We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn

Save Saved
You added La Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Mansion Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Los Angeles, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days January 2013.The room was terrific with a beautiful view of the ocean and beach. The food is great and reasonably priced. We ate most of our meals at the hotel. The staff could not have been more klnd. We were told of a local beach that was walking distance. I was able to rent snokle equipment for $10 and swam to an area where the fish were comparable to those I saw in Hawaii. This is truly a boutique hotel which is probably not appropriate for children.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at La Mansion Inn and took advantage of what we have to offer here in our hotel restaurant. It is also encouraging to know that you were able to find and enjoy our local beach next to the hotel and have such a great time. Your last comment is well noted and we do let our potential guests know that we are not a hotel for young children. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    123
    50
    18
    15
See reviews for
75
448
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this superb boutique hotel in January 2013 for 6 nights, having originally booked for 4 but changing our itinerary to stay for an additional 2 nights. I rely on Trip Advisor for info about accommodation and have never contributed but this stay was so remarkable that I feel compelled to review.
From the moment we walked in the door to the moment we left, we were treated like royalty. We have travelled extensively throughout North America, Europe, Hawaii and Asia and have stayed in a wide range of accommodations from basic to luxurious. This was the best hotel experience of our lives.
ROOMS:
We stayed in a deluxe room, an entire wall of which was floor to ceiling glass including sliding doors that opened to a large balcony and a grassy terrace. The view of the Pacific Ocean and Manuel Antonio National Park was nothing short of spectacular and I am very demanding when it comes to views. We arose each morning at 5:30 a.m. to sip coffee on the balcony while watching the sunrise and listening to the howler monkeys and tropical birds. This was a show we did not want to miss! We also were visited by capuchin monkeys in the late afternoon on our balcony and in front of the hotel and watched several squirrel monkeys playing in the trees as well. We had a friendly iguana checking in on us from the terrace each morning and numerous geckos keeping us company in the evenings.
The king bed was extremely comfortable and the lighting in the room was the best we’ve had anywhere with adjustable wall-mounted reading lights on either side of the bed in addition to bedside table lamps and very bright lights on the balcony which allowed us to enjoy reading at night whether in our room or on the balcony.
POOL/SKY DECK:
A short hallway outside our room led to the pool and hot tub with stunning views once again towards Manuel Antonio. The terrace a few steps above the pool level had panoramic views of Manuel Antonio and Playa Biesanz, a secluded bay within walking distance of the hotel with great swimming and decent snorkeling. There were comfortable lounge chairs on both the pool and terrace levels and assorted patio furniture on the terrace level.
FOOD:
The food was fantastic…breakfast was included and guests can select their choices off the menu. The pancackes, fruit plate, eggs benny and omelettes were delicious and so wonderful to enjoy while taking in the view and ambience of the lower terrace. In the evening, we enjoyed amazing meals including succulent “catch-of-the-day” selections. The sea bass, snapper and mahi mahi were fabulous. Also tried the filet mignon with blue cheese which was very tasty. We ate outside of the hotel a few times but stopped because there was nothing that came close to the food at La Mansion Inn. We even started to eat lunch on the Sky Deck because, again, the delicious salads trumped all lunch choices elsewhere.
SERVICE: !
Saving the best for last…the staff. They were ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING and even if the hotel was a dive, we’d still come back because they were SO AWESOME.. We cannot say enough about ALL whom we encountered be they at the front desk, the restaurant, the poo/terrace areas, housekeeping or the Bat Cave. We had the most courteous, gracious and helpful encounters of any hotel staff anywhere. Totally attentive but utterly unobtrusive and gracious. Juan Carlos, Eric, Jesus, Juan, Jorge, Diego,Bart and many, many others, thank you for all you did to create an unforgettable stay. We don’t know the names of the housekeeping staff but the room was kept spotlessly clean and with delightful towel art. Of note, we accidently left the safe unlocked and open one morning and were immensely relieved to find our passports/wallets/jewelry/camera in place on our return later in the day.

We also enjoyed meeting other guests and forging new friendships, a bonus facilitated by the size of the hotel and the complimentary Friday evening wine and hors d’ouvres.
There is a plaque at the hotel which reads something like “People come as our guests and leave as our friends”. We have never felt sadder on leaving a hotel. It was a once in a lifetime experience we are determined to repeat at least twice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We do appreciate your generous review of our Hotel. I must say it is always encouraging when our guests decide to extend their vacation time in Manuel Antonio and here at La Mansion Inn because they are having such a wonderful time here. Your review of the hotel was very detailed and the time you took to discuss every element of your stay from the food to the service and the room itself. We must say you most definitely did "come as a guest and leave as a friend". You will always be welcome back at La Mansion Inn at any time in the future as one of our friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a lovely property with a great restaurant. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The common areas are beautiful and the views are outstanding.
Our room was a penthouse on the top floor. While it was certainly very nice, the décor was more like New York than Costa Rica in that the furnishing were on the dark side rather than the vibrant colors associated with this beautiful country. The small patio afforded a great view but since it was not covered, it was unusable during and for long periods after it rained. It looked like other rooms had much nicer covered patios.
All in all this is a fine place that could be great if you get the right room.

Room Tip: Not penthouse number 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
It is great to hear from you and receive your review after your stay here at La Mansion Inn.
While we appreciate your positive remarks, we did notice your comments regarding the decor. There are many hotels in Manuel Antonio that have bright and vibrant rooms that are often commented as being "over the top" or as some people say "old fashioned 1980's feel", then there are other hotels that have a more classic upscale style that some people such as yourself consider to be "New York style". Here at La Mansion Inn we are constantly updating our decor, working on rooms, changing artwork and operating with sensitivity to our guests feedback, such as yours.
However, we also realise that we can never please everybody. No matter the style of room, or style of the hotel, there are always guests who have different taste and individual preferences. The most important element for us at La Mansion Inn is the complete experience of our guests and the quality of your vacation.
We are very pleased that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at La Mansion in February 2013 as part of a Costa Rica vacation. We found the staff to be uniformly pleasant to deal with, our room was lovely, and the food was excellent.

This last is quite important, because there is nothing else within walking distance. Prices are quite fair, so this is really a "whew", not an "oops". But it would have been nice to have had some variety. We didn't use the smallish pool (a second one is under construction). be prepared for a lot of walking inside the hotel, because this hotel was several buildings tied together, and we had to walk three separate spiral staircases, and go outdoors (among other things) to reach our room.

room lighting was a bit odd, consisting of inadequate bedside lamps and several tiny bright spotlights in the ceiling - reading a paper book is challenging.

the only real annoyance came when we tried to print boarding passes, because there is no printer at the guest PC. we ended up translating a lot of computerese from Spanish to English in order to print our passes as pdf's, saving them to the guest pc, going into personal email, and sending the pdf's to the desk clerk's personal email, which he retrieved from his pc ten feet away; he then printed for us. sorry, gang, please buy a $100 printer and save your guests' sanity.

Room Tip: we were in room 23, with an excellent view. it's a hike from the front desk, but the corollary b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Great to hear from you and we do appreciate your feedback and positive comments regarding the rooms we have to offer and our one on staff service. We understand your comments about the location as you mentioned "nothing within walking distance". The hotel is actually located within walking distance of a beautiful and secluded small beach that many of our guests seem to adore. When you want to visit the main beach or go to any beach front restaurants or the Nation Park in Manuel Antonio we also offer a free shuttle service to all of our guests.

Regarding your comments about having to walk through the hotel to reach your room: This has never been an issue of complaint by any of our guests before. Since we have rooms that are spaced apart from front to back by no more than 100 meters we have never seen this as an issue.
Also, any time a guest has need of a printer, for printing such things as boarding passes, we are always happy to provide this service for you at the front desk. This is as simple as sending an email to a "La Mansion Inn" e mail address or using a memory stick that we are also happy to provide for you.

All this said, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great hotel, small, intimate,one of the best view in MA listen and watch for the monkeys on the upper deck while having a pina colada, great friendly staff. We hope to get back there in April. Hello Harry!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi there! Wonderful to hear from you. We are very proud and thankful to have the wonderful views that we do, especially our 360 degree view from the sky lounge that always seems to impress everybody that visits. I am also very appreciative of the staff that I have here at the hotel, who always manage to create such a fantastic and friendly atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again in April!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We recently stayed here as part of a wedding party. We had such a great time. Yeah the rooms are a little dated, but it didn't matter as the staff was so wonderful and accommodating, the view is incredible and the hotel was very unique. The bat bar is like nothing else. The food was better than most hotels, and we especially loved the included breakfast. Gracias La Mansion! We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Let me start by saying we had a large group staying at the hotel for my brothers wedding. From the moment we showed up the staff was incredible. They went above and beyond their normal duties to make our stay fantastic. Jonathan, Bart "the pirate" and the rest of the staff I would like to say thank you. The rooms were very nice and the views were perfect. They did have some construction going on by our room which was a little loud at times but we understand when you expand it doesn't just happen. Overall, this place is great and you will not be disappointed. Pura Vida!
The Hill wedding party

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Address: P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we warmly invite all guests who stay to leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.