We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lap of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Parador
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Acampo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lap of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We had a perfect time. Everything is wonderful. Rooms are great. Pools are great. Spa is great. Food is great. High end luxury resort. Capuchin monkeys came right past our room. We just had great time. We will be back!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia G, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
"We had a perfect time" sounds like music to our ears! (And it looks like our capuchins put on a good show, too!) We'll be happy to welcome you back anytime, amigos, and we'll be sure to let the monkeys know you're coming! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    289
    91
    36
    24
See reviews for
273
552
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I booked for myself and my friend to stay at Hotel Parador for 8 days in February 2014 unfortunately my friend had a stroke and was unable to travel - her consultant said no flying for six months. We had paid in full and the Hotel has refused to refund any payment. Whilst I appreciate that the terms and conditions of booking were 100% non refundable I think in the circumstances some refund could have been made or a commitment to a future stay at the hotel when my friend is recovered. Disappointing as another hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park has refunded in full.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Cecilia M,

We are very sorry to hear about your friend's health situation and wish him/her a speedy recovery. After a careful review of your case, we have not been able to find either your reservation or request for a refund. To address your request effectively, please send us an email to info@hotelparador.com Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Parador for a week, when we arrived we were greated with a cool towel and tasty cold drink, staff immediately were very friendly. We were unexpectedly upgraded from a premium room to vista suite which was very nice of them. The room was the nicest hotel room I have ever had the priviledge of staying in, absolutely gorgeous and the views of the ocean were right out of a magazine cover. Staff were super friendly during our stay, the servers at La Galeria restaurant were the best, Teejay taught us some spanish and Eric was always very friendly and chatty. Everyone from the hostess to maintanence staff always greated you and were very friendly. The hotel facitlities were immaculate and very lush. For those that want to escape the heat the a/c in the room was always nice and cool.
Only a 5min walk down the road to the beach which often had monkey's nearby, the better beach in town is a short shuttle bus away. Excellent wifi service throughout hotel. The complimentary breakfast was great with lots to choose from. I really have nothing bad to say about Parador, nothing, we were really sad to leave.

Room Tip: If you book a premium room months in advance there is a chance of an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia G, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Wow! Thanks for such a great review :) We are so happy your stay was an all around success—it's what we strive for! The upgrade to a vista suite was our pleasure: there's nothing better than an ocean view, though our gardens are no slouches, either! Hope to see you again soon—pura vida, amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay here. Our rooms were comfortable although compact. Our shower was over the bathtub and there were no grab handles so possibly a bit unsafe for some people. We were in and annexe at ground level so didn't get the sea views but were happy with the jungle views, the bushes outside the room covered in butterflies and the quiet location. For wonderful ocean views we were very happy to lounge by and in the 3 pools in the main complex; though not particularly good for swimming due to size, shape, depth they were lovely for a long dip. Plentiful free pool towels.

Staff are very friendly throughout.

If you're looking for a hotel where you can walk out to local bars and restaurants in the evening then this is not for you as the hotel is not only at the end of a long road, that road also has some very steep ups and downs and is dangerously narrow for pedestrians (I could not determine this from Google Earth when I checked beforehand); you can walk about 15 mins to a small, unspoilt beach but that's about it. There is a hotel shuttle to the main beach during the day (once was nice but enough) and there are taxis for the evening if you know exactly where you want to go - the best restaurants are strung out along the road not in one central area.

So we ended up eating in the hotel which on initial inspection we thought expensive. However, we found lunch portions large enough to share between two and they were very satisfying in flavour too. Breakfasts are good (coffee service is a bit slow) so you could easily fill up and forgo lunch anyway! At dinner our first night there was a BBQ advertised for $36 which we thought sounded a bit expensive and there were rules about how much you could have but we decided to have it anyway; it turned out to be very good and we were able to stuff ourselves pretty full on meat and fish, salads, fresh veg, baked potatoes and a couple of desserts. On other evenings we found that we could also order of the lunch/bar menus in the main restaurants and these were good value.

The drinks here though are very expensive and we stuck to a lunchtime beer or excellent fruit juice and free jugs of tap water which is entirely safe to drink. Bringing in our full allowance of duty free vodka was definitely a big bonus!

The big negative about this hotel for us was the admin and management. They often get very muddled about whether tax is or isn't included in bills and adverts e.g. the BBQ was advertised at two very different prices both with ++ indicating plus taxes. One night we were initially charged double tax on some of our meal and the only way the waitress could fix it was by charging us for something else at a lower price! The hotel had also made a mistake thinking we were leaving after two night (half our group were) and put a letter under the door in the middle of the night. I informed reception and that should have been the end of it but later I had to stop the bellboys from looking for our bags and later still I had to go back to reception to get new key cards. Management needs to address these failings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Parador. We are happy to see that overall, you enjoyed our location, service and amenities. We are also thankful for your feedback as it helps us address areas of improvement in our service and product. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odessa texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Just finished a 5 night stay here. We had a vista suite and it was lovely, spacious, clean, and very comfortable...the grounds of the hotel are lovely...the adult pool in the suites building is peaceful and very relaxing. The restaurant there is perfect....the main restaurant in the main building is nice but very overpriced...service attentive...the included breakfast buffet is sad...very limited choices..bananas are very brown and bruised...no berries...no sausage or bacon...no tomatoes...the restaurant is also outdoors so always swatting flies and very, very hot...the staff was wonderful though and we did enjoy ourselves

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia G, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for your great review! The Vista Suites are wonderful and those views are incomparable. We're sorry you didn't have a 5 star experience at breakfast - we've passed your comments to the staff and will ensure all the fruit is as fresh as can be and the breakfast meats are plentiful. Being in the middle of a rainforest we do unfortunately get some aerial visitors outdoors, we do our best to keep them away without pesticides that might hurt the environment. We do look forward to a return visit—perhaps in a cooler month? Pura vida, amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuheim, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The hotel is located at the end of a road from Quepos overlooking the ocean. We got a nice room after I declined the first one due to noise coming from the airconditioning equipment just in front of our balcony.
The room was clean, the bed comforatble, the air condition working well - and we got a nice view. The hotel offers an extra pool for adults only which we appreciated as it was nicely located providing more shadow - temperatures were during the day around 35C. We were in the hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed the excellent breakfeast each morning, but we were not so positive about the dinner. The service in the restaurant as well as at reception was very good. The one thing that disappointed us was the beach in walking distance as it should be cleaner. If we go again then we certainly would take a taxi to other options.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your comments on this forum. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the oceanview room, the adult-only pool, the buffet breakfast, and our friendly service. We also appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our product offerings. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future, hopefully for a longer stay, so that you can enjoy all that Parador has to offer - from the resort's location, amenities, and personalized service to its exotic nature trails and excursions. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely --- situated in a jungle atmosphere, the grounds are clean and well kept. The swimming pools overlook the ocean and are beautiful. The rooms have wifi, a frig and good A/C. The food is a huge disappointment. They are trying to be too many things to please too many different palates and none of it comes off. There should be an abundance of fresh, local seafood and more regional offerings. I'm not looking for Cajun food or Minnestrone when I come to Costa Rica. The buffet-only breakfast was weak and tasteless. In addition, it's very pricey. I wouldn't dwell on this, but your captive here unless you have a car to go to town.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Parador. We are very sad to hear that the food was a huge disappointment as the hotel offers four different restaurants, each featuring a a variety of international and local cuisine including fresh, local seafood, regional offerings including fresh hand-picked microgreens from our greenhouse to the kitchen. Similarly, our daily breakfast buffet offers an omelet station, a variety of hot selections, waffles, pancakes, assortment of hams, cheeses, breads, pastries, cereals, yogurt, and natural juices. Many thanks again for your feedback as it helps us improve our service and product offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.