We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with warm but professional service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Parador
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with warm but professional service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Spotless housekeeping. Setting on a beautiful hill above the Pacific Ocean and lush mountain forests. The people who worked there did everything possible to make our stay memorable. I felt truly welcome. Family friendly, but adult only areas available. Convenient free shuttle to Manuel Antonio beach and preserve, a 10-15 minute ride. Also a beautiful trail you can walk to beach. Grounds are incredible, like a park. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your vacation in Manuel Antonio. We are very happy to hear about your experience and that you truly enjoyed stay with us! Thank you for sharing your comments in this forum. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    300
    94
    37
    24
See reviews for
303
569
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a five night stay here at the end of our holiday, The location of the hotel is beautiful, views over the Pacific on one side and forest and secluded bays on the other.
The hotel was busy but the staff always very pleasant and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Eric was lovely and very helpful, always happy and rushing around.
We used the adults pool to watch the wildlife mainly! We did the nature trail a couple of times and saw Sloths, Capuchins, Howler and Squirrel Monkeys.Had the Cara Cara bird visiting on our balcony most early mornings too.
The room and grounds were very clean,no problems with ants what others have said.
The breakfast was amazing! We've (English) never seen so much choice and as a Vegetarian found it very good! As my clothes are saying now too! There is a veggie menu you can ask for if eating in the restaurant later on.
There is a hotel bus what runs to and from Manuel Antonio, you need to book your place.
Would return here tomorrow if we could!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Rebina,

Thank you so much for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your vacation in Manuel Antonio. We are delighted to read about your experience in Parador including enjoying the amazing wildlife surrounding the resort! Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum about our service, food, amenities and overall experience during your holiday. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We arrived to Hotel Parador on a Friday for 3 nights, to celebrate my wife's birthday and start our honeymoon vacations. The hotel is pristine and is located in a prime location in Manuel Antonio. Facilities are awesome, pools, gardens, trails, etc. The staff took care of us since the first time I called for information, specially Alfonso and Karina. They made us feel at home and very comfortable. They even coordinated a birthday and honeymoon treat for us! Overall this is is a highly recommended hotel if you want to spend a nice getaway, quite and fun. Definitely will go back soon.

Room Tip: Tropical Rooms are quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing Parador to celebrate such special occasions! We're glad you and your wife enjoyed yourselves completely and plan to come back soon. We'll be here waiting with a smile! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was a good hotel and we would stay again. Our room was large and had a beautiful view of the Pacific. Our boys especially liked the lightening show at night. Our room was clean, but as is common in CR, we did have some pesky ants in the bathroom--no big deal. The hotel has more than one pool including two, I think, which were adult only. This was good because the children--including ours--had a great time and made lots of noise in the main pool. The on-site nature trail had monkeys, sloths, and other critters. There is a washer and dryer, but it is expensive--$10 for wash, dry, soap. We chose to wash a few items in the tub and then use the dryer for $4--good call. Although we often took the stairs, there is an outdoor funicular which is cool.The breakfast buffet was very good and plentiful. The restaurant was fine, but a bit pricey. You may want to request the vegetarian menu which offered many good, well-priced options. The restaurant bill will include two taxes--one is sales tax; and one we later discovered, is a tip. Many of the servers seemed uninterested. The front desk and bellhops were top notch however. There is a really fantastic beach within a short walk--absolutely beautiful with warm water. And though there are signs prohibiting nude sunbathing, one woman felt the need to go topless. The wi-fi at the hotel was very spotty. The nearby city of Quepos has lots to offer including a Maxi Pali, a Walmart-like store, which has everything you might need.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor. We faced the Pacific, but the Bay view looked great too. Some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! We're glad you were able to enjoy so much of what Parador, Quepos and Manuel Antonio have to offer. We will definitely take up your comment about the servers with the staff, as customer service is very important to us and we want our guests to feel special every day. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Costa Rica! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Hotel Parador was our last stop during an 8 day CR tour. The hotel is beautiful with amazing views. My favorite part was soaking in the "endless pool" and watching monkeys travel through the trees around us. Our tour group took a day trip to Manuel Antonio NP, but I stayed and just soaked up the luxury of the hotel. Great way to recharge before heading home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor or higher for better ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We're so happy you took home so many good memories of Costa Rica and we were able to be the cherry on top of a great trip! Thank you so much for writing and letting us know we were just what you needed before heading home. We'll be here at your service should you ever come back our way. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Fantastic views and surroundings. Lots of wildlife in and around the hotel area - monkeys, lizards, vultures, and lots more. We were desperate to see some toucans and the concierge was nice enough to call our room when a couple were spotted! We went down to the pool area to see them and it was one of the highlights of our trip.

Nice bar and restaurant, with good service. Very apologetic when they were busy and took a while to get our bill, although we didn't mind. The food was good, and there was an entertaining pianist that we could enjoy from both the bar and the restaurant.

The pool areas were nice with a reasonable number of loungers. The wet bar was a nice touch but it would have been nicer if it was a bit bigger and in warmer water.

The beach was further than we were led to believe - a 15 minute walk away, not easy to find and not the easiest of walks, and not that great when we got there. Because of this we only went there once.

We stayed here for four nights and could have stayed for more. We didn't have a boa constrictor in our room either, which is a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Giles,

Thank you so much for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your stay in Manuel Antonio and for sharing your wonderful memories about your stay in this forum. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at the resort including the amazing wildlife that surrounds us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We loved this hotel! Right when we drove up, we were given wet towels and a drink, and we continued to be treated like royalty for our entire stay. We had a garden room, which had a balcony with gorgeous trees, birds, and sounds! The pools at the hotel are gorgeous, and we even saw monkeys at one! There's also wonderful trails where you can walk around. We splurged by staying here because it isn't cheap, but you're going all the way to Costa Rica, so you might as well enjoy! We got foot massages at the spa, which was an excellent experience! The spa has a Jacuzzi facing the jungle, and they brought us fruit and drinks. The location of the hotel is very close to Manuel Antonio, which is wonderful. Heaven! I would definitely recommend staying here for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Becca - Thank you so much for your kind review! Looks like you were able to immerse yourself in the whole Costa Rica/Parador experience and we're very glad you enjoyed it all. We're lucky to be so close to Manuel yet tucked away on our own... It's a fun location. We'll be here waiting if you decide on another Costa Rica visit :) Pura vida, amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.