We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byblos Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Byblos Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Byblos Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Enjoyed our stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We thought that the staff at reception and at the restaurant were top notch. The room was everything we needed and more. Very comfortable hotel. I used the pool and thought it was well maintained and clean.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    115
    45
    14
    17
See reviews for
83
162
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a great time - the rooms were very clean [as is the entire country - beautiful beaches!!] the front staff is very attentive and give great tips about going around town - what to do and how to accomplish without spending a fortune....We saw more monkeys and wildlife at the resort than we did on our tour thru the National Park! The one problem was it is on a hillside and there are many steps to climb - usually not a problem, but my husband has bad kness and we had some issues! Each trip outside the room needed planning or it was 60 steps straight up. Pool area was gorgeous....

Room Tip: ask where your room is located - ask to see it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Byblos due to reviews posted here,location, price & availability. We were not disappointed. We loved the location, walking distance to many restaurants,grocery store, & shops. We had never visited Manuel Antonio or Costa Rica at all. We were not sure what to expect but everything we experienced in Manuel Antonio was fabulous.
The staff was so welcoming after a difficult first day after arriving in San Jose. The main highway from San Jose to the west coast was closed to all westbound traffic.We had to drive the local road after numerous u turns. Thank goodness that we had the old fashioned paper version map we brought with us ( Garmin was hopeless).
The ride took us at least 2 hours longer.It was great to have happy faces welcome us & help us to our room. We immediately settled in at the Billfish for a few Cervaza to calm us down.
Breakfast at the pool in the morning was great, cooked pancakes,eggs,sausage,plantains,fresh fruit,toast juice...everything we could ask for.
Every afternoon after our activities we relaxed at the pool & almost every afternoon we were visited by a large number of monkeys. We saw more here than in the park. The staff at the pool area were also very attentive.
Whenever we had a question the staff at the front desk were more than helpful. All in all everyone we came into contact with here at Byblos was warm & friendly.
If I had even one little tad of a complaint was that I would not recommend the rooms that have the partial ocean views.Not knowing how close the location was to the road, I would not book the rooms if you are a light sleeper. Also the Billfish plays some loud music late that you can hear even with door closed.
We really did not have too much of a problem because we were so exhausted from the hiking,fishing & zip lining. I think I would book one of the bungalows next time. You have a better experience when the monkeys visit.
I know some reviewers commented that the hotel was dated but we felt the rooms were comfortable, clean & no signs of an insect problem. Although I have to say, this is a tropical location and that almost always means more bugs.

Room Tip: I would book the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here the first night of our trip (friends wedding) The room was comfortable and the food at the restaurant was great. We had to wait before we could check into our next hotel and the staff at the Byblos were great and watched our bags for us. The wedding was at a hotel up the street and we went to Byblos bar after and everyone had a great time! (Ladies night drinks were horrible though)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavisFromAustin, Owner at Byblos Resort & Casino, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Sarah H.
Thank you for your excellent review of our Hotel, Bistro Restaurant and Billfish Sportbar. I am glad that your group enjoyed your time with us, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. Hearing from satisfied clients makes our jobs rewarding.
The FREE Ladies Night drinks include guaro sour, margaritas and daiquiris. I am sorry to hear they weren't to your liking. We realize that some drinks may not suit everybody’s taste, and so we do offer a large variety of other (paid) drinks. I hope you have a chance to visit us again, and we can make you a drink that you like. We have Ladies Night on Monday and Friday (with a live DJ), Latin Dance Night on Thursday (Free Dance Lessons), Karaoke on Tuesday and Sporting Events, Live Music and other special events are available throughout the year.
Safe Travels!
Davis Henley,
Managing Partner,
Hotel Byblos Resort and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed one night in the regular room and two nights at the bungalow. The regular room is huge but overlooking the parking lot. Bungalow was great – one king size bed, great balcony overlooking the property. In the morning, monkeys were coming right next to our balcony. The stuff was great. Breakfast was just ok. But overall – good experience.

Room Tip: Try to book at expedia at 50% off regular rates and then pay for an upgrade ($13 per night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Byblos is a FABULOUS hotel & resort. I have spent a number of days there now by the pool visited by monkeys of many varieties and served "the best" cold mochacchino ice cream drink I have ever drank anywhere in the world ! Davies has to make it and don't bother to ask for the diet version, because there is none ! The pool is clean & inviting, the pool side service is excellent, the pizza is delicious and the monkeys are just a wonderful piece of Byblo's & Costa Rica ! Tuesday Night Karaoke is Absolutely Fabulous !

Room Tip: Definately ask for a room overlooking the pool, the pool is beautiful, the poolside restaurant serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just spent 2 weeks in Costa Rica and 5 days of that time was at Manuel Antonio. The trip so far had been organised by Gate 1 ( highly recommend ). However the last 5 days we were independent. Had a hire car and drove to Manuel Antonio from Samara. Took about 5 hours. We did not book in advance and wanted to see where would like and after trying a couple of places that were full we to the Byblos Resort. Wow loved it. We had a bungalow $130.00 a night including breakfast. The bungalow in the jungle, surrounded by monkeys 3 species, birds, iguanas and giant guinea pigs. Fantastic pool, out of the busy and a bit crazy beach at national park. We saw more wildlife at hotel than in the Natioal park. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: 01 Cabin is a great position. The rooms may get beach view only slightly but on road and more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#16 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Yara
Hotel Plaza Yara
#6 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shana Hotel & Spa
Shana Hotel & Spa
#18 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Karahe Hotel
Karahe Hotel
#33 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#11 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byblos Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.