We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byblos Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Byblos Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Byblos Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent hotel in Manuel Antonio park
Stuff was very helpful and friendly, tried to assist in trip planning.

The hotel is located close to Manuel Antonio national park entrance (less than 5 minutes by car).
At 5 pm you can expect for guests in pool area (monkeys :) ) and on evening you can walk to any of few cafes located nearby.

Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    106
    37
    12
    13
See reviews for
73
148
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

While sipping a mojito at byblos restaurant with a nice view of jungle and pool we'd like to post this review. We are backpackers all the way from holland and have stayed in all different types of accomodations. Byblos hotel was far the best in costa rica. The bungalows are absolutely great and offer a beautiful view of the jungle with its wildlife. Relaxing on your own verranda after a good hike in the national park is perfect. The rooms are clean and wel equipped. The staff is very friendly and the pool is superb. We absolutely reccommend this hotel. The park is about 5 km away, however the public transport is convenient and cheap. We'd like to thank the whole byblos staff for their hospitality and making us feel like home.
Pura Vida.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on driving tour through Costa Rica . Our rooms were in the main building and were adequate for our needs . The grounds were most interesting with a variety of animals and birds. The best was when the monkeys visited the resort grounds usually in the early evening about 4:30 to 6. You could get a real close up of them around the pool. Most fascinating to watch. We only ate breakfast here and it was just ok, it had a limited selection and was not buffet style. The staff were good and helpful , the rooms were clean and well equipped. Yes we would stay here again. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is completely blending with the gungles of Puntarenas. Beautiful villas, stylish interior with many original detals. The only thing the people should know about it before booking - if you are planning to relax after a good swim in the ocean, this hotel is not for you. There was an outdoor sportsbar in the hotel right in front of the villa we were staying at. They had dancing till 2 a.m. at night with very loud party. This seemed quite strange for us considering they are asking not to be loud at the swimming pool after 10 p.m. in order to let the guests have good rest. The personnel at the hotel is very friendly, they were very helpful booking a Manuel Antonio Park tour and the dinner and the restaurant in the village for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavisFromAustin, Owner at Byblos Resort & Casino, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, Byblos is very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay in one of our Bungalows (we actually don't have Villas). In fact, these units are very popular due to their eco-friendly solar panels, hardwood ceilings and of course the balconies that provide the true jungle wildlife experience you mentioned below! However, we do apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused due to a special event we had during your stay. Since there can be little to do at night in the Manuel Antonio area, Byblos does try to offer periodic entertainment to include live music, Free tropical dance lessons, karaoke nights, billiards tables, as well as all the favorite sports events on the big screen tv's at our Billfish Bar, so we regret that this disturbed your stay. It is generally our custom to close the bar by 12MN, so if our staff tried to accommodate visitors that were not quite ready to leave, we sincerely apologize for that and have already conducted a staff meeting regarding the importance of this subject. We genuinely appreciate your input and comments that are helpful as we strive to improve our level of customer service and reach our goal to help all of our guests have an enjoyable stay while at Hotel Byblos! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future!
Kind regards,
Davis Henley-Managing Partner
Hotel Byblos Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We thought that the staff at reception and at the restaurant were top notch. The room was everything we needed and more. Very comfortable hotel. I used the pool and thought it was well maintained and clean.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a great time - the rooms were very clean [as is the entire country - beautiful beaches!!] the front staff is very attentive and give great tips about going around town - what to do and how to accomplish without spending a fortune....We saw more monkeys and wildlife at the resort than we did on our tour thru the National Park! The one problem was it is on a hillside and there are many steps to climb - usually not a problem, but my husband has bad kness and we had some issues! Each trip outside the room needed planning or it was 60 steps straight up. Pool area was gorgeous....

Room Tip: ask where your room is located - ask to see it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Byblos due to reviews posted here,location, price & availability. We were not disappointed. We loved the location, walking distance to many restaurants,grocery store, & shops. We had never visited Manuel Antonio or Costa Rica at all. We were not sure what to expect but everything we experienced in Manuel Antonio was fabulous.
The staff was so welcoming after a difficult first day after arriving in San Jose. The main highway from San Jose to the west coast was closed to all westbound traffic.We had to drive the local road after numerous u turns. Thank goodness that we had the old fashioned paper version map we brought with us ( Garmin was hopeless).
The ride took us at least 2 hours longer.It was great to have happy faces welcome us & help us to our room. We immediately settled in at the Billfish for a few Cervaza to calm us down.
Breakfast at the pool in the morning was great, cooked pancakes,eggs,sausage,plantains,fresh fruit,toast juice...everything we could ask for.
Every afternoon after our activities we relaxed at the pool & almost every afternoon we were visited by a large number of monkeys. We saw more here than in the park. The staff at the pool area were also very attentive.
Whenever we had a question the staff at the front desk were more than helpful. All in all everyone we came into contact with here at Byblos was warm & friendly.
If I had even one little tad of a complaint was that I would not recommend the rooms that have the partial ocean views.Not knowing how close the location was to the road, I would not book the rooms if you are a light sleeper. Also the Billfish plays some loud music late that you can hear even with door closed.
We really did not have too much of a problem because we were so exhausted from the hiking,fishing & zip lining. I think I would book one of the bungalows next time. You have a better experience when the monkeys visit.
I know some reviewers commented that the hotel was dated but we felt the rooms were comfortable, clean & no signs of an insect problem. Although I have to say, this is a tropical location and that almost always means more bugs.

Room Tip: I would book the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byblos Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.