We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Boutique Hotel but big Holiday Resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Parador to your Saves list
Hotel Parador
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Not a Boutique Hotel but big Holiday Resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We have stayed 3 nights in this very big Hotel, in April 2010. We travelled as a group of 3 (my partner/myself/teenage stepdaughter) but the room given to us was a double room and therefore did not offer a third chair outside on the patio, we have asked the hotel if we could have a 3rd chair but it took 2 days and 3 calls to reception for them to arrange this. The room itself has a minibar, aircon, safe, hairdryer, coffee & tea making facility but the interior needs updating and has a damp/mouldy smell to it. The Hotel offers one day free WIFI; you will have to ask for the password. The Resort is massive and full of children and, as a result, very noisy. There is an adult only pool though which was brilliant apart from the water being luke warm. Our “garden” room was directly in front of the crazy golf course and walking path and there was no privacy when sitting outside on the patio and it wasn’t quiet, as you can imagine.
The jungle view rooms, we have seen, looked out onto a tennis courts. The Sea View rooms are superior rooms located, I think, high up in the big block of rooms. You can see the Sea from the adult pool. The garden rooms are not recommendable …that is what we booked. From the Hotel its only a 15 min walk down to beach we have been told.

Buffet Style Breakfast is allright but nothing special and if you have to leave early you might find yourself not being able to have breakfast because they are running late. We have ordered Tapas in the Bar in the evening and 2 out of 3 nights they were served with no cutlery or serviettes, the drinking glasses were dirty with old lipstick stuck to them. The evening special dinner from the BBQ Grill at a price of 55 USD per person (excluded the tax of 25%) seemed rather expensive for this Hotel. The snack food on the pool was ok. There is NO free water anywhere around in the hotel, you will have to buy any water you need in the hotel, there are no shops in walking distance, so stock up on your water before you arrive or pay the hotel prices for it.
We have booked 2 Trips meanwhile staying in the Manuel Antonio Area:
We booked the **Mangrove Tour through the Hotel. You are picked up from the Hotel to take a boat ride through the mangroves, we have seens monkeys and crabs and some birds. There wasnt an awful lot of wildlife to see but the trip was informative regarding the mangrove trees. Dinner provided was nice but there was no water/drinks offered on the boat ride, so don’t forget to take your own water.
We pre-booked a visit to ****Manuel Antonio National Park where we have seen many animals, Sloths, Bats, Spider Monkey, Howler Monkey, White Face monkey, Frogs, Lizards etc. Most of the smaller animals you can see only through the guides Stargazer equipment though. The park is very very small and its an easy walk, the guide explained a lot and the trip was very informative. However, I do not know why these animals are still living in the park – the park is so busy that sometime, if you don’t arrive at opening time, you cannot get in. There are thousands of people walking through the park and its rather like a little Zoo then a park. I guess the animals cant go anywhere else…because the surrounding areas are built up. All in all a very “touristy” experience.
The hotel offers a little shop, a gym, a spa, several pools and restaurants, tennis courts, crazy golf etc. For Families which seek these sort of activities it would be a nice place to come to. I personally find the prices a little on the steep side and would not come back to this Hotel because I prefer smaller hotels with more comfort and better service, in quieter areas with beautiful views.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    316
    98
    37
    25
See reviews for
319
605
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trescore Balneario, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Parador in April 2010 (for our honeymoon).
Our room was clean and nice, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious (especially Sushi).
The swimming pools were clean and enjoyable, and the resort had a wide range of tours which we could chose from.
The overall experience was very positive.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

My friend & I stayed for a week. The hotel is lovely, the pools gorgeous, the food, excellent & the presentation lovely. The grounds are beautiful. They have their own trails if you like to hike, however, it's a little steep the descent to the beach. The views are of the rainforest & the Pacific Ocean.
The staff are friendly, efficient & polite. I really don't have one negative thing to say of this Resort or the people that work there. It really deserves 4.5 **** instead of 4.
However, like many reviews before me, the 2K road to the resort is horrendous. The good news, is that by next year it will be paved.
The elevator broke during our stay & they moved us to the new building & gave us a suite with a jacuzzi on our private balcony. King size bed, flat panel tv, wi fi access,
beautiful ultra suede couch & leather ottomans. Plus a private pool.

Stayed April 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Most hotels we have visited don't quite live up to the glossy brochure and online pictures but the Parador was quite the opposite. We had been touring Costa Rica with Costa Rican Trails and had stayed at a variety of hotels, some good, some not so good so we really didn't know what to expect when we arrived here, but we needn't have worried. From the moment we arrived at the gate our every need was taken care of by the excellent staff. Iced towels and a cold drink really helped to make us feel like valued guests. We had been upgraded from a superior room to a suite and wow! what a surprise! For the next five days we lived in the lap of luxury and if we could have stayed longer we would have done. If I was really nit-picking I would criticize the lack of choice in the restaurant at dinner. As the hotel was quiet there was only one restaurant open and because of the location of the hotel, going into town for a meal wasn't really an option so we ate there each night and if we had stayed longer I woulod have been sruggling to find something interesting for dinner. The food was cooked and served beautifully, and breakfast was heavenly, but I would have liked more choice in the evening, but with everything else being so superb I feel mean mentioning it.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Me and my husband went here with high hopes on our vacation after reading all the positive reviews. We traveled to different locations in Costa Rica and Manuel Antonio was our last stop before we return to the states. When we got to Parador what a disappointment. It was the worst hotel we stayed at throughout our whole trip. We paid extra money to stay in the Premium room which was not cheap I tell you but the room was so out-dated that they still had a CRT TV with a curved screen not even a LCD. The bathroom was out dated as well which reminded me of an old motel. I must say the view from the room was pretty nice looking at the ocean and all but when I started to walk around the hotel and saw how they maintain their premises, it was a big disaster. The yoga room they claimed to have had dead crabs everywhere that they started to stink so bad and the wooden floor was all cracked up and pretty much deserted. It was totally not usable at all!! The gym was at least in a better condition but had no air conditioning which was impossible to work out in a humid hot weather of Costa Rica.
4-5 restaurants they claim to have most of them when you go there nobody is around to serve you so it is pretty much closed down and you only have 1 restaurant to choose from which is the main one near the lobby. 4 of the swim pools they have 2 of them they don't even turned on the water filter so nobody is around and the water is dirty with dead bugs floating around. Oh yeah I forgot they also had dead crabs in them too!!! rotting away in the pool. How GROSS is that!!!! Also our room was 3 stories up and the bell boy told us the elevator just broke down that day and they will fix it the next day but the whole time we were there for 3 nights nobody came to fix it and the door to the elevator had a big lock that looked like it was locked away for a long time and the bell boy probably just lied to us it broke down the day we arrived. Trust me it is not fun to clime up and down 3 story stairs everyday multiple time when it's hot and humid. All and all I think this hotel could have been or was in the past a nice hotel considering the location and how big the hotel was. It is just sad the owner of the hotel stop caring about it and didn't maintain anything which made this hotel to become a big disaster. There is nothing worse than to stay in a hotel the owner doesn't maintain or care about. If it was much cheaper I wouldn't be so disappointed but considering it was near $300 a night this is so not worth it!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

The Hotel Parador is a full service hotel with 2 pools, pool bar/food service, spa and other amenities. The Parador is located overlooking the jungle with magnificent ocean and harbor views. In the morning we were able to see monkeys swing through the trees as they traveled.

The most amazing event occurred prior to the late afternoon rain storms. The jungle comes alive with the sounds of frogs, crickets and monkeys serenading us as the storm approached.

The included breakfast was wonderful with lots of offerings, including an omelete and waffle station. The lunches and dinners were good as well.

When you travel off site there is plenty to do. The hotel offers a regular shuttle service to the beach and Manuel Antonio Park. There is another beach (with no facilities) a short walk from the hotel. While it is close, the walk is tiring and uphill one way in the hot sun. You are better with the shuttle. Also, the tour desk is very helpful and was able to arrange good fishing and sailing trips at reasonable costs.

The one negative about the hotel is the access road to the hotel. It is the worst pothole, rutted dirt road you have ever seen. We were told that the road is scheduled for paving in May 2010. If this happens, the hotel will seem less remote.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the Parador hotel. They have a very nice beach, really quiet and peaceful. The breakfast buffet was not spectacular but the dinner was nice. They also have a sushi restaurant which was really nice as well! The pool gives spectacular views over the bay! We have seen a family monkeys passing by the hotel, nice experience! Watch out for the crabs at night!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.