We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely, this is the place to be...and its really hard to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Si Como No to your Saves list
Hotel Si Como No
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely, this is the place to be...and its really hard to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2006

I did my research on hotels in MA and honestly, we wanted to stay at the Hotel Parador, but we had a hard time communicating with them. After a week of constant agonizing emails, I decided that maybe this was a sign, so I went with our second choice (Si como no) and boy am i glad i did.
This hotel was absolutely amazing. This was the best vacation we have ever had and can't wait to go back. Since we booked only a few weeks before our arrival, the hotel was almost sold out so we ended up with a deluxe suite (room 54). The room and the view were amazing. The breakfast at the hotel (included) was awesome. They serve everything under the sun you can imagine and it was all delicious!
There are no tv's in the room and that made me hesitant, but it proved to be the best part of our vacation. Also there is a very high tech movie theater (a hollywood movie producer owns the property) that shows very current movies at night. As some of the previous reviewers said, the hotel staff is extremely attentative and can arrange about anything for you. We felt very pampered!
On a side note, we ate at the Marlin Restaurante right next to the park entrance on the beach, and it was our best meal (and so cheap)! We also ate at Ronnie's Place and that was very good too, but a little expensive. The Rico Tico (at Si Como No)was a great lunch place and everything was so fresh!
My only advice, stay longer than 3 days.... its really hard to leave!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    209
    65
    29
    18
See reviews for
268
275
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

This hotel/spa is set in the midst of a tropical forest facing the ocean far below.

The setting is breath-taking. There are two swimming pools, and one is for adults only. Both out door restaurants serve fabulous food. The staff speaks English and is courteous and cheerful.

We even saw a rare Titi monkey while eating lunch!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2006

A wonderful experience. Beautiful grounds: Set into the natural landscape. Private entrances into each room. A tantalizing view of the ocean ahead, set on a cliff overlooking the jungle with calls of Howler monkey's at sunset.

A wonderful resataurant the Rico Toco---ate there 6 straight nights: daily caught whole red snapper or Mahi Mahi. Crystal clear pools, even enjoyed the nightly movies. Manuel Antonio park is a jewel and is a 5 minute hotel shuttle. Always on time and will also take you wherever else you may need to go. All the hotels are on the main road from Quepos to the park, but Si Como No is by far the best. It is a small hotel feel with buildings scattered throughout the property, has the nicest pools and jaccuzzis, an exceptional view anywhere and the best breakfast and restaurant arround. I researched this like crazy before leaving and really did not know what to expect. The photos and websites do not do this place or hotel justice. We did visit all and the Mariposa is ok, great view but nowhere near the experience, Parador too hard to get to, Makenda nearly comparable.

I can only think that any negative comments anywhere were made by reviewers who felt the need to express a poor experience. (ie a sample bias).

We stayed the last week of January and upon leaving had 4 different employees personally seek us out to say goodbye. We choose to stay the entire week in Manuel Antonio (1st time to Costa Rica and did not want to get stretched too thin) Most people that stay a week are those that are returning. Simply sensational. I have quite a bit of travel experience around the world and found this place, setting and people to be an absolute jewel.

A few must do things include in order:
1. Manuel Antonio Park: Minimum 2 full days are needed to fully relax, explore.
2. A Canopy Tour: There are 2 major ones near Quepos. The more challenging one with 17 platforms is recommended for everyone young and old.
3. The Rainmaker: A reserve in the foothills of the moutains in the rainforest. One of the few places in the world to truly explore the rainforest canopy while hiking across suspension bridges: one as long as a football field. This is not as publicized as other attractions and it a shame.... a must see/do!

Hope this is helpful. Cannot be emphatic enough. A final bright spot is Cafe Milagro-- a cafe on the road of hotels in Manuel Antonio (200 meters from Si Como No) and a cafe/restaurant in Quepos. Reputed by locals to be one of the best eats in town---never made it to the one in Quepos b/c our restuarant was so good! But coffee is exceptional--not all good coffee is exported!

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

First, let me say the staff and the grounds of this hotel are wonderful, and the breakfast is perfect to hold you over for the entire day.

However, that being said, there were several problems that made us check out 2 nights early.

1. We had reserved a room with 1 king bed, but on arrival were told they only had rooms with 2 queen beds (which were really doubles). We finally got a room with a king bed after talking with two women who actually wanted 2 beds. We thought it was a good switch, until we got to the room which smelled like urine. After all of this, we were told that the hotel was oversold for the final night and they didn't know where they were going to put us if we didn't want the 2 doubles.
2. There were never enough chairs at the adult pool. Both afternoons we were there, we had to wait 15 minutes to get chairs.

We ended up staying at Tulemar for the last two nights which was perfect! We loved the private beach with boogie boards, kayaks and snorkeling equipment provided free of charge. And their breakfast was just as good!

All in all, we loved Costa Rica. Everyone should experience this wonderful country!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2006

We stayed at Si Como No during the "Green Season". Our weather was beautiful! We had incredible views from our room and every morning we woke to the Howler Monkey chants in the distant trees. My teenagers loved the pool and swim up bar. We enjoyed the dessert at night in the Rico Tico Bar (banana flambe). What a spectacular show, fire was everywhere -- my kids thought that it was really cool. It is not a hotel that I would take young kids to because it is built into a cliff and may be dangerous walking from building to building. The only complaint that we had was that the airconditioner beeped everytime it turned on (all night long). My husband thought that it was his pager going off and had a difficult sleeping.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

Just got back from 3 nights in a Honeymoon Suite at Si Como No. Due to some questionable reviews on this site, I almost did not book the room. That would have been a tragic mistake. This hotel gets everything right - great views, rooms, food, atmosphere - you name it. The grounds and rooms are immaculate. If there is a better hotel in Manuel Antonio, I will have to see it to believe it. I recommend this hotel to any discriminating traveler who wants a little luxury with their jungle at a superb "green" hotel.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2006

Great place to stay and I do mean stay. It had everything you wanted at your disposal. All of the staff were great, and the room was nice but missing a tv. The only tv available was in the adult pool bar. As for the two restaurants the Tico Rico was good/reasonablly priced but the other (I cannot remember its name) was overpriced and the food was not all that. The rooms are a little overpriced but I would stay there again in comparison to another place we stayed while on this vacation.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Address: Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Si Como No, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.