We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Si Como No to your Saves list
Hotel Si Como No
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Madison, NJ
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We lived Si Como No. From the water slide to the nightly move theater, lots of reasons to like this place. It is very beautifully built into the mountain so that it blends in with the vegetation grounds are well kept and the family pool, pool bar, restaurant are is beautiful and well maintained. It is centrally located near some great restaurants too. The rooms were very nice. We were all upgraded to Deluxe rooms with amazing views of the cost and small islands off the coast (it was off season). We even had visits from titi monkeys on our deck a couple of times, close enough to touch them.

The hotel concierge helped us arrange a few activities, but we knew what we wanted to do and which companies we wanted to use mostly. The bar and restaurant staffs were great and our room was always kept very clean. Contrary to another review i read, we thought the daily breakfast was one of the best in the country at this level resort. The made to order eggs/omelets and French toast, pancakes, bacon and fresh fruit, juices and pastries were good.

We would recommend this resort very much.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the coast away from the family pool would be best. We were in rooms 17 and 18...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Rob_Madison_NJ:

What a thoughtful review, thank you. We appreciate that you took the time to share your Si Como No experience, and that you enjoyed the breakfast at Rico Tico. We strive to create a unique and exceptional Costa Rica experience for each of our guests and their families every day of their stay with us. Our resort is shaped around what you want to do, and our staff is there to help in every way possible. We look forward to your next visit and the chance to host you again at SI Como No. When planning your next trip, be sure to check out our sister Greentique Hotels, Villa Blanca and Aguila de Osa. The same great service, great food, and amazing experiences await you in these cloud forest and rainforest destinations.


Best regards,

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager,
Si Como No
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    208
    65
    29
    18
See reviews for
265
275
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place draws up back time and again. The views, the rooms, the friendly staff, all combine to make our visits unforgettable, especially for celebrating special occasions in our lives. This was our 4th trip with another couple over a span of 2 decades. Both our rooms were terrific; clean and fully stocked with reasonably priced goodies to eat and drink. The panoramic views vary slightly from room to room and are all spectacular whether you are on your patio or inside.

The fresh fruits and juices at breakfast accompanied by made-to-order omelets (or any number of other yummy choices) and great Costa Rican coffee started our days off well. Although we at mostly the great food served at SCN’s 2 restaurants, we did amble down the road a few times to explore the cuisine at a few of the many nearby establishments.

Don't miss a walk in the butterfly garden across the street-it is magical; butterfly eggs are collected and propagated to share with other facilities for education and sustainablity. Took a day trip to the vanilla plantation and that was a treat that will go on sharing in our cooking at home since we brought home some wonderful products. We also loved the free shuttle to the beach, the sea-side shops, and Manuel Antonio.

We enjoyed the adult pool every day then returned to our room and that wonderfully spacious shower. The hotel was pretty full when we were there, but it was peaceful and well run. We saw and heard nothing but good things from all visitors who were from all over the world. Prior to arriving at SCN, we stayed a few nights at another green hotel, Villa Blanca, and enjoyed an entirely different view of Costa Rica in the cloud forest. We recommend you plan to do the same!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear June S:

Few things are as rewarding as notes of appreciation from repeat guests to SI Como No. At four visits, you are truly a member of the Greentique family. It's extremely important to us to hear that the quality and exceptional Costa Rican hospitality that we train ourselves to deliver, continues to delight guests who have been with us over the years. Guest satisfaction is everything in this business and we thank you for acknowledging that we helped make your latest trip so memorable. We're also delighted that you stayed at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, our Greentique sister property above San Ramon. A hotel located in a private cloud forest reserve is a truly unique Costa Rica experience, something that we're sure will not soon be forgotten. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,


Jim Damalas
CEO/General Manager
Greentique Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston,NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The view were spectacular, the location idea. Wonderful place to stay if you're in the area. Would definitely recommend it. Not a factory hotel, like a Marriott, but a wonderful boutique place. Great breakfast included in the room.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the place immensely. The pool was awesome, loved the adult pool as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Bkfern:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Si Como No. As the flagship of Greentique Hotels, Si Como No shares the commitment with Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, and Aguila De Osa Inn, to deliver an exceptional Costa Rica experience. That you recognize your stay with us as not being a "factory hotel" experience, is welcomed confirmation that we are achieving our goals. We look to connect all our guests at each of our hotels, with the magic of nature unique to each location, as well as to the warmth of a caring, well-trained staff who call the surrounding towns and villages their homes. We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This was the hotel recommended by my wedding planner larissa banting for my wedding and where my family and guests stayed. The ceremony site overlooked the ocean under a white silk canopy . This view made my pictures incredible and I can't tell you enough how happy we are we choose sicomono to host these very special events. Sicomono truly encompasses the feeling of Costa Rica while providing all the amenities of a luxury hotel. We also hosted our all white welcome party here. Food was great and staff was extremely accommodating. Finally, the tour of Santa Juana with my guests was the highlight of our trip. The mountain views, the majestic waterfalls and riding an all white horse with my husband was like a fairy take come true ! They also have a nature preserve with crocodiles and butterfly garden and the most beautiful pool I've ever seen. My nephew loved the slide one of the pools and must have went down it over 30 times! Everyone from my guests with kids to those seeking romance found what they needed at sicomono .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Jrosemodels,

What can we say but GRACIAS for allowing us to host your wedding at Si Como No! When I met your father and aunt, I personally assured them that we would deliver for all of you the magic of nature and the good natured hospitality that have become our hallmark. Choosing us for your wedding and holiday vacation for your family and friends means a lot to us. You were not only a beautiful couple on the outside, but beautiful as well on the inside, something you demonstrated on the Santa Juana Tour. In supporting the families at Santa Juana that hosted you, you left behind a legacy of 24 trees your adopted to celebrate your marriage. May these native trees grow along with you and husband in the years come. We hope you'll return to visit us so we can see how things are growing family-wise for you in the years ahead. We send you a heartfelt "Pura Vida," from all of us at Si Como No, the people of the village of Santa Juana, and the entire Greentique Hotels family.

Warmest regards,

Jim Damalas
CEO/General Manager
Greentique Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Hotel was amazing with gorgeous views, the staff were very friendly and accommodating.
A very cozy and fun place to stay for all ages. A good location on the strip, close to all good bars and restaurants. The only thing that I think they need to work on, is the quality of their daily breakfasts, other than that, everything else was great. I would definitely recommend them to others.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Gorgeous2013:

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Si Como No with the readers of Trip Advisor. Although most guests seem to enjoy our breakfast buffet, we regret we did not meet your expectations. We hope you'll drop us a line to let us know the nature of your concern — was it quality or menu selection/choices? We take seriously any comments where we have not met our guests' expectations and look to improve where ever possible. As it appears the rest of your stay was to very much to your liking, we hope you'll return to stay with us again. When you do, we'll be happy to treat you and your family to lunch at Rico Tico.
Regards,
Dennys Quiros
Operations ,anager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Si Como No Hotel exceeded our expectations. We were first time visitors travelling with our 5 year old. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Hilda and Raphael at the front desk, entire crew in the Rico Tico restaurant, everyone we encountered. We were in room 55 and the view is stunning. It is a hike to and from the room, but it is worth every stair you have to climb. Yes there are bugs, but you are sleeping in the rain forest. Our room was kept spotless. Family pool is a lot of fun- be sure to meet 'Whiskey'. Movie night is fun. There was an iron and blow dryer available. I love this hotel and this country. We're already planning our return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Lmcmahon821:

Thank you for sharing your positive review of your recent stay with us. We are happy you recognise what so many other reviews and hotel guest surveys continue to value about the Magic of Nature and good natured staff that are at the core of our brand of sustainable hospitality. We hope you will consider our invitation to return again soon and include the other members of Greentique Hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, and in San Ramon at the Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve.
best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Hotel Si Como No was a terrible choice of hotel. The staff were EXTREMELY unfriendly. They took so long to do everything and they were all very arrogant and snobbish. The rooms were average. We paid close to $400 a night and the rooms were of VERY poor standard. There were a lot of mosquitos in the room even when we shut the door at night. The breakfast is poor, the food isn't fresh. There are MUCH nicer hotels in Manuel Antonio so if you can, don't waste your money on this place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Fi S

We were quite surprised by your review of Si Como No, as we simply have never seen this level of dissatisfaction from any guest in our 20 years of operations. Then we weren't so surprised, as we could find no record of your stay — no family of travelers or individuals from Singapore; not in July or any other month this year. As policy, we review all guest cards each week, log all guest issues when any concern is raised by our guests, and we make right anything that is not to our guests' satisfaction, on the spot. But again, we found nothing from anyone from Singapore. Now, we're not saying you didn't stay here . . . but if we're mistaken, please send us a copy of your bill from this hotel, Si Como No. We'll adjust it and publish the action we took right here on TripAdvisor, so that everyone else can see that too.

Jim Damalas
CEO/Greentique Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Address: Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Si Como No, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.