We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So hard to leave...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Si Como No to your Saves list
Hotel Si Como No
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So hard to leave...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Faultless. An oasis overlooking the Pacific, within very easy reach of Manuel Antonio National Park. The 2 pools, water slide, hot tub, swim-up bars and cinema were real highlights after a day on the beach. Great food, breathtaking views and a really friendly vibe.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Stephen F:

Thank you very much for your nice comment. It seems you experienced the essence of the “Pura Vida”vibe of our country, just part of what distinguishes us from so many other destinations in the world. We hope you will visit us again and will have a chance to see how Pura Vida comes to life in our Greentique sister hotels, Villa Blanca in the cloud forests above San Ramon, and our rainforest and marine destination, Aguila de Osa Inn, on the Osa Peninsula above Corcovado National Park.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    206
    65
    29
    17
See reviews for
262
271
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautifully nestled in the cliff side of Manuel Antonio, high above the beach, Si Como No embodies Eco-friendly tourism without losing its luxurious feel. Great food, good drinks, a swim up bar, and free shuttle was available to and from the beach. I only wish I had booked more days at this gem. Travelers beware, I don't think this is handicap accessible, though I don't imagine a lot of CR is!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Doc Bright:

We really appreciate your nice review! Si Como No is a member of CST (Certification of Sustainable Tourism), maintaining the highest CST rating of Five Green Leaves. Greentique Hotels has been a leader in conservation and sustainable hospitality since 1994 and we are grateful that our efforts are recognized and often embraced by so many of our guests. We hope to see you again and invite you to visit our other Greentique Hotels in Costa Rica.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Si Como No near Manuel Antonio Park, as part of our honeymoon excursion to Costa Rica. We stayed in five different places and Si Como No was the highlight as far as hotels go. It's a reflection of the glorious nature of Costa Rica and the pride Costa Ricans take in their preserving and respecting their environment. Our view was exquisite and we thought it was quite refreshing that there was no TV.
The staff was very helpful and courteous. We went for a great night hike at a wild nature reserve across the road with a very knowledgeable guide.
The restaurant -Tico Rico, I think it was called, was fantastic for vegetarians. Delicious food, reasonably priced and a great view of wildlife and water.
We are committed to going back and will also check out other Si Como No locations in Costa Rica, next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Lonkapen:

We appreciate that you included us as you start your new life together. Your recognition of our environmental efforts is also appreciated. We're glad you got to experience the Greentique Hotels brand of sustainable hospitality, something we think is a very unique level of respect for all the life forms of the tropical forest and of our surrounding human communities. We hope to see you and your husband again in the near future.


Warm regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at Si Como No in July and it was a great place to stay while visiting Manuel Antonio. The rooms were clean and had a great view. The buffet breakfast was good and the pool and slide were great. My 11 year old granddaughter loved the slide. The spa was excellent and we enjoyed a movie one night. The Howler monkeys were so interesting to watch from the pool area and an iguana also hung around sunning. Si Como No was great!!!

Room Tip: We had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Gigi9341:

Thank you very much for choosing Si Como No and for the nice review. Delivering exceptional Costa Rican experiences that are family friendly is a big part of our commitment to make it easy and affordable to visit the areas in Costa Rica where Greentique Hotels operate. We hope you and your family can come back and enjoy Villa Blanca, our cloud forest hotel on the way to Arenal Volcano, and Aguila de Osa, our hotel in the rain forest located on the Osa Peninsula, just above Corcovado National Park.

Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My Fiance and I spent 3 nights at Si Como No hotel, apart of a 6 night vacation we found on groupon. We drove our rental car from Arenal volcano to the hotel, which was about a 5 hour drive. The roads south of La Fortuna / Arenal Volcano are narrow, windy and slow roads, so once you get closer to San Jose the trip speeds up dramatically. We decided to drive as close to the pacific coast and stopped for lunch in Jaco. Jaco is about 1 1/2 hours from Manuel Antonio and is right on the beach.

The inital room we were put in at Si Como No was directly next to the front desk, and we felt like people on the observation deck could see in our room, so we asked to be moved. This was no problem at all for the staff to fix. They actually moved us to a much more secluded room that had an amazing view of the ocean landscape.

My fiance and I booked the excursions with the front desk receptionist the day we got to the hotel and had no problems getting a spot on an excursion. The first day we did the catamaran cruise, which was great fun. Thankfully the weather held up for us all day since it rained pretty much every other day and night we were in Costa Rica. (July is a rainy season). The views from the catamaran were really picturesque so bring a camera. The boat takes you to a spot for snorkeling, but we decided not to since it had been raining making the water a little murky for fish finding. However, we did enjoy the slides off the boat and the diving deck. The tour includes lunch, 4 mixed drinks, and 4 beers, or 8 of one choice. The food was really good, authentic Costa Rican dish. Some people looked like they got sea sick, so if you get motion sickness easy it might not be the best thing to do. After we got back from the Catamaran tour we did the Night walk in the wild life refuge across the street from the hotel. My fiance was able to get alot of really great pictures, and we saw lots of wildlife; 4 types of frogs, snakes, Iguanas, crocodiles, alligators, turtles and others.

The second days excursion we went on an ATV tour. The guide was awesome, and realized i knew what i was doing and let me go at the back so i could push the limits a little more than the rest of the group. The trails were great fun, but be prepared to get wet. It rained on the tour and there was alot of mud and water holes to ride through.

The beach is about 3 miles from the hotel, and there are plenty shops and restaurants. The food wasnt overly impressive for the price at the hotel, but there are plenty of choices elsewhere in a short walking distance.

Overall the view really made this hotel worth staying at.

Room Tip: Further away from the front desk the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear ewillson10:

We are delighted that you and your fiancee stayed with us at Si Como No and took advantage of the great tours and activities in the area. It was certainly our pleasure to arrange the tours, as well as move you into a room that was everything you expected. We pride ourselves on responsiveness to our guests at all three of our Greentique Hotels, so it helps tremendously to hear from you on the spot, so we can meet your needs immediately. We would very much like to know more about your thoughts and ideas regarding the food, so if possible, would you please drop me an email and let me know some specifics, which I will gladly share with our management team. Hopefully you will visit us again soon, and when you do, we'd be delighted to arrange a complimentary dinner for you and the person who we expect will be your new husband the next time we see you! Our best wishes to you both.

Warm regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

In June, my husband and I stayed at Si Como No for our third time. We always go in mid-June with our two dear friends in order to celebrate both of our wedding anniversaries and two birthdays. What an excellent place to celebrate life.

We arrived and found one of us had lost a vital medication. The receptionists directed us to a pharmacy in Quespos and then helped us with phone calls back and forth. Within a day, we had the pills we needed. One example of the type of helpful personnel at the resort.

There were several changes to the resort since our last visit, all positive
and bigger. We especially enjoyed the adult pool since we were able to have quiet talks and do our daily exercises without interruptions and use the handy poolside bar.

Our bedroom was large with a beautiful view, a comfortable bed, and plenty of room for clothes and "stuff." What a shower! Plants on a shelf, clothesline for wet swimsuits, and an eco shampoo and lotion dispenser. It was grand.

We ate most of our meals in the two restaurants since they had so many choices and the food was very well prepared. I especially loved having breakfast at Rico Tico. I could easily become addicted to the fresh fruit and juices and also the excellent omelets made by a cheerful, happy chef. All the waiters were very helpful and made dining a lot of fun.

We usually have some problems managing staircases especially since one of us had a hard fall a few days before our visit. But, it was nice to go slowly because every space was filled with beautiful flora and interesting twists and turns along the paths. Very pretty. We loved the quiet jungle atmosphere.

The Vanilla Plantation with a guide who enjoyed naming all the plants and a visit to see the butterflies across the street were both very interesting and delightful.

We are hoping to get back to Si Como No again. Everyone was very helpful. There was one employee who must have been a "golden gofer" because every time we saw him on the path, he was carrying large bundles of linen, etc. and every time he had a large sweet smile and stopped to greet us. Who knew there were Costa Rican leprechauns.

One suggestion would be to have a Si Como No airline with a direct route from Tucson to Costa Rica. Otherwise, keep up the good work and we hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Dawn S:

We are thrilled to have received such an amazing review. The staff was very proud and grateful when they read it. And with the recent Southwest/AirTran merger, it may be just a matter of time before there's a direct Tucson to San Jose flight! We'd gladly create the Si Como No theme plane. Please come back and see us again soon.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a great stay at Si Como No! The views were beautiful, everyone was very nice and helpful, and there were even iguanas at breakfast (and monkeys, if you keep your eyes open). The adults only pool is a definite bonus. The room was really nice, with a great balcony. No tvs in the rooms, but there is so much to do that it does't matter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Ilana W:

We are glad you got to experience our brand of sustainable hospitality. Monkeys are regulars around Si Como No, and clearly love entertaining us all. The hotel's award-winning architectural design was quite purposeful in its preservation of the jungle covered hillsides that rise up from the Pacific shoreline below us. This alignment with the terrain makes it easier for the animals to safely pass back and forth between us and nearby Manuel Antonio National Park. We agree with your comment about the TVs. We knew 20 years ago when we opened Si Como No, that there are so many exceptional experiences that people might otherwise miss if they were glued to a TV set in the room. But there is a private movie theater, plus free WIFI, so all our guests can keep in touch and send their pictures to friends and family. There are also big screen TVs in the Magotes Pool Bar in the hotel's adult section — so no one needs to miss a big game! We hope you'll be back again at Si Como No, and have a chance to see the unique wildlife at our other Greentique Hotels in Costa Rica. Thanks for staying with us.

Best regards

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Address: Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Si Como No, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.