We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views, Friendly Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Si Como No to your Saves list
Hotel Si Como No
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Views, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotel Si Como No was a hotel with good views, a sweeping panoramic view from its lobby. We were lucky our hotel room had similar views off it's private porch.

The room was spacious, having a sitting area and separate bedroom area. The bed was super soft and comfortable, while being large enough to fully sprawl out in for two adults. It was probably the best sleep we got all vacation.

The bathroom was clean and nice, but nothing particularly special.

Their restaurant, Rico Tico, offers a good breakfast with fruit, pancakes, french toast, bacon and typical Costa Rican breakfast of rice and eggs however you'd like them. The view is beautiful and service friendly.

Pools were nice, with built in bars that also offered food service. They shared a fantastic view of the beach. Be warned, they have a resident black spiny iguana. It surprised a number of kids. Don't worry though, she's not aggressive.

The one thing we noted - this hotel was MUCH further from the beach than we were led to believe based on information provided. There is NO walk to the beach. The hotel offers shuttle service, but I wouldn't want to rely on it. It can be a bit unpredictable with long times between runs.

The WIFI service is also spotty at best. There are computer in the lobby if you need to check on reservations or contact services, but you won't be able to get it in your room or porch. No TV in the room either, so there's not much going on at night unless you take a cab into Quepos ($6-8).

It's worth it to go into Quepos, there are hotels with good food at a fraction of the cost and some local nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sara V:

We were pleased you found the resort overall to be to your liking. The reason that the vast majority of hotels are purposely on the ocean ridge is for airflow, lack of insects, and to maximize the panoramic ocean and jungle views while offering regularly scheduled complimentary beach shuttles for the 10 minute commute plus reasonable public transportation options. We were not surprised that you found other hotels in town with bargain menus. However we do operate our restaurants with experienced chefs utilizing quality products, meeting international standards of hygiene and service earning a Trip Advisor Award for Excellence for 2013. We want to apologize that our complimentary Wi Fi was down, but our maintenance report confirmed we were able to repair the transmitter once we were advised it was not working properly.

Sincerely,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    208
    65
    29
    18
See reviews for
266
275
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Considering all the accolades, I guess my expectations were a bit high, so keep that in mind. Plus just having coming from a cheaper and nicer resort in Arenal, it was hard to be over-excited about this property. We found the staff to be polite and helpful. Much is written about how perfectly the hotel fits in with the nature surrounding it. The rooms are in concrete square buildings with spartan, paint-chipped metal railings guarding the balconies. The whole place looked dated and in need of a makeover. The bathroom fixtures were barely functional. The beds were very comfortable though. On the plus side, the grounds are lush and tropical and the view from our balcony was awesome. The food in the restaurants was quite good and the breakfast buffet was awesome. If I were returning, this place would certainly be acceptable, but I would probably look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Snoozedoctor
We appreciate that you found our hospitality, including most of our customer accolades to your liking. Most comments, even after 20 years in operation, acknowledge how gracefully the report has aged and blended into the environment. However I appreciate your critique of the structural features and thought some context might be helpful. In construction, our goal is always a combination of sustainability as well as structural integrity. We are committed to both green operational practices in our choices of building materials in our structural design, and guest safety from an engineering standpoint. Our approach has allowed us to exceed earthquake standards on several well-distributed and carefully positioned foundations located within the natural jungle terraces, keeping in mind the use of the minimum amount of lumber materials in construction for both durability against jungle elements as well as to conserve the forest that are part of our sustainable policies. I personally visited your room regarding the fixture and do agree that the shower spigot was loose. We took care of it and we certainly would have done so sooner had it been brought to out attention during your stay. There will always be maintenance issues at any property, again considering the extreme environmental conditions in a tropical jungle environment. We appreciate your observations about painting and there is a regular schedule of cosmetic maintenance. Sometimes we are ahead of it, and sometimes we play catch up against Mother Nature. But we aways get to it. I understand that these things translate into value judgement, and guest feedback like yours is part of what helps us to stay actively engaged in continuous improvement of the guest experience. Thank you four staying with us and for also pointing out the many positive values you did appreciate.
Best regards
Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Si Como No, our travel company booked a standard room but the hotel offered us an upgrade once we arrived. The view from the room was stunning. There are no TVs in the rooms while I enjoy watching tv we didn't miss it. WiFi works well throughout the hotel. Breakfast was included, they offered omelets and pretty much what the other hotels offer, fresh fruit and fried sweet plantains were great. Some reviewers complained about bugs but the hotel is described as a wildlife refuge and is surrounded by trees and wildlife, some small bugs are to be expected, just be sure to keep your doors closed. The pool was beautiful but very cold. Drinks at the adult pool bar were great, I don't like very sweet drinks so I decided to try the guaro sour and loved it. The seafood restaurant has good food but was expensive. They also have Tico Bar with more reasonable prices. I found that in most restaurants in Costa Rica food prices were the same as in the US and most already include a 10% tip, for good service I usually added extra tip. The hotel offers a shuttle to nearby beach, there is also a bus stop next to the hotel for the public bus. We decided to drive, parking was easy to find since we went during the green season. We prefer pool to the beach but found water was warm and there were many options for beach activities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Gis0610:

Greetings from Manuel Antonio Beach and thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjed our Resort facilities and thank you for the tip on the bugs. As a Certified Sustainable property, we are unable to use strong chemicals in order not to damage the natural hábitat of the Flora & Fauna that surround us, so our guests , just like you, “Enjoy the Magic of Nature”. Fortunately the vast majority of the insects who share our habitat are harmless and provide the natural food sources for the many bird and mammal species that a part of our resort.
We look forward to have you & your family as repeat guests and hopefully include our sister hotels, near Corcovado National Park and San Ramon, that are also members of Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

My and I stayed 3 nights at Si Como No and everything was excellent! Cleanliness, courtesy, comfort and cuisine were all great. It was the only place on our 10 day trip that we actuallly spent the entire day at the resort. Highlly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear 2esetters:
Thank you very much for taking the time and share your experience at Si Como No! We hope to see you back with us again soon or with our other members of Greentique Hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

First let me note that what my husband (Drew Colenbrander) and I most appreciate is the environmental ethic of Si Como No. We adore that it is a wildlife refuge as well as a gorgeous hotel where the vast majority of the property is reserved for the fauna and flora.

But we adored our room. When the awesome Sandra checked us into room 35, we were on cloud nine. We had a large balcony with an amazing view. When we would go to other places for dinner, noted for the view, we would always note, our view is better. At night there were no lights below the buildings of the hotel, all the way to the inaccessible beach. That area is for the wildlife. The breakfast buffet was astounding. We adored the two swim up bars at happy hour (4-6:00 pm).

One negative: there is a surliness in some of the male staff. We had a very unpleasant bartender at the pool at the restaurant. My husband wanted to pay cash that evening (May 8) and he seemed to see this as proof we weren't staying there. He had a very unpleasant conversation with a fellow waiter right in front of us. At breakfast, male servers were more interested in joking with each other and reading the paper than waiting on the guests.

But the ladies were awesome, whether Sandra, etc. at the front desk, or those who made the omelets or took care of our room. And Jasmine at the adult only pool was professional and efficient. And let me note, the guy who took us to our room when we checked in was wonderful.

In closing, we can't wait to stay at Si Como No again. It has now one of our favorite hotels in the world.

Overall, this was

Room Tip: Enjoy the swim up bars at happy hour! Start for a fun swim with the slides and waterfalls at the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sewiley:

We truly appreciate your recognition of our dedication to conservation and that you plan to return again. You can be assured the first thing we did was meet with our Food and Beverage Manager and Captains of the Wait Staff regarding your observation of service. Although we are accustomed to receiving very encouraging reports regarding all our resort staff, including our waiters, it's obvious we failed to be consistent in your particular experience. We wish to apologise and trust that when you return again to enjoy "one of your favourite hotels in the world", you will find that your experience will be as professional and hospitable on EVERY level as the reputation we are known for over the many years of delivering our brand of sustainable hospitality we're known for. Be assured your next meal will be on us next time we are fortunate too host you at Si Como No and hope you will include our other Greentique hotels at Villa Blanca and Aguila de Osa here in Costa Rica.

Sincerely,

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a deluxe room. The views were amazing and the room was clean. The second bed was a pull out, so not super comfortable. We absolutely loved the pools and swim up bars. Really enjoyed the breakfast, which had something for everyone. Thought the staff was friendly and efficient. We booked four "tours" with the hotel, which were all excellent. Very conveniently located to several restaurants and there is a shuttle that goes back and forth to the beach. We saw two movies in the on site theater, which was really fun. My family, including two teenagers, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Shelley H:

Greetings from Manuel Antonio beach!! We thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed our amenities an our own brand of “The Magic of Nature!!” One of our main goals is for families is to enhance their vacation time together. After reading your review we feel we met and perhaps exceeded our goal, along with the exceptional and friendly Costa Rican experiences in the resort and with many tours & activities that you enjoyed. We look forward to have you & your family as repeat guests and hopefully include our sister hotels, near Corcovado National Park and San Ramon, that are also members of Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I love this hotel, it was friendly, welcoming, no bug issues...just a little baby gecko in the room on one occasion. They pour a good drink and are in good walking distance from a bunch of good local restaurants and bars (Don't miss out on El Avion, A Nicaraguan Contra Affair C-123 that is now a bar). The shuttle service to the national park and public beach is excellent and timely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear BritaYank:
Thank you very much for taking the time and share your very positive experience at Si Como No! We hope to see you back with us again soon or with our other members of Greentique Hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Address: Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Si Como No, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.