We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parador
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was the last stop of our 10 day trip. Stayed 3 nights in a beautiful exec suite. Because it is the "low" season we were able to upgrade after we got there. Exec suite was amazing with wet bar, 2 TVs, and our favorite, a Jacuzzi tub on the balcony. All 4 of our family got in there when we got chased out of the pool by the thunderstorms. Great place to watch the lightening over the ocean. It is on a cliff so there isn't an easily accessible beach, but the pools are very nice. There is a beach you can walk to (about 15 minute walk down dirt/rocky trail). We went once, but probably wouldn't recommend it. There is a free shuttle to Manuel Antonio Park and they will give you towels which was great. We somehow didn't understand the pickup directions and made the mistake of coming back to where we were dropped off. You actually get picked up in a different location. Make sure you look on the map where that is. We ended up having to take a cab back because it was pouring rain. Lots of great wildlife on the Hotel premises. Saw lots of birds, frogs, monkeys, racoons, etc. Included breakfast had lots of choices and was very good. We ate dinner at the hotel every night (not walking distance to any other restaurants). They had a special/theme each night and we ordered that each time. It was good. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are not expecting to be right on the beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in the high rise tower which had the best views of the ocean, but also the farthest away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you recognized and appreciated the level of personal service for which we pride ourselves. Our staff, many of whom have been with us for many years, truly take pleasure in accommodating the needs and desires of all our guests. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our expansive grounds and spectacular views. Due to the geography of this area, very few properties are directly on the beach -- which we clearly specify throughout our website -- so we are always surprised when some guests are expecting otherwise. Part of the magic of our property is in fact the location: sitting at the farthest point of a rainforest-embraced ocean-view peninsula which is isolated from the hustle of the main road and therefore offers a respite from traffic and other noise factors. Although we seem far removed from civilization, truth is we are only a five minute ride up the hill where the Park, restaurants and shops await. And, as you mentioned, we sit adjacent to the lovely small beach of Playa Biesanz, for which we provide golf-cart service to those who prefer not to walk all the way. And finally, in addition to the shuttle we provide to and from Manuel Antonio´s main beach throughout the day,

Again, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    301
    94
    37
    24
See reviews for
303
570
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, MD
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the end of May, 2013. It took months to pare down my compliments so the review could be read within a semi-reasonable amount of time.

Summary of some of the pros:

Our rooms in Las Suites 4520 and 4521 were extremely large, thoroughly
clean, quiet, and comfortable with EXQUISITE views. Excellent AC, rapid Wi-Fi and definitely a 'resort', not 'condo' ambience. We felt safe, even leaving belongings in our car. We also enjoyed feeling equally comfortable in very casual clothing, as well as in evening wear. Had we known this in advance, we would have packed lighter and not brought clothing ‘for all occassions’

The three attractive pools on the premises were clean and mostly without guests on weekdays. They received more usage on weekends. The shuttle van was spotless and VERY accommodating.

The resort had diverse fauna/flora right on the premises, many visible from our room or outside our door. As with most folks who venture to CR, wildlife was the primary draw for our trip and we were not disappointed. Some of the animals we saw on the property included 3 monkey species, white headed eagles, a raccoon who tried to snatch food from the restaurant, multiple frog species, iguanas, amazing birds, etc.

Dining - There are plenty of restaurants nearby, although it is much easier to just eat at the Parador Resort after a busy day. At La Galleria , we preferred the food on a small plate menu or perhaps it was the Don Juan Bar's menu rather than the regular dinner menu. For example, both the lighter menu, as well as the dinner menu had fish soup, each prepared very differently. We did not like the one on the regular dinner menu, but very much enjoyed the one on the lighter menu. Eric, the waiter who frequently served us was delightful .

THE PIECE DE RESISTANCE was the IMPECCABLE SERVICE we received.

Any time we requested anything, it was immediately attended to, as though we were their VIP and the ONLY guests at the Parador.

!! My daughter left her luggage in the sundry store the day of our departure. When we telephoned the Parador from Alajuela to see if it could be located, they immediately made arrangements to have it driven to us the same day, GRATIS!! How many hotels would extend themselves to this extent??

Every staff member went out of their way to make this vacation special: reservations, reception, wait staff, the lady who made the omelettes with her warm smile, the concierge, and housekeeping.

Hotel has composting on site and has recycle bins in rooms.

Summary of cons: Hmm... our visit was too short!

Do not think twice...this is the place to be when in the Manuel Antonio area.

Thank you so much Evelyn for the special vacation!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in Las Suites have fantastic views, especially corner suites with views in 2 directions. Prem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Wow, so beautiful!! Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that the actions of our amazing staff were heard loud and clear yet again! This is a common theme in the reviews and comments we receive: the gracious “beyond the call of duty” service our employees provide. And this is because we truly enjoy serving our guests and making each and every visitor feel welcome and special. So, thank you again for your lovely comments, for acknowledging our dedicated staff and the many amenities and facilities that we offer. We DO appreciate your visit and hope you return soon. It will be our privilege to receive you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It says location is everything and it is. While I did not stay at this hotel during this visit, the last time was several years ago, and how it has changed, we dined one night in one of its restaurants, called The Terrace. Parador Resort and Spa is a dream fulfilled for Dutch entrepreneur Jan Schans who first envisioned a place where European refinement mingled with the warmth and flavor of the tropics. Today, the family, together with their professional staff, continues to bring personalized service and an enticing atmosphere, as the brochure states and I could not have said it any better. Eating on The Terrace was absolutely perfect. It did not come as a surprise that the menu features Nasi Goreng, an Indonesian inspired dish, and a remnant from the old colonial days when The Netherlands had colonized Indonesia. The flavors were simply divine. The services are old world. I recommend Parador Resort and Spa highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Gracias!!! For your observation and for your commets about Mr. Schans. We are enormously proud to have such a remarkable family of employees who genuinely enjoy serving our guests. There is little that you don’t touch on in your glowing review -- from our ocean-view grounds, to the great food, customer service and first-class amenities. What can we say to such a wonderful compliment but “thank you so much” for taking the time to share with us and the world. We will be delighted to welcome you again as an esteemed Parador guest next time you visit Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Guarded grounds at the end of the road, greeted by a security guard to insure you belong on the property. Hotel staff greeted with fresh lemon towel and refreshing fresh fruit drink. check in went smooth even though we arrived several hours prior to check in. We walked the grounds and explored the two rain forest trails ON the property. The room was nice and comfortable the first few nights. The Air Conditioner fan broke and we were moved to another room. The rain forest animals are ALL around.... What a great experience. The restaurant breakfast was a buffet style with local flair, fresh fruit and fresh fruit juices. The lunch and dinner menus at the La Galeria (only one open during the green season, however the other restaurant menus were available) was varied and on the upper end of the scale. The restaurant staff were very attentive (especially Erik, who made the dining time more enjoyable) The views from the outside dining area were spectacular. All the staff are there to make your stay the most memorable as possible. While the hotel is away from the towns, a short taxi ride or hotel shuttle was no problem to get around. The "private" beach was a short walk through a trail, I will take private above public anytime. This is truly a remarkable property. Keep up the great work, I would recommend to anyone without a hesitation.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give a better view above the canopy to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your insightful comments. We always aim to please and are happy to hear that our wonderful staff was friendly and accommodating. We all take great pride in making sure our guests’ needs are always met. While we can’t take credit for Manuel Antonio’s spectacular sunsets, we will take credit for the views that the hotel offers! Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here and loved it . The staff were unbelievably wonderful. Will always be the best place to stay.was close to quepos which we loved since we have friends that live there. Was easy to get around resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Well, what can we say in response to such a stellar review? We’ll start with a heart-felt Thank You! We are always delighted to learn of our guests positive experiences at Parador and are grateful that you’ve taken time out of your busy schedule to share your thoughts and observations with us and the world. Come back soon! It will be our pleasure to serve you again. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been at the hotel for 4 days and have loved EVERY minute. The staff has been so incredibly nice, Johnathan Castillo was our favorite waiter/bartender and even waited on us in a special wine cellar that was very romantic. This hotel has every thing you could need- great views, good food, delicious drinks and friendly staff. We stayed in the vista suite and it was once of the nicest rooms I've stayed in! I highly recommend the parador hotel!

Room Tip: We chose the vista suite and it is beautiful! Great view, clean room, jacuzzi on the balcony. You wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are so pleased that you received such fantastic service and we certainly hope you will return again. We will pass your comment to Jonathan. Thank you again for your kind review. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I can't compare this hotel to others in the Manuel Antonio area, but I can compare it to other hotels I've stayed in and this is one of the best ever. The service alone is worth the stay. One day my allergies were pretty bad and the staff was able to find and deliver a couple of Benadryl to my room. I did pay for the pills because they came from a local pharmacy but the hotel responded pretty quick. The next day, while waiting for a taxi, one of the girls came over and asked me how I was feeling. Apparently she's the one that took care of it all.

Anyhow, the hotel is very beautiful. We stayed in the Vista Suites and I can't comment on the other rooms, but the Vista Suites building was very modern. Our room included a separate stand-up shower, a bathtub/Jacuzzi inside and full blown Jacuzzi in the balcony. The hotel has 2 adult only pools but I felt the one on the Vista Suites building was a bit nicer. Plus, the building has a restaurant right next to the pool with a very beautiful view.

During our stay we got a chance to see monkeys, sloths, toucans and some iguanas while we walked around the grounds. As a matter of fact, one iguana joined us during breakfast. One of the neatest monkeys we got a chance to see was the Titi monkey (orange furr on their back). According to the locals this monkey is not seen as much as they are on the endangered list and are numbered to less than 1700.

One of the neatest things about the location of the hotel is that a few minutes away (walking distance) is Playa Biesanz, a semi-private beach. The trail starts from the main road and through a jungle trail. What a view as you begin to enter the beach from the jungle. The first time we were there we pretty much had the whole beach to ourselves. Second time around there was about 3 couples.

If you don't want to walk down, the hotel has a shuttle service that goes to town and Manuel Antonio National Park (which has two beautiful beaches, one being inside the park). We used the shuttle for the trip to MA and/or for going to dinner. The shuttle would drop us off and we'd take a taxi back to the hotel. We did have a rental car (drove from Arenal to Manuel Antonio), but we never used it because of the hotel shuttle and taxi was around $8.

Overall, great experience at Manuel Antonio. Loved everything about it, including breakfast. Plenty of options. Again, staff was great... which reminds me, one of the girls at night, she would knock on the door around 9pm and offer towels and/or chocolates. She would put a smile on my face because of her sweetness and shyness, hehe.

Thank you Parador for a great experience for me and my family.

Room Tip: Vista Suites are well worth it, especially for couples. We stayed as a family and the only downside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are so pleased you took the time to write this review! Thank you for singling out one of the most important aspects of Parador: the service. Our staff is truly happy to help create the best vacation experience possible for our guests and we love to spoil you the best they can. We hope that you do return to Costa Rica in the not too distant future. The views, the wildlife, and all of our staff will be happy to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.