We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Mansion Inn to your Saves list
La Mansion Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
San Dimas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

La Mansion rises out of the jungle hills of Manuel Antonio. This hotel boasts fabulous vistas of two beautiful bays and the canopy below. My wife and I honeymooned there after visiting Santa Teresa, an equally wonderful place. Unlike our former hotel, La Mansion knew what 5 star service really meant. We had informed them before we arrived that it was our honeymoon, and as we arrived in our room, there was a bottle of champagne on ice and a fruit plate waiting for us. The room was about as clean as a hotel room gets, pressed sheets, bathrooms pristine, and floor to ceiling mirrors without a smudge. The pool has a swim up bar with great fresh fruit cocktails and food at the ready. One of the best aspects of this hotel was the ever waiting to please staff. From breakfast, to drinks at the pool, to late night cocktails at the "Bat Cave Bar", they were excellent and accommodating. We booked all our excursions through the hotel front desk and when they couldn't find what we needed, they researched it and got it done. Overall a wonderful experience that I would recommend to any couple looking for an upper scale experience.

Room Tip: ask for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    126
    51
    18
    15
See reviews for
75
456
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A very outstanding visit. The view from our balcony, and from the pool area is absolutely stunning. Our room was very nice, and it was a pleasurable sleep after our long day at Manuel Antonio. Robert, the hotel manager hosted a Friday evening VIP get together in the hotel lobby. This was a hoot. We met John Paul and Wendy from Utah, Samuel the pirate, and Kim from San Francisco, and Lynda and Ferdinand from Mexico City. Wine and appetizers along with Robert's vibrant personality made the event very memorable. We visited the Bat Cave Bar, and this is a must see! Complimentary breakfast each morning was very good, and I would recommend the congo huevos. Gary at the front desk was very helpful, and even though the parking is tricky at the top of the driveway, it will work! A great experience.

Room Tip: Second floor deluxe room is just right, number eight was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The inn is located on a mountain overlooking the beach on both sides so almost all rooms have ocean view! Rooms are great spacious and comfortable. The best part about this hotel is the service!!!!! The staff was amazing from booking in room massages, to putting smiley faces in our tropical drinks they are they for whatever you need! Would come back in a heartbeat.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

At La Mansion, guests are paying for the stunning views. The hotel itself is average. The decor is a bit outdated, but nice. The views from the pool are breathtaking. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is good, but nothing special. We stayed for one night, which was just right.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We screwed up our flight and arrived really early at La Mansion which was 3am although we were supposed to checked in at 3pm. The staff went out of their way and tried to get us in a room as soon they could to accommodate our needs even though all their rooms were booked at time.

This hotel is recommended for adult couples looking for a relaxing or romantic time. Yes everything in this hotel runs on smaller size but it fit perfectly just the way it is. The pool was open 24 hrs with great views. We missed our chance of having dinner here, which really disappointed us so we should have booked for a longer stay. The complimentary breakfast was perfect and fast service as well.

We had more wild life visited us here everyday than what we saw at the National Park. Every morning the monkeys visited us at our balcony, one day one came by the pool and stole a banana from the pool bar, it was the funniest thing we ever saw.

The guest are very nice as well we meet a lot of couples from all over the world.

The only downside is that the hotel is away from shops and restaurants. But getting cab rides is not a problem, the longest we waited was 5 min. The hotel does provide free shuttle to the beach and the National Park 3 times a day at certain hours.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just spent 9 nights here and felt as if we were leaving a second home. Let me first start off by offering a recommendation to you: Costa Rica is not the United States nor is it Europe - and that is exactly why you should travel to this amazing country. If you visit with a negative and critical mindset based on another country´s standards and cultural norms, all you will find is dissapointment. But if you come with an open mind ready for adventure, you will experience the many blessings that Costa Rica has to offer.

La Mansion Inn is one of the most beautiful properties in Manuel Antonio. We came to the area 9 years ago and wanted to spoil ourselves so we looked for a boutique hotel - and that´s exactly what we found with La Mansion Inn. The hotel is coneveniently located just off the main road yet secluded so it´s quiet from any noise (except the monkeys in late afternoon). The hotel is on a bluff overlooking south towards Manuel Antonio beach and also with views looking north towards Jaco. There are two beaches within walking distance from the hotel which was great for us as we didn´t have a car. We stayed in Penthouse #4, which I highly recommend. It is located at one end of the hotel and has the best views in the entire property facing the mountainside and Manuel Antonio beach. You get to enjoy a large living room, dining room and bedroom all with amazing views - plus a large balcony with a table and lounge chairs.

What sets La Mansion Inn apart from the other neighboring hotels is the intimate atmosphere and service provided to guests.There are about 25 rooms here so you never feel overwhelemed with crowds and are always well taken care of by the staff. You don´t have to wait long for room service or for a drink by the pool. Compare this to Hotel Parador further down the road that brings in tourists by the busload and you have screaming kids running around everywhere and long lines for the breakfast buffet.

The staff at La Mansion Inn are what I will miss most.The moment we arrived we felt welcomed - there was Robert, the general manager, who greets you in the lobby with a smile and handshake and always asks how he can make your day better - and not because he gets paid to say that - but because he really does care. Then there is Juan Carlos who works by the pool and is somewhat shy at first but when you get to know him you realize he´s a solid guy with an interesting life story to share. We also got to know Juan better who helped out with breakfast in the morning (which is great with large portions). I have never seen anyone smile more than Juan did - it became contagious and you realize what the true meaning of ´´Pura vida´´ means in this country.

We were also in Costa Rica when they played Holland in the World Cup so the hotel guests were invited to watch the game in the owner´s (Harry) private suite. This was a lot of fun as we hung out wtih staff and guests while drinking beer and eating pizza. Harry is a generous host who regularly hangs out in the lobby to get to know his guests better - take the time to get to know him as he has a fascintating life story and is a wonderful person.

I´m already looking forward to staying here again when we return - Jason

Room Tip: Penthouse # 4 is amazing! The best views in the entire place and very modern and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Really was delighted with this hotel. The room was overlooking the beach in the distance, and the pool had a huge terrace which gave a 360 view of Manuel Antonio. We were getting used to having breakfast buffets in all the other hotels, however this hotel offers just one dish - albeit very tasty.

There is one person that I will remember from the visit to Manuel Antonio, and that person is the General Manager of this hotel. He is a fantastic character, and the hotel would not be the same without him. He invited my wife and I to a VIP drink and chat with the other hotel guests on Friday evening, and it was a very interesting evening.

Great beaches local to the hotel.

Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks very much for you beautiful review - the only thing I do not understand is the one breakfast item that was very "yummy". We offer a full a la carte breakfast menu that consist of more than 14 items on which we get rave reviews.... Perhaps you can contact me personally to let me know what happened....

Harry Bodaan
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Address: P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we warmly invite all guests who stay to leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.