We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeah to nature, thumbs down to no internet service in our room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Save Saved
You added Hotel Si Como No to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
4 x 3
Merrick, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yeah to nature, thumbs down to no internet service in our room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I dont know how the other hotels in the area are, but you are literally on a hill. You feel like you are in a jungle. You hear the monkeys in the AM. and you might see them from your room or pool. Also saw iguanas, and giant guinea pig (dont know name). Keep in mind bc its on a hill, you may have a lot of climbing to do. Rooms 38 & 39 are the furthest from lobby. I dont know if that was the reason there was no internet in those rooms or wether this is a problem throughout. I was traveling w teenagers, and they were upset there was no TV in the room. BIG PLUS; shuttle to M.A. beach, movies shown at night of which we enjoyed all 3 nights, adult pool, they let you take beach towels to beach and they have a nice butterfly garden. WISH LIST: internet in room, tv, and wish hotel was on the beach. I thought restaurant was prcey and food was avrge.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Eastbay2:
Thank you for your positive feedback and we appreciate your opinions on the Cons as well. Although we've never featured a TV in our resort, we do have satellite TV in the pool bar and restaurant and Satellite Special Programing in the private THX movie theater. Fortunately with 30 adventure activities offered, including our own 12 Ha. Private Wildlife Refuge, with Interactive Butterfly Gardens, Crocodile Lagoons, and Jungle Night Tours , we seem to provide plenty of activities to choose from. We apologize that WIFI was not up to speck, but always available in public areas and most rooms balconies that varies with signal strength due to our jungle topography and architecture but we continue to refine the coverage. Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to have you once again as our guest with any member property of Greentique Hotels.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    198
    64
    29
    17
See reviews for
241
260
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were booked into this hotel by a travel agent. Not what we were expecting, and since we were booked for 4 nights, we really wanted out of our reservation. They offered to upgrade us at no cost. After a little negotiating, the management graciously allowed a full refund. Nothing wrong with the hotel, it was just different than our expectations. Staff was friendly, food was fine. We were just expecting a 5 star resort. The real error was with our agent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Steve L:
We're sorry your agent did not match you with your expectations, but we're glad you felt there was nothing wrong with our resort. We never promote ourselves as a "five star" resort nor do our rates reflect those higher price tags. Thank you for recognizing our efforts and friendly hospitality that many of our guests believe is about the exceptional Costa Rica experiences we continue to offer as "five star" values that often exceed customer expectations.
Sincerely,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our four night stay at this hotel. Our room was #26, which was on the road side of the building we were in, but the bathroom, fridge / coffee area was between us and the road we did not hear anything. From our balcony, we had a view of the Pacific Ocean, plus greenery in between. The buildings with the rooms are all bathed in trees. Our room was very clean and very comfortable.
Service was excellent; the staff were first class in every respect.
Make sure you go to the adjoining nature reserve, part of the Si Como No complex, enjoy the butterfly garden, and be certain to enjoy the wonderful two hour night hike.
Food in the restaurants was very good. Wine is pricey but that is true of most places in this area.
Most important: We would most definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Since our room was closest to the road, we should have had a problem with noise. We did not. From wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear TKcarter
Thank you very much for your encouraging comments and we trust that the rest of your vacation in Costa Rica was enjoyable. We hope you will consider returning again to experience more of our sustainable brands of Greentique Hospitality at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel in San Ramon. We also invite you to include Aguila de Osa Inn located in Drake Bay near Corcovado National Park, and it both cases just let us know so we can have the opportunity to thank you in person.
Best regards,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay at Si Como No after travelling down from the Arenal area. We are a family of four with two boys aged 11 and 13 and every one of us had a great time at this hotel for a number of reasons. Firstly the rooms, I’d read a few less positive reviews and was feeling a bit skeptical before we arrived but our room was just lovely. We had opted for the suite not the honeymoon suite but the one down from that and it was large with a huge bathroom and lovely balcony with a view to die for!! There was a great area for making coffee etc and a fridge and plenty of space for all the bags we had brought with us. The staff we all friendly and efficient and a special thank you to Omar who worked in the bar as he was both charming and professional. The main restaurant had a swim up bar from the family pool which incidentally is great for the kids with a slide that kept them entertained when we were not out doing things. The breakfast was lovely and varied and the evening meals were also very good of a high standard and a reasonable price we ate there three nights out of the five we stayed. You just have to try the flambé bananas the floor show is quite unbelievable, i wont say any more about this for fear of spoiling the surprise but it must be tried!! From the hotel you can walk to a number of restaurants if you come out of the hotel and turn right towards Manual Antonio you will come across a restaurant with a full size plane inside it i think it was called Le Avion but the food is great and the views lovely. Just down from that is an amazing pizza place not your normal pizza experience the chef makes the pizzas in front of you and then cooks them in an large food burning stove. The seats are mainly rocking chairs so this makes for a relaxing experience and the place is extremely popular! Next door to the plane restaurant is another must do if you like coffee.... There is a guy called Michael who has a coffee roasting shop there and has lots of varieties of coffee to taste and buy at very reasonable prices and its very educational too! While we were there we did a few trips, we had done a white water rafting trip whilst in Arenal which had been extremely well organised and enjoyable so we booked another with the hotel and to be fair the experience as a whole was amazing as the scenery was just incredible and we stopped at a fantastic water fall which otherwise would have been inaccessible, the staff were all very nice but our raft guide was determined that we were all going to have "fun" i think because we had two boys and at one point flipped out raft completely over sending us all flying out. He tried this on a few occasions so in the end we had to say sorry but no more as my husband get flipped out a second time and went under the raft and actually lost his wedding ring which was a little upsetting! The hotel has its own nature reserve so we did a night walk which was great seeing all the frogs etc and we also had free access to the butterfly area which is worth a look. We did a guide tour down to Manual reserve again very worth while and saw sloths, howler monkeys and many many more animals great! The beach is incredibly beautiful so we stayed there for a couple of hours one day. We spent two afternoons on the public beach at Manual Antonio and hired sun beds and parasols in total 8$ all day which were essential as the temperature was late into the 30's. There are a couple of guys we provide a beach service from the restaurants across the road and we had lunch twice, use Michael he has a bit of Mohawk hair style but the food was good and he is a lovely guy. The boys hired body boards for 5$ for two hours and there is parasailing, surf school and jet skis not to mention horse riding on the beach etc but all done in a tasteful non tacky way! just excellent.... We did a catamaran trip on valentine’s day in the afternoon again organised by the hotel and this was an amazing trip highly recommended... it had two slides on the back of the boat and an area you can jump from if you are brave enough about 24ft/7m high. You watch the sunset go down it is very romantic and the scenery is stunning and tones of free drinks and food and even cold tubs on the boat to cool you down. It is a bit of a party boat but thats fine great fun was had by all.....
Back to the hotel....The hotel offers a free shuttle service back and forth tot he beach but if you dont want to wait it is only 6$ for a taxi to very cheap. On numerous occasions we saw trops of monkeys just feet away from us by the pool and even baby monkeys on there backs. You could hear howler monkeys in the distance too and many other animals on the pathways. This is a hillside hotel and obviously there a few steps but nothing too terrible so dont let that put you off. It is not a 5 star Ritz style hotel however it is a smart and well positioned hotel. You can get towel for the pool right from the pool and towels for both trips and the beach from reception so what more could you want from a hotel really! Definitely recommended...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Sara M:
I believe we could not describe better our brand of hospitality we've described as part of the “The Magic of Nature”. It gives us great satisfaction that we were able to deliver the exceptional Costa Rica experiences that Greentique Hotels are all about. We appreciate your time to share your experience on this platform and we hope to have you again as our guests perhaps back with us in Manuel Antonio or with our sister hotels in the Cloud Forest of Villa Blanca or the Peninsula de Osa at Aguila de Osa Inn.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. Had a very nice room (#3), AC, no tv, beautiful view of the ocean. The keys do come with a ridiculous large wooden fish attached, but you can take them off the ring and carry normally. Both places to eat were very good, drinks were a little watered down. Adult Pool was very nice, swim up bar, waterfall, places to sun. We stayed the opposite side of property from pool and it was a very short walk. Did hear howler monkeys, but was disappointed to never see any. They say they come up there in the afternoons. Nice place to relax, within walking distance to several good eating places, too far for us to walk to beach. They have regular van service to beach, good schedule for departing and pick up times. Taxi fare only a couple of bucks from there to beach or town. If you go to beach, try para-sailing, was a blast. Also, you can go to end of street, pay a few dollars to go on to the Manuel Antonio reserve beach, much nicer, and you can even walk a short path to the other side of the jungle and ocean where they filmed Jurassic Park!

Room Tip: View from rooms is good, ours was #3. It was an upper room in the building, I would request that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Bruce_Lori:

Greetings from sunny Manuel Antonio Beach ! We are glad that we became a very important part of your vacation. We appreciate you recognition of our mission to deliver our concept of “Pura Vida “ hospitality with our friendly resort staff and hope to see you back with us again soon or perhaps with our other Greentique Hotels.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The best at this hotel: Stunning views from the rooms, restaurant & pools; gorgeous grounds and pools (appreciated the adult pool and swim-up bar); friendly staff & concierge to help w/tours etc. We enjoyed bountiful breakfasts each morning, with made-to-order-omelets, juices, fresh fruit, yogurt and baked goods. The table-side Bananas Flambe is a must if you have a special occasion. On a five night stay, we walked to several terrific neighborhood restaurants, for variety beyond the hotel's standard fare. They show a movie each night in a comfortable viewing theater. Be sure to visit the delightful butterfly garden across the street - complimentary for guests. We took advantage of a five-nights-for-four promotion, which made the nightly rate more reasonable.
Wishlist for improvements: Extend WiFi to guest rooms, upgrade shower heads, add comfy chairs to the guest rooms. Wipe room tables and windows daily, as needed.

Room Tip: Ask for room on a lower tier, to minimize road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Cecilia M:
Greetings from Manuel Antonio Beach! Thank you very much for your positive comments and valuable suggestions as we always strive to improve every facet of our hospitality. We are pleased that you took advantage of our Resort Special and that your experience in our restaurants and with our staff enhanced your Costa Rican experience.
As part of our Five Green Leaf sustainable certification, we have water saving shower heads in our efforts to conserve our valuable water resources, and just recently free WIFI became available in our deluxe suites besides all the public areas throughout the resort for the convenience of our guests.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved our two days at Hotel Si Como No. Our room was gorgeous with one of the best views ever. Breakfast was terrific. Loved having an adult pool AND a kid pool. Just wish i had taken the time to try out the slide at the kids'pool! My only regret about our stay. Very expensive but worth it!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Address: Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Si Como No, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.