We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Si Como No to your Saves list
Hotel Si Como No
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour visit to Manuel Antonio. The sunsets are beautiful. Te property is well kept. There are a lot of steps from the rooms to the restaurant and pool and then to reception. But the exercise will do u some good. : )

Room Tip: Get an upper room with balcony facing the ocean for great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Jetset27:
Thank you very much for your comments. It's true that the architectural designs of the resort facilities were built on natural jungle terraces positioned to both preserve the surrounding Rain Forest and take advantage of the fantastic ocean vistas that you described. Were glad you saw the merits of some exercise for the rewards of staying at our resort.
We hope to see you back with us again soon or with our other members of Greentique Hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    231
    66
    29
    18
See reviews for
301
309
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Si Como No for 2 nights towards the end of our vacation in the Manuel Antonio area. Its important to note that if we had not stayed at Arenas del Mar resort prior to our stay here, we may have been more impressed. This was definitely once step down from Arenas del Mar. Overall Si Como No was a nice resort...

Location - we enjoyed the location of the resort because we could walk to some restaurants and bars. The nearby public bus stop was cheap and very convenient. Sitting high on the hillside, the view of the ocean was beautiful. Unfortunately we did not like the fact that it was necessary to take a shuttle or the bus to the beach (we had been spoiled by the Arenas del Mar beach), but fortunately it was not very far. Unlike Arenas where you are escorted around via a golf cart, this resort is all walking and steps.

Amenities - after reading other reviews, we requested a room close to the adult pool. We were told none were available, then we asked again and were upgraded and put near the pool. I am so glad we pushed for a closer room because some of the rooms required quite a hike! The ocean view from our balcony was spectacular, the room was nice and spacious. The best part of the resort was the adult pool and the swim-up bar! We did not have this at Arenas del Mar so it was a nice treat. The pool was refreshing, clean, with plenty of lounge chairs.

Food - we ate at both Rico Tico and Claro Que Si...absolutely delicious and convenient! We really loved being able to order appetizers from the Rico Tico menu right from the pool bar. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and absolutes delicious. So many items to choose from, we always left stuffed!

Drinks - happy hour was from 4-6p and there were 2-for-1 beer specials throughout the day. The prices were good and all the cocktails were delicious. You will notice that all places the bartenders measure each shot so drinks are not strong, apparently they are regulated quite heavily re this. I would bring a soft-sided cooler next time so that we could purchase our own beer and bring it to the beach.

Staff - after such an amazing, top-notch experience with service at Arenas del Mar, we were a bit disappointed with the service at this resort. Although no one was unfriendly, it just wasn't at the same level. Arenas del Mar made us feel like family and as valued guests because everyone was so attentive, even the maintenance crews. At this resort we were never approached by any manager/staff asking if our stay was going well. Most staff did not ask our names, were we were from, etc. The staff was not overly attentive or accommodating, we would have to seek out service if we needed it. All in all not bad, but definitely room for improvement.

Miscellaneous - they have actual keys to the room that are on a large wooden key chain. I thought it was a joke! It was very inconvenient to carry it around. The safe also had an actual key instead of a locking code which was inconvenient as well. There were a lot more children at this resort so we were thankful there was an adult only pool. The wireless Internet worked in the lobby but was not reliable in the room or at the pool which was annoying. No TV in the rooms, which was no biggie for us but others may want that.

We had 2 great nights at Si Como No but I don't know if we would stay here again. We tend to overlook small shortcomings of a resort if the service is good and we connect with the staff. Sadly that did not happen on our visit.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Jbar5858:
Fortunately the great majority of our "Guest Comments" are consistently encouraging with a 98% average guest rating of our staff as both "friendly & helpful", however we always welcome constructive criticism and realize we may miss the opportunity to convey our long standing brand of hospitality. So we truly appreciate it when a guest find an exception that we take quite seriously to remedy as it's the other 2% that keep us striving to be better at what we do best, enjoy our customers..
Please give us the opportunity to have you back as our guests so we can assure you an experience delivering 100 % of what we pride ourselves upon with good natured Tico hospitality.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This Hotel has a wonderful staff...

We stayed 3 nights for a recent fishing adventure and I wish we had spent more time at the hotel. The views are amazing. You feel like your in a tropical jungle, and every room has a view.

Room Tip: If you're mobility challenged, be cautious and let the staff know at time of booking. This resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Channelkatz:
First of all we would like to thank you to be our hotel guest and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. On your next visit, you may consider a longer stay and take advantage of the last minutes specials posted on our Website as well as the many other activities that we have available thru our concierge such as the Santa Juana Mountain Tour, Night Walk and the National Park Tour.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a lovley Costa Rican nature stay, , so long as you've booked a room that is anyithing other than this type of rooms is a little scruffy & dirty, the balcony doesn't compensate for the cost, nor the local iguanas that came & stayed in on some nights. We chose not to think of any snakes
Nevertheless, Breakfast is outstanding with quality & variety, and, the views , the rooms are on the slopes of manuel antonio, with the wonderful but compact nature reserve on the other side of the main road

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Hotel l:

Although we pride in our motto, “Enjoy the Magic of Nature” we carefully review every room on a daily basis to be sure is in ideal conditions of cleanings and try to encourage the reptiles and monkeys to keep their distance from our hotel accommodations. We were therefore surprised to read your review and apologize your room was not of up to your standards nor supported the positive feedback we normally receive regarding housekeeping and our other aspects of hospitality. We are glad that you did enjoy our Rico Tico Barn´Grill for breakfast and our own Manuel Antonio Nature Park with the butterfly gardens and the crocodile lagoon.
We hope to see you back with us again soon or with our other members of Greentique Hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The rooms were great with great views of the beach. the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is near Manuel Antonio Park, a great attraction in Costa Rica. The prices were a great value. The only drawback is that many of the rooms require walking downhill and then back to the main hotel and street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Stephen L:

Thank you very much to share your “Exceptional Costa Rican Experience” at Si Como No with all Trip Advisor readers, our commitment to Sustainable Hospitality along with our philosophy, help to enhance all of our guests stays. We´ll hope to see you again..!!
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel has great views of the ocean and beautiful Pacific sunsets. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and the two pools are very nice. The restaurant by the pool is a great place to eat, and the bar service is excellent. Overall, we were very happy with this hotel, but you may be misled by just looking at their web site. First, this is not a luxury hotel. The rooms are dated. The beds are hard, the door and safe locks are cumbersome, the ceiling fans rattle, the doors and beds creak, and the A/C works less than efficiently. We made a few attempts to improve the A/C, but finally gave up. Also, wifi is available only in the hotel lobby and by one of the pools. You cannot get it in your room. In addition, the free shuttle to the beach runs infrequently, and it does not run at all between 10:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. So you are stuck at the beach between those times. We stayed in two adjoining superior rooms, and we could hear the people above us quite well. Also, there were 99 steps down to our rooms from the lobby area. This was mainly a problem at night as the lighting was poor. Finally, the hotel did give us a free pass to their butterfly garden, but you can only enter the garden itself and are not free to walk around the rest of the sanctuary. Also, you can only go once. So, just know that you are paying for a clean room with a great view but not a lot of frills.

Room Tip: If steps are a problem, be sure to ask for a room that is towards the top of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Travelinaround:

Fortunately the majority of our "Guest Comments" are very encouraging, however we recognize there's always room for improvement. We always welcome constructive criticism, and appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experiences. We will carefully look into these and any other guest observation that are in our capacity to improve upon while not compromising our long standing brand of Sustainable Hospitality and exceptional Costa Rican experiences.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

With nice views and an excellent service our stay was satisfactory. The lovely Jasmine at the pool bar and the rest of the staff are very helpful. Breakfast was good and one could spot white faced monkeys sometimes. A shuttle service is available to take you to the beach/park. Only downside is no internet is available in the rooms! 8/10

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Etienne G:

Thanks for your review ! At Si Como No the we believe the most important asset is our staff, since our opening 20 years ago. We've been so fortunate to still be recognized for our friendly service and helpfulness by many happy guest who our particular brand of Costa Rican Pura Vida! Wildlife in the property has always been a big plus as you also mentioned, including the toucans, sloths, White Face & Titi monkeys and hundreds of tropical birds that continue to enhance the "magic of nature" in the Rain Forest of Manuel Antonio.
We hope to see you back with us again soon or with our other members of Greentique Hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Address: Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Si Como No, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.