late, in the dark, in the rain, tired, stressed - you get the picture...). We walked directly across the street to the Byblos Resort, and asked about rooms. Coincidently, my daughter had heard about the Byblos from a friend in Louisiana - who recommended it highly - and it turns out, rightly. A friendly and concerned receptionist showed us several villas and rooms, and offered some very attractive discounts on the spot. We took a one bedroom villa and a highrise room, both very comfortable and clean. Our villa had a small balcony looking out over the pool area, very enjoyable for coffee in the morning. The property is build up around a hollow with a running stream, almost adjacent to the pool. It is filled with trees and vegetation, including beautiful plantings and flowers. Orchids and Ylang Ylang provide a wonderful perfume.

We saw morning and evening performances by traveling monkey troops, and had a pair of agouti that came out intermittently. Also lots of birds.

Breakfast was included, with options ranging from typical Costa Rican breakfast with rice and beans accompanying the eggs, to more conventional options.

Staff was uniformly helpful, and the owners were on site and welcoming. All together, a wonderful stay with very nice people.

  • Liked — Location, jungle setting, people
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byblos Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.