We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good things in small packages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn

Save Saved
You added La Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Mansion Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Canyon Lake, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good things in small packages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent from March 2-8, 2013, at this small but very nice hotel. Its an adult only property and only has 22 rooms. The staff is very attentive and can handle any activity you want to book. Costa Rica Tours handled out trip and it went without a hitch. We were met at the airport in San Jose and walked thru and into a air conditioned new van. Delivered to our hotel with a stop for lunch along the way. We were picked up on time for every activity. Costa Rica tours arranged for us a flight from the Quepos airstrip back to San Jose. That was a little scarey but we made it.

Room Tip: WE heard from several people who were staying at the Mariposa that it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    123
    49
    18
    15
See reviews for
75
446
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently returned from a great week at La Mansion. Brownie ( Larissa's husband ) picked us up at the airport and gave us a great tour on our way to the hotel. Larissa had managed to arrange an available upgrade when we arrived and it was magnificent, the beginning of a great experience. Everyone treated us like royalty and learned our names the first day. There were no strangers at the hotel. The chefs Francisco and Francisco ( there are two of them) are great cooks. They cooked up some dorado we caught four different ways so we could sample the various tastes with the people who shared our chartered boat. Some have said the meals are expensive. That is not the case at all!! Figure on $18U.S. to $25U.S. for an entrée. The only more expensive dish was the seafood platter at $40U.S. However that is more than enough seafood to feed two people. Try the shrimp cocktail. I had it nearly everyday. Four super jumbo shrimp with avocado and cocktail sauce. That is really a meal by itself!! The room we had was spectacular and the maids kept it spotless.
The views are unbelievable. You are a ways from the beach but with the shuttle service running 4 times a day for the ten minute trip you don't have far to go. If you miss the shuttle or want to go into town at a different time it is only an $8U.S. cab ride. We tried a couple of other restaurants which offered very good food but we quickly came to the conclusion we had the best at La Mansion. The regular bartenders Bart and Jonathan are great for giving you information and really good drinks. They keep it all fun. The waiters are great and will get you whatever you ask for even if it is not on the menu!! Don't listen to those who post negative comments about this hotel. It is not a Ritz Carlton but is nonetheless a small luxury resort with tremendous people.

Room Tip: Try the suites. They are worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
From Braunie, to the Francisco's and Bart and Jonathan, I will be sure to let everyone know you had such a wonderful stay. All your comments are greatly appreciated, especially when quests such as yourself are willing to clear up some of the misconceptions that seem to fly around about the hotel. It seems that one negative review can easily "snowball" into comments that are unrealistic and often-times ridiculous. Once again, thank you! And we look forward to your soon return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerport, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our first trip to Costa Rica and this was a great place to start. The view is breathtaking on both sides of the hotel, the staff were wonderful and quite accommodating. They went out of their way to fulfill any requests, always addressed us by name and took the time to have a conversation. The kitchen was willing to cook our catch from deep sea fishing. They were great at providing information for all our needs and we would definitely recommend them. Thank you to the La Mansion staff for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Great to hear from you and we always appreciate positive feedback. Your kind comments will be shared with the staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Your home is waiting for you in Costa Rica. The staff welcome you as a long-awaited guest, personally show you around the property, learn your name and preferences, and go out of their way to meet your needs. Extraordinary view, both out of the rooms and from public spaces. Small boutique hotel feel with staff who are very satisfied with their jobs and love to please their guests. Food is delicious, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Your review was particularly encouraging to read, thank you. Our mission is always that our guests would feel at home here at La Mansion Inn and every time they return, they would feel like they are coming to a home away from home. When you return to Costa Rica, our doors are always open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wonderful staff. View is gorgeous and the breakfast was very good. Did not eat lunch or dinner as no vegetarian dishes were there on the menu. However the chef offered to make some vegetarian entrees. It is not conveniently located for those without a car but perhaps an advantage. Again the staff made the difference. A bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We appreciate your kind review and feedback. We encourage all our guests to take advantage of our shuttle system that runs throughout the day, taking our guests to the beach or any other location between the hotel and beach. Our front desk staff are also always happy to call a taxi for any of our guests. this allows complete freedom for anyone staying at the hotel to explore the town without a car. We are however very glad you enjoyed your stay. We always appreciate all constructive comments that might help us to continually improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a lovely small luxury hotel and a great base for a visit to Manuel Antonio National Park. Rooms are tasteful and modern and reasonably large. Service is first-rate, and the staff is quite knowledgeable about the best tours and restaurants in the area. The food at the hotel is first-rate, wonderfully prepared fish and other offerings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
It is always nice to know that our guests take advantage of and enjoy everything we have to offer. We appreciate your review and look forward to your return to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel with great views. Be prepared for a hike everywhere you go and there is no elevator at the hotel. It was a 30 minute walk to the main beach (they do have a shuttle that only takes a few minutes) and 10 minute walk to a private beach. The rooms were very clean and had wi-fi. Breakfast was great and we highly recommend getting a drink at the bat cave. We also saw monkeys stealing bananas from the pool bar.

Room Tip: Not ideal for people who struggle with long walks, hiking, stairs, etc. Best view in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We have always felt very fortunate that our particular location allows such a great view for every one of our guests. We have noticed that many guests love to take advantage of our shuttle service while many others really enjoy the peaceful walks through the jungle. We always try to provide something for everyone! thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Address: P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we warmly invite all guests who stay to leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.