We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Retreat with Monkeys and Great Benefits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byblos Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Byblos Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Byblos Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Unexpected Retreat with Monkeys and Great Benefits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

We had booked a private villa in Manuel Antonio which proved unacceptable on arrival (late, in the dark, in the rain, tired, stressed - you get the picture...). We walked directly across the street to the Byblos Resort, and asked about rooms. Coincidently, my daughter had heard about the Byblos from a friend in Louisiana - who recommended it highly - and it turns out, rightly. A friendly and concerned receptionist showed us several villas and rooms, and offered some very attractive discounts on the spot. We took a one bedroom villa and a highrise room, both very comfortable and clean. Our villa had a small balcony looking out over the pool area, very enjoyable for coffee in the morning. The property is build up around a hollow with a running stream, almost adjacent to the pool. It is filled with trees and vegetation, including beautiful plantings and flowers. Orchids and Ylang Ylang provide a wonderful perfume.

We saw morning and evening performances by traveling monkey troops, and had a pair of agouti that came out intermittently. Also lots of birds.

Breakfast was included, with options ranging from typical Costa Rican breakfast with rice and beans accompanying the eggs, to more conventional options.

Staff was uniformly helpful, and the owners were on site and welcoming. All together, a wonderful stay with very nice people.

  • Liked — Location, jungle setting, people
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    109
    38
    12
    13
See reviews for
74
153
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

It was a spectacular week and the service and hospitality were superior! The bar, pizarria and hotel/cabona's were beautiful. A must stay place!

  • Liked — Service, cleanliness, quality of food.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

My Husband and I recently stayed 6 nights at Hotel Byblos and had a great time. The staff spoke great English, the accommodations were clean, the grounds were beautifully kept, the pool was nice and we were close to the grocery store and bank. We stayed in the bungalows which is the only way to stay at Byblos because it gets very noisy at the casino/bar at night. We really enjoyed our room which had a little fridge and microwave and a great balcony to hang out on. They now have a computer set up at the front desk with free internet for the guests and free Wi Fi for those who bring their computers. The staff was pleasant but did not find them helpful in planning trips or giving advise about the area. We were booked on a mangrove tour, which yielded nothing short of the fact that they have trained monkeys to jump in the boat by feeding them. We would highly recommend a guided tour through Manuel Antonio Park, lots of animals could be missed. We were also delighted by the monkeys who seem to make multiple daily trips through the hotel grounds. We ate at the bar by the pool and the pizza/calzones were great. Because we were there during the nonpeak season some of the area restaurants were closed but we really enjoyed the staff and view at El Avion, so much we went four times. Also we found the Gato Negro Italian restautant across from El Avion great too. Cafe Milagro is worth the stop and we also enjoyed a nice dinner at the Rico Tico Bar at Si Como No. The beach was gorgeous, and yes worth the title of one the world's most beautiful beaches. It was only a short bus ride for ~ fifty cents. No need to take a taxi to the beach (~$6), the bus is great. Inside the park they have nice restrooms and outdoor showers. It is true that you need to watch your belongings on the beach, the raccoons especially, as well as the monkeys will run off with your belongings. There was not much to see in downtown Quepos, as most of the best souvenirs were found down by the beach. Hotel Byblos is worth it for the fair price and we would stay in the Bugalows again although it would have been nice to have an ocean view.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

We checked 6-7 hotels before seeing this one. All the hotels we have seen before El Byblos were either booked, or too crappy, or too fancy for our taste. It was already dark and as soon as we saw something is going on here (casino, sports bar, billiards, soccer table, pizzeria) - the decision was obvious.

Unique Qualities: We got an exceptional deal (again due to low season) a "junior suite" on 2nd floor with an ocean view and a big room for $60. Staff was so naturally friendly (costa rica style), Brigitte - funny French lady - bar manager, Claudia - warm, friendly (and cute) Peruvian and Charles - Kenyan national team soccer player became quickly our friends...We really enjoyed everything about this place for the last 3 nights in Costa Rica.

Hotel has a pool and monkeys jumping in their garden. I saw a hiking trail but we hadn't checked where it goes.

  • Stayed November 2003, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

The staff at Hotel Byblos makes the trip worthwhile. They were extremely helpful during our entire 3 day stay. They helped us determine what activities we may enjoy and gave recommendations on food/travel. They even set up private travel for us from the hotel and to our next destination. The food at the hotel was above average- and at a resonable cost. Breakfast was included and was a hot homemade meal- the pancakes are absolutely delicious! One night while we were swimming in the pool, we saw 2 different types of monkeys climbing in the trees above our bungalow. The bungalow itself was very clean, private, and safe. We had a slight problem with our clothes being damp and not drying- but I am pretty sure that was related to our traveling during the "wet season". The facility also offers a clothes cleaning service. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

The Byblos was very helpful in arranging the best tours of the area. The guides for the park & zipline tour were excellent. The pool is beautiful and surrounded by rainforest. Troops of monkeys (capuchian) visit several times a day. We even had a daily visit from a Howler monkey and one visit from a sloth (upside down of course). The Byblos has a very peaceful setting with a quiet stream and lush vegetation. The staff was extremely helpful throughout our stay. Our two school age children were treated like royalty and loved their visit - they did not want to leave Costa Rica. The food was very good - we especially loved the daily breakfast with local fruits. Afternoon fruity drinks at the pool bar were exceptional. Thanks to the Byblos for their hospitality and for making our trip to the Rainforest something we will treasure for years to come.

  • Liked — The staff's knowledge, friendliness and desire to make our trip exceptional.
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was excellent!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

My husband and I went to Byblos for our honeymoon in mid-December of 2007. Before we left, I sent numerous e-mails to the staff at Byblos, asking for everything from a recommendation of tours to an evaluation of Interbus. They always responded quickly and honestly, even advising me not to spend the money on booking a room in Byblos the night we were to arrive but to stay in San Jose instead! Our original flight was to get us to San Jose after midnight. Luckily, it changed, so we were able to go right to Byblos!

After a very long ride from San Jose, we arrived. It was dark, so we couldn't see much, but there was festive music and people in both restaurants. I was concerned that it might be loud and keep us up, but as we were led to our private bungalow, we heard less and less. After steping into our room, we heard nothing at all unless we went on the deck.

The food in both restaurants was great (liked the poolside one better--the upstairs one was more of a party atmosphere). The staff had recommendations about where to eat cheaply, what tours to see and so on. There are a lot of stairs, which we actually really liked, but could be an issue for some. The monkeys and other creatures were all over, and there was plenty to do and see in walking distance of the hotel as well. There was even a grocery store a few blocks away, so we saved some money by buying ceral and sandwich stuff, which was nice.

We spent two nights at a more expensive hotel in Arenal (we wanted to see the volcano), but we loved Byblos much more, and couldn't wait to go back. Hopefully we'll be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byblos Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.