We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Mansion Inn to your Saves list
La Mansion Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This location is in the cliffs right above the beach and the view is breath taking. Service was amazing and Robert the manager does an extraordinary job making the guest feel at ease and at home. Nice quiet little resort, perfect for a couples get away.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    130
    53
    19
    15
See reviews for
77
469
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at La Mansion for three nights. The views were amazing and the staff was accommodating and very friendly.

Don't get me wrong, we very much enjoyed our stay mainly because of the views and proximity to the beach but in comparison to the several other hotels we stayed in while touring Costa Rica, this one did not meet the same standards of cleanliness and decor. You're definitely paying for the view here.

The hotel needs updating. The lobby is cramped with too much furniture cluttering the space. The hallways are not air conditioned so at times they are insanely swelteringly hot. There are no elevators so prepare to schlep up and down the winding hallways and stairwells. Upon arrival our room was ungodly hot. I had expected that someone would anticipate our arrival and turn on the A/C before we got there but no. Our room itself seemed nice but our bathroom was in serious need of renovation and a good cleaning. There was mold growing around the corners of the sink and tub. We also had a dirty handprint on the bathroom door that was there when we arrived and remained for our entire stay. Our toilet would flush simultaneously when the room above us flushed their toilet. The tub was old and cracked. Our lampshade was filled with moldy stains. (See pics)

The "clean" wash clothes had stains on them. Our pillow cases also had various stains on them. These are all things that I do not expect at a 5 star hotel. I'm sure if I had brought these things to the manager's attention they would have made an attempt to rectify them but they really shouldn't happen at all in a five star hotel.

The maid brought us Snickers bite sized candies for our turndown service. While I like Snickers, other area 5 star hotels offered coffee liqueur and bakery quality oatmeal biscuits with candlelight for our turndown service. Another offered locally made chocolates.

While the breakfast was included in our stay, we had to pay for taxes. None of the other hotels we stayed in charged us the tax on our included meals. Not a huge deal but rather odd. The food at breakfast was fair. I was shocked to find that we were served cool-whip instead of real whipped cream as well as canned mushrooms.

While La Mansion is still a great location don't be fooled into thinking it's a 5 star hotel. It's not.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for bringing these deficiences to my attention. It seems that we definitely messed up. Looking at the lamp shade I have a pretty good idea what room this is. Looking at this through a close-up photo does not help and makes it really look bad. I wish you had called me on this because I surely would have l liked to see the bed linens because this is the first complaint of its kind because the Laundry service rigorously checks the linen. Regarding the bed turn down service and the bite-size snickers we are split between charging more or giving our guests a very good deal and feel we our rates do not match our category. Having said that of course there is no excuse for sloppy houskeeping and I assure you this will not happen again. Luckily we very seldom get a complaint like this. If there is a next time please contact me,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had the most amazing experience at La Mansion Inn...Robert the manager could not have been more attentive and helpful and the staff was awesome too...the location is outstanding and about several minutes from any restaurant or bar in the heart of MA...very close to the National park and they have a shuttle as well. The food was great and the room was just stunning. HUGE views of the ocean and bays and also the canopy of rainforest...we had a lovely balcony that I saw monkeys and a sloth from! The pool was smaller but I think is expected at a boutique hotel. I feel they truly delivered on everything they advertised and compared to resorts on either side of them they were by far the better priced! We will return!

Room Tip: It appeared all rooms have an amazing full ocean view, but our penthouse was larger and very plush!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

You will not be disappointed by this hotel. The staff is super friendly, extremely accommodating and the hotel is in a great spot. It's a 10 minute ride to Quepos, and a 5 minute taxi ride to most of the restaurants. We had room #1 and the view overlooks the large beach in Manuel Antonio and it is breathtaking. It's about 2.5 hours from San Jose - we rented a vehicle from Hertz and the roads to get there are solid enough for a very small vehicle and tires. I would highly suggest a GPS to get there, we never got lost anywhere in the country with it. Costa Ricans are extremely enthusiastic and passionate about the service. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, it will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Opt for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed there a couple weeks ago and found the best place in Manuel Antonio/Quepos. The views are amazing, the service is outstanding and they could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Can't wait to go back. They were especially helpful booking our tours. I would highly suggest the catamaran boat ride/lunch around Manuel Antonio park area. Love the pool area and the views from the pool were breathtaking. You won't be disappointed...We went for my bf's 40th birthday and will definitely be back again! We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant all three nights and the only thing I wasn't a fan of was the tuna steak dinner, otherwise, magnificent. Don't change a thing!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

La Mansion rises out of the jungle hills of Manuel Antonio. This hotel boasts fabulous vistas of two beautiful bays and the canopy below. My wife and I honeymooned there after visiting Santa Teresa, an equally wonderful place. Unlike our former hotel, La Mansion knew what 5 star service really meant. We had informed them before we arrived that it was our honeymoon, and as we arrived in our room, there was a bottle of champagne on ice and a fruit plate waiting for us. The room was about as clean as a hotel room gets, pressed sheets, bathrooms pristine, and floor to ceiling mirrors without a smudge. The pool has a swim up bar with great fresh fruit cocktails and food at the ready. One of the best aspects of this hotel was the ever waiting to please staff. From breakfast, to drinks at the pool, to late night cocktails at the "Bat Cave Bar", they were excellent and accommodating. We booked all our excursions through the hotel front desk and when they couldn't find what we needed, they researched it and got it done. Overall a wonderful experience that I would recommend to any couple looking for an upper scale experience.

Room Tip: ask for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A very outstanding visit. The view from our balcony, and from the pool area is absolutely stunning. Our room was very nice, and it was a pleasurable sleep after our long day at Manuel Antonio. Robert, the hotel manager hosted a Friday evening VIP get together in the hotel lobby. This was a hoot. We met John Paul and Wendy from Utah, Samuel the pirate, and Kim from San Francisco, and Lynda and Ferdinand from Mexico City. Wine and appetizers along with Robert's vibrant personality made the event very memorable. We visited the Bat Cave Bar, and this is a must see! Complimentary breakfast each morning was very good, and I would recommend the congo huevos. Gary at the front desk was very helpful, and even though the parking is tricky at the top of the driveway, it will work! A great experience.

Room Tip: Second floor deluxe room is just right, number eight was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Address: P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we warmly invite all guests who stay to leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.