We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit #7” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Mansion Inn to your Saves list
La Mansion Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Visit #7”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This year reminded me why I keep coming back, and my brother and his partner who joined me for the first time were equally impressed. If you are looking for a resort-type vacation, focused on the latest chic decor, don't bother. If you expect a sterilized environment so you can ignore the fact that you are in the coastal tropics, don't bother. If you looking to experience la pura vida, La Mansion embodies it. The rooms are comfortable, the view are incredible, and -- most important -- the staff are incredibly friendly and willing to bend over backwards to help you get the best out of your vacation. And this year, the restaurant has moved up more than a notch.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay here at the Hotel once again. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff were able to meet all your needs. thank you for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    129
    51
    19
    15
See reviews for
75
463
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Northport, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at LMI for 3 nights in January. Upon arrival, we received a tour of the hotel and welcome drinks. They leave you by the pool area where the view is amazing! It felt like paradise! We booked an ocean view room and were not disappointed. It is a bright, spacious, clean room with the most comfortable bed. The bathroom was beautiful and excellent water pressure in the shower. We had our own patio and grassy area with lounge chairs with a gorgeous view. Each day there were towels made into animals with use of fresh flowers and chocolates left on our pillows at night. You felt spoiled there! We enjoyed breakfast each morning. Most of the staff was helpful, except one morning at the reception desk. Bart, the bartender at the Bat Bar,was great company and made my "40th" birthday extra special! When we needed an early start or to pack a lunch, we were accommodated by the kitchen staff. The only down side of this hotel for us was the location. We did not have a car and each time we wanted to leave for a restaurant, it was always a taxi ride away and each way seemed to always cost us $8.00. If you could manage the steep uphill walk to the main street (it took about 10 minutes), there you could catch the bus for 50 cents a person and could go almost anywhere. There were shuttle buses to the beach area and if you booked any excursions, they all seemed to divide transportation. We loved our stay and have no regrets!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunnybride79
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three days during our honeymoon trip in Manuel Antonio.

The good things: the hotel is in a quiet area, most of the staff were friendly or at least accomodating, awesome pool, complete with waterfall, swim up bar, and an AMAZING view.

The bad things: The rooms are dated (think late 80's/90's cheesy - but they were clean) and the hallways smell a bit musty. (Even not near the super-stinky bat cave bar). When we got to our room- our shower head was broken and we needed to call twice to get it repaired. Many of the staff were new and the seasoned ones were a bit reticent. We felt so completely welcome everywhere else in Costa Rica, it honestly made me wonder if they are treated well or if this is a high-staff turnover sort of place. Out of the three places we stayed at I have to say this was our least favorite. While it was clean and we certainly didn't have a terrible experience, we sincerely think travelers can get a lot more bang for your buck elsewhere in MA.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing La mansion inn for your Honeymoon.

We would like to address some of the issues you brought up in your review. We are happy to say that much of the hotel has been rennovated since your stay here.

We noticed that you pointed our a rather musty smell in certain areas of the hotel. This is actually not a musty odor but actually the natural odor of the surrounding rainforest that you naturally find in this area during the rainy season. La Mansion Inn is uniquely placed in the middle of the rainforest - a reason why many people choose to come here - Due to our location and the time of year, there is a certain natural smell in certain areas of our ourdoor / indoor style facility.

also, with regards to our staff, we are very happy to say that much of our staff has been dedicated to working at the hotel for quite some time. However there is always a high turnover rate in the hotel business. It should be well noted that the hotel industry has a global turnover rate of over 300%.

We attempt to hold on to our employees as much as possible and invest our time and energy into their training, that they might dedicate their services to serving the geusts to the best of our ability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Just returned from a great stay at La Mansion. It was a fabulous hotel with everything you could ask for. This trip was a little different than most in that it was my 2 brother in laws and my father with me. We were there to fish and that we did.
We had the standerd room, but it was great. The view from the room was amazing looking over the Pacific. It was also great for just watching the monkeys in the trees.
The service was exceptional! Anything you need just ask and the will do everything they can to accomadate. Since we fished everyday we were there we had to leave before breakfast started. No worries! Breakfast awaited us each morning packed and ready to go. They even cooked our fish we caught for dinner and it was great.
The pool area was also very nice. We spent the late afternoons here to watch the sunset and just relax.
I would defenatly reccomend this hotel to anyone. Expecially those who like the smaller more personnal hotels with great service. I would love to return here and you should try it out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

In January of this year (2012) we stayed at La Mansion for 3 days and had one of our best hotel experiences ever! The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant, especially Damien at the front desk. We were absolutely spoiled with an upgrade to Penthouse 2 which has a double sided ocean view and was a luxurious suite complete with large bedroom, living and dining areas. The food at the in-house restaurant was fabulous and wonderfully presented, the views from the out door lounge breath taking and the staff all extremely helpful and professional. It was a wonderful entry to Costa Rica and turned out to be our favourite hotel (out of many wonderful places) in our two week visit.

I would recommend you ask the staff about the lovely beach just 10 minutes down the road, rather than go to the huge (and not as nice) tourist beach, 45 minutes away outside Manual Antonio park.

Room Tip: If your looking for a truly luxurious experience, ask for Penthouse 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had a great time at La Mansion. The staff were always really attentive and helpful, they recommended great restaurants and helped us to set up rides with taxis and the free shuttle they offer to the beach/park.

Our package came with complementary breakfast which is typically served on the deck, but due to the morning rain showers the days we stayed we get to eat in the main restaurant and order anything we liked for no additional charge.

Our room was big and clean and the air conditioner worked a lot better then a few other places we had stayed. The pool and deck area are beautiful, and we went during a slow season so we pretty much had it all to ourselves. the views from the top deck are indescribable, you are on a small peninsula so you have water on 3 sides and misty mountains on the other.

One thing to keep in mind.... the hotel is VERY close to the main dining area, but the road is very steep and winding so walking is a bit nerve racking. We used the cab service to get back and forth to dinner each night, if you call a cab the price is a bit higher then just waving one, so on the way back try to save some $ by flagging one down. Its pretty easy to grab them on the way by. They do have free parking if you are traveling by car.

With regards to the bugs people mentioned, its a tropical paradise, bugs and lizards are around. The hotel has a nice open feel to it to allow the breeze to come through and a few critters could get in. If you are really put off by this type of thing a small boutique hotel - this or others like it in the area- might not be the best option.

I would go back in a second!

Room Tip: The lower numbered rooms are a bit closed to the lobby, we were in room 20-something and it was a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in the last week of December. This small boutique hotel is located about amile off the main road to Manuel Antonio. The view from the hotel is unbeleivable. We were booked into the picey Presidential Suite, which was almost like a condominium with 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, a dining room, and 2 balconies - 1 small and 1 humungous, on the top (3rd) floor.The staff especially Herbert in reception and Bert, the bartender were extremely friendly and helpful. Our deal included breakfast, lunch and drinks until 7 PM. The menu selections for breakfast and lunch were excellent and the bar served all kinds of cocktails. There is even a small swim-up bar. The best part of the hotel apart from the room, was the terrace where lunch and drinks are served, as it has an unparalleled and unobstructed view - a great place to hang out with a glass of wine or to bask in the sun. The restaurant named after Jacques Cousteau is excellent but needs a reservation and pre-ordering.
My complaint about the hotel is that it feels cramped and a little claustrophobic. Even though our room had total privacy, the pool, the terrace, etc. felt crowded. Given the location and views, it is expected, but still with the price-tag, one would wxpect more exclusivity. The other problem is that it is far from the main road, or the beach and all the activity. A taxi into town or the beach costs about 8 bucks. The hotel has a shuttle to the beach about 2-3 times a day. It takes about 15-20 mins to walk to the main road, though it is quite an uphill hike. Once on the main road, there are quite few restaurants and bars to choose from. But everything out here is expensive! It is very touristy and expensive and be prepared to dish out at least $25 pp for meals.
The Manuel Antonio Park itself is tiny, though beautiful. A 10 minute walk from the hotel lies a small hidden almost empty beach (make a right from the netrance and follow the signs downhill). Monkeys invade the hotel every morning and are a pleasant diversion.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view and balcony. Not sure that the suites are worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Address: P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we warmly invite all guests who stay to leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.