We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Mansion Inn to your Saves list
La Mansion Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2006

What an amazing hotel! We stayed for 5 nights for our honeymoon and were treated amazingly well. First off we were upgraded to a spacious suite, and we were also sent a bottle of champagne by the owner, Harry. The hotel staff actually seemed to be happy for us and were doing the little touches not just because it is good business to do so, but because they cared.

Our room was incredibly comfortable and spacious. There were two large couches positioned in front of a window with a great view of the ocean, and a king-sized bed with a comfortable mattress. Lots of closet space, great room ammenities, and a working safety deposit box.

The hot tub was great, we met lots of happy guests. There really is a friendly and fun atmosphere to this place. It also seemed almost as though we had the hotel to ourselves most of the time even though it was full. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, and many guests took the opportunity to swap stories and trade restaurant tips.

You are within a very close walk to Makanda by the Sea, and can walk to Manuel Anonio Park within 20 minutes/ half and hour via a fairly steep trail down. We tended to use the hotel shuttle to the beach, as well as the public bus which ran right outside the hotel. It went straight into Quepos. We also walked to Si Como No for their butterfly garden.

You cannot walk to restaurants at night as the road is not well lit, and some of the drivers along it are pretty reckless. We took cabs everwhere. It never cost us more than $8 one-way to the furthest spot. If you don't want to eat far from the hotel and don't want to eat in their restaurant, there is the Makanda and The Ossimo Family Suites. We ate at both on various occasions, and had lovely meals at each. Ossimo had really healthy fare and reasonable prices overlooking the water.

I booked a tour to the National park through the hotel and had a great guide. He showed up on time and gave us all sorts of useful tips as to where to eat, and what to do.

We will be returning to La Mansion hopefully within the next year we liked it so much. We loved our room, the hotel staff, the atmosphere, and really appreciated that they give back to the community through helping establish a local school, and by donating to a program to spay and neuter beach dogs.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    132
    55
    19
    16
See reviews for
78
472
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2006

My husband and I just recently spent 4 nights at la mansion inn. They were running a special where you pay for three nights, and get the 4th night free. This was a great deal, and if they are still running it through the off season, you should definatley take advantage!

The service here is excellent. Everyone is on top of it, and very nice. We stayed at a couple places on our trip, and nothing paralleled the service here. The staff just makes everything so easy.

The breakfast is amazing, and views are amazing.

In saying all that, I want to warn you that the hotel is well off the main road, so there is no public transportation available to the beach or other restaurants. Round trip fare to the beach by taxi is $16, which is really expensive. They do have a shuttle, but it only runs a couple times a day, and I was only able to take it once.

It also costs a lot to take cabs to restaurants. So, I recommend you rent a car, otherwise you will be frustrated, unless you don't mind spending $$ on cabs everyday.

Also, the food here is extremely overpriced. We didn't eat here once.

Other than that I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2006

What an incredible way to end our vacation in Costa Rica. This is a marvelous hotel. The attention from the staff is incredible to all details. Thank you Lisa and Cornelius for all your help whenever we needed it. Things were simply taken care of. The service and the hotel comfort is what makes this a must stay hotel. The breakfast in the morning is delicious. We had friends at the Villas Caletas and they preferred the Mansion Inn over their own hotel. If you are accustomed to comfortable rooms, gorgeous views, and incredible service, please make your stay at this hotel. We would stay at La Mansion Inn in Costa Rica time after time!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2006

La Mansion Inn is a beautiful boutique hotel. We stayed in Room #6 and had an incredible view of the Ocean and Manuel Antonio Nat'l Park. We also had a nice size patio area to enjoy as well. Everyone on the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. They made us feel right at home. Management, and staff members themselves, do an excellent job in keeping La Mansion Inn look as beautiful and clean as it is. The food was outstanding. The breakfast we had every morning (which is included) was great. You can either eat in the comfort of your room, or in the restaurant. There are so many menu options that you can try something new each morning. (I already miss my daily morning mimosa, which accompanied my breakfast.) Dinner at La Mansion was wonderful also. The flavors are incredible and all items are as fresh as can be. If you don't like something on the menu, they are more than happy to whip up something else for you. The wine and champagne selection is also great. The Cave Bar was pretty cool also. The finale for us was seeing how Harry, the Owner of La Mansion Inn, does his part in helping raise money for the local schools. We were happy to do our part as tourists and donate as well. It's also wonderful how he hires local students and teaches them English while also giving them an opportunity of employment. Harry is more of a friend than a business man to his guests and his staff members. All this is what makes La Mansion Inn so successful and makes it stand out from the rest of the hotels in Costa Rica.

A few friendly suggestions or things to know before going......Tips are included in Costa Rica, but are only 10%, so don't forget to add another 10% for your servers. And, don't forget to tip the chamber maids (it's usually between $2-$4 per day per maid). La Mansion Inn does not remind you of this, it's at your discretion and judgment. Also, pack extra necessities (such as medications), because you'll want to extend your stay at La Mansion Inn.

Dawn & Joe
Tinley Park, IL (May 2006)

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2006

One of the highlights of our recent 10-day adventure in Costa Rica was four days and nights of relaxing bliss at the incredible La Mansion Inn, a gem of a boutique hotel on a bluff overlooking the expanse of beaches and the blue Pacific coast of Costa Rica. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the patios expansive, the pool and its adjoining bar and eating area are lovely, the dining room which enjoys the same fabulous views is terrific, but above all is the service. You are made to feel like family, not just a guest in a hotel. Harry, the owner, is warm and welcoming and he has trained his entire staff to be the same. By the 2nd day, even if they did not know us by name, they knew which was our room and did everything to make us feel at home. One morning at breakfast, a knife fell to the floor. Before we could even look around, our waiter, Enrique, was tableside with a tray of flatware, not knowing what piece had been dropped. That is excellent service, I'd say.
This was definitely one of the most enjoyable experiences I have had while traveling and I would highly recommend a stay at La Mansion as part of any Costa Rican holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

We stayed for 4 nights and experienced one of our best hotel stays ever. Large, clean room with an unbelievable view of the beach. The bathroom was excellent with lots of water pressure and hot water. Our balcony was the perfect place for room service breakfast and the regular breakfasts were amazingly good. The staff is great, very helpful and accomodating. Truly a romantic property.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at La Mansion for 3 days last week, and we absolutely loved it. The staff is wonderful, the view is breathtaking, and the breakfast delivered to your own room is a great touch. I highly recommend this hotel. You should also sign up for a tour of the park with Pablo, the friendliest and most knowledgeable guide you could ask for.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Address: P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we warmly invite all guests who stay to leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.