We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, staff, food & location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn

Save Saved
You added La Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mansion Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, staff, food & location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Mansion Inn during a portion of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. The hotel was perfect! All of the staff was very friendly and went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. We really enjoyed the pool/pool bar, cave bar, and the food was excellent! The view from our balcony was beautiful, the room was spacious--and we were even able to enjoy a couples massage from the comfort of our own room. Our package included breakfast, lunch and drinks--I would highly recommend that package! The staff knew us by name and we knew them by name in return (Juan Carlos, Adrianne, Jonathan, Bart, Carlos, Jesus, Michael...among others...). I was very impressed by this hotel and we will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
It is always very encouraging for your staff when they are remembered and mentioned on trip advisor. They work very hard to make your stay the best it can be and we are delighted that your vacation was everything it could be! We look forward to seeing you when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    120
    48
    18
    14
See reviews for
74
435
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Despite the many celebrities' photos on the wall, this lovely hotel is quite simple. Large comfortable rooms with gorgeous view of the ocean, a-la-carte breakfast included, a small pool and outdoor jacuzzi, and a great staff that will help you in anything you want. There's a free shuttle sevice to the beach several times a day (less than a mile away). Don't miss the terrace above the pool with the breathtaking view of the Pacific from all sides..!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Mansion Inn. We look forward to seeing you again, any time you return to Manuel Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is an excellent boutique hotel in a fabulous location with friendly and attentive staff. We had amazing views of the Manuel Antonio coast from our room. If you are lucky, the wild life will come to you - we saw spider monkeys and a capucin monkey from our balcony. Breakfast on the terrace makes for a great start to the day. The hotel is a short walk from the Playa Biesanz - a great little beach that you access via a path through rain forest. Parking is in short supply but we always found a space. Overall this is a great choice.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a penthouse suite for our anniversary trip. The room was fantastic and the price included breakfast and lunch with drinks. The pool was very nice and there were great views throughout. We really liked the shuttle service as well.

We ate dinner at the hotel out first night and the dinner service was poor. I watched the other tables getting excellent service and we felt neglected. Our tablecloth was dirty and stained as well. After seeing bread service at the other tables, we finally requested some after our salads were served. My steak was served to me without a steak knife and, catching his mistake, the waiter grabbed a butter knife from another table. A few minutes later, he brought the steak knife. Also, we requested a list of sparkling wines and that took about 20 min to receive. I supposed people do not typically order sparkling wine at this hotel. Also, they do not serve wine by the glass, which is absolutely absurd to me.

I would stay at this hotel again but I would not reccomend eating dinner at their restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for your comment – I have met with my service staff and our Front Waiter remembers the episode but “assured” me that you choose to sit down at a table that had just been vacated and that you decided not to wait for them to turn the table. In regards to list of sparkling wines, I am somewhat puzzled. These sparkling wines (and Champagnes) are part of our regular Wine List and as person who loves almost any kind of Champagne with festive occasions we offer quiet a variety including my own private selection which includes Krug, Dom Perignon, La Grand Dame, Bollinger, a variety of Veuve Cliquots and even have a bottle of Louis Roederer Cristal waiting for the right occasion. Almost all of these are listed on our Wine List. We also do serve wine by the glass and, thank to your comment, have increased our selection..

However, something must have been off that night with your service and for that I do apologize. I hope you mentioned your dismay to our Front Desk which would have made amends in accordance with our “Money Back” Guarantee policy and as mentioned in our personalized Welcome Letter. If you failed to mention it, allow me to have you as my guest for dinner next time you are at the La Mansion Inn. We are in the “pleasing” business and not like it if something goes wrong especially on your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

La Mansion is a very nice boutique hotel (about 20 rooms) and the view is breath taking. BIG room spotless. Breakfast on the terrace was also great. Service was always excellent. Valet service to and from the beach is very convenient.

The only negative note is the diner; our two meals were disappointing. They weren't worth the amount spent. But don't worry, Manuel Antonio area has lots of very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our weekly stay at La Mansion Inn surpassed all of our expectations; we could say that it was perfection, or as Tico's say, "tuanes." Our room was beautiful; each day they were cleaned to excellence, and while newly renovated, it still held old-world Costa Rican charm. After a day of beach, ATV tours, excursion to town, etc., we came home to such comfort that began as soon as we parked the car, all the way until the bed was turned down. The staff was beyond gracious. We especially found kindness and dedication from Jesus, Juan Carlos, Damien, Erik, Jorge, and Carlos. Each man made our stay extra special with sincere and gracious smiles. We slept beautifully and each morning opened our sliding glass doors to a view that overlooked a secluded beach and many trees. As we sat in our rocking chairs to discuss the day ahead, our mood was set by such an amazing scenery. If one has the desire to visit Heaven on Earth, La Mansion Inn is your place. Be prepared to find a peace unlike all others. Many thanks from Lainey and Ran.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Staff here is amazing- especially Juan, Jonathan, and Bart. Everyone was friendly, other hotels should model their customer service skills after these guys! Day after day, we would always be greeted by name, with a smile, and a "pura vida!" Boutique hotel with charming decor- bed wasn't that comfortable and every small move made a loud squeak. Excellent views. Toilet had a weak flusher too- but we called maintenance and it was resolved in moments. Excellent breakfast food, loved the Gallo Pinto and the Huevos Congo. Doesn't open til 7, which is kinda late considering some tours/excursions pick you up that early, 630 I think would be ideal. We loved the breakfast, and didnt want to miss out - so the staff was kind enough to make sure we had to a continental breakfast all packed and ready for us right when they opened at 7! It was orchestrated perfectly and all we did was grab and go along our merry little way! From beginning to end everyone treated us like we were old friends! Love this place!

Room Tip: Definitely take advantage of the hourly free shuttle to and from the beach. You can also ask to dro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Gracias! Your review was very kind. I will be sure to share this with Juan, Jonathan and Bart, they work very hard and they will be encouraged.
I noticed your comment regarding the bed and I have spoken to the maintenance and maids to resolve this issue immediately. I also appreciate your comment regarding the timing of breakfast in the mornings. Constructive criticism really helps us so much. I have advised our kitchen and head chef to open and begin serving at 6:30 from now on during High Season.
If you ever choose to return to Costa Rica it would be a pleasure to accommodate you again at La Mansion Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Address: P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we warmly invite all guests who stay to leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.