We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Mansion Inn to your Saves list
La Mansion Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Greenville SC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Just returned from a great stay at La Mansion. It was a fabulous hotel with everything you could ask for. This trip was a little different than most in that it was my 2 brother in laws and my father with me. We were there to fish and that we did.
We had the standerd room, but it was great. The view from the room was amazing looking over the Pacific. It was also great for just watching the monkeys in the trees.
The service was exceptional! Anything you need just ask and the will do everything they can to accomadate. Since we fished everyday we were there we had to leave before breakfast started. No worries! Breakfast awaited us each morning packed and ready to go. They even cooked our fish we caught for dinner and it was great.
The pool area was also very nice. We spent the late afternoons here to watch the sunset and just relax.
I would defenatly reccomend this hotel to anyone. Expecially those who like the smaller more personnal hotels with great service. I would love to return here and you should try it out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    131
    55
    19
    16
See reviews for
78
471
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

In January of this year (2012) we stayed at La Mansion for 3 days and had one of our best hotel experiences ever! The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant, especially Damien at the front desk. We were absolutely spoiled with an upgrade to Penthouse 2 which has a double sided ocean view and was a luxurious suite complete with large bedroom, living and dining areas. The food at the in-house restaurant was fabulous and wonderfully presented, the views from the out door lounge breath taking and the staff all extremely helpful and professional. It was a wonderful entry to Costa Rica and turned out to be our favourite hotel (out of many wonderful places) in our two week visit.

I would recommend you ask the staff about the lovely beach just 10 minutes down the road, rather than go to the huge (and not as nice) tourist beach, 45 minutes away outside Manual Antonio park.

Room Tip: If your looking for a truly luxurious experience, ask for Penthouse 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had a great time at La Mansion. The staff were always really attentive and helpful, they recommended great restaurants and helped us to set up rides with taxis and the free shuttle they offer to the beach/park.

Our package came with complementary breakfast which is typically served on the deck, but due to the morning rain showers the days we stayed we get to eat in the main restaurant and order anything we liked for no additional charge.

Our room was big and clean and the air conditioner worked a lot better then a few other places we had stayed. The pool and deck area are beautiful, and we went during a slow season so we pretty much had it all to ourselves. the views from the top deck are indescribable, you are on a small peninsula so you have water on 3 sides and misty mountains on the other.

One thing to keep in mind.... the hotel is VERY close to the main dining area, but the road is very steep and winding so walking is a bit nerve racking. We used the cab service to get back and forth to dinner each night, if you call a cab the price is a bit higher then just waving one, so on the way back try to save some $ by flagging one down. Its pretty easy to grab them on the way by. They do have free parking if you are traveling by car.

With regards to the bugs people mentioned, its a tropical paradise, bugs and lizards are around. The hotel has a nice open feel to it to allow the breeze to come through and a few critters could get in. If you are really put off by this type of thing a small boutique hotel - this or others like it in the area- might not be the best option.

I would go back in a second!

Room Tip: The lower numbered rooms are a bit closed to the lobby, we were in room 20-something and it was a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in the last week of December. This small boutique hotel is located about amile off the main road to Manuel Antonio. The view from the hotel is unbeleivable. We were booked into the picey Presidential Suite, which was almost like a condominium with 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, a dining room, and 2 balconies - 1 small and 1 humungous, on the top (3rd) floor.The staff especially Herbert in reception and Bert, the bartender were extremely friendly and helpful. Our deal included breakfast, lunch and drinks until 7 PM. The menu selections for breakfast and lunch were excellent and the bar served all kinds of cocktails. There is even a small swim-up bar. The best part of the hotel apart from the room, was the terrace where lunch and drinks are served, as it has an unparalleled and unobstructed view - a great place to hang out with a glass of wine or to bask in the sun. The restaurant named after Jacques Cousteau is excellent but needs a reservation and pre-ordering.
My complaint about the hotel is that it feels cramped and a little claustrophobic. Even though our room had total privacy, the pool, the terrace, etc. felt crowded. Given the location and views, it is expected, but still with the price-tag, one would wxpect more exclusivity. The other problem is that it is far from the main road, or the beach and all the activity. A taxi into town or the beach costs about 8 bucks. The hotel has a shuttle to the beach about 2-3 times a day. It takes about 15-20 mins to walk to the main road, though it is quite an uphill hike. Once on the main road, there are quite few restaurants and bars to choose from. But everything out here is expensive! It is very touristy and expensive and be prepared to dish out at least $25 pp for meals.
The Manuel Antonio Park itself is tiny, though beautiful. A 10 minute walk from the hotel lies a small hidden almost empty beach (make a right from the netrance and follow the signs downhill). Monkeys invade the hotel every morning and are a pleasant diversion.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view and balcony. Not sure that the suites are worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed at LMI for 10 nights in October, and I couldn't have been happier! The whole staff of the hotel are wonderful, and seem to be there all the time! Heriberto seemed to be there almost every time I came downstairs! He was super helpful, and helped me arrange a few tours, my favorite being the MidWorld zipline tour... so fun! The same two guys were the waiters I think every day I was there for breakfast, and they were both wonderful. By the end of my stay, they already knew what I wanted to drink and probably what I was going to order to eat! I was a little concerned that it was going to be a "honeymoon hotel" and it is to a degree, as is every hotel around, but not exclusively. And honestly, I didn't even really see any other guests except at breakfast! The way the hotel has been built on to, almost every room is almost by itself with not many neighbors, which is amazing. Make sure to plan in advance to catch the shuttle service to and from the main beach in town. And as other people have mentioned, the hotel is a 3-4 hour ride from San Jose if you don't take the flight into Quepos. I had the hotel pick me up and take me back to San Jose by car, and I really enjoyed the ride both ways. The drive back was beautiful and I got to really see a lot of the country that I would have missed!
So thanks to everyone at LMI, hopefully I'll get to visit again this fall!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review.
As we say in our hotel, Come as a guest and leave as a Friend!
We hope to see you again here in Manuel Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quipos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

An awesome place to stay. Beautiful view from our room- #7. Very comfortable bed, gorgeous setting, excellent food. Small boutique hotel. The staff is very friendly. Damien the front desk manager, is amazing and a font of information. We have travelled all over the world and give this hotel our highest recommendation. Restaurant recommendations include Kopi Kopi, La Luna in the Gaia hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at La Mansion for 5 nights in December. The staff arranged to pick us up at the airport and return us to San Jose for a very reasonable price. Our room was very comfortable, the view of the ocean is fabulous from all areas, and we felt well cared for the entire time we were there. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfasts are outstanding. My husband had some medical issues and the staff couldn't have been more helpful to us, and they are continuing to follow up for us. I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room that has comfy leather rocking chairs and a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. we hope to see you back at the hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Address: P.O. Box 380, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we warmly invite all guests who stay to leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.