We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Parador
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights recently at Hotel Parador in an oceanfront room on the 3rd floor. Upon arrival you are given cool washcloths and drinks! The service is the best from reception to the restaurants and bars and maids. There is a funky little funicular that you take to get to and from your room that everyone enjoyed! Our room was wonderful, with luxurious bedding and a good sized bathroom plus an oceanfront balcony. We had breakfast every morning at the hotel and it was delicious. We didn't want to drive at night so had dinner there the first night, but didn't care much for it. Happy hour at 6 PM was a favorite before we ventured out the other evenings for dinner. and found some great places. Agua Azul, El Avion and Salispurdes (sp) were favorites! We did spend late afternoons at the pool enjoying the swim up bar and ordered snacks and sandwiches, which were very good. We hiked their grounds one afternoon about 4 PM and saw more wildlife there than inside the National park! We spotted our first Sloth here! We also walked to the beach close by (Bisenz Beach) and rented kayaks, which were a lot of fun! We visited the National park without a guide and really enjoyed that. We saw deer, monkeys, iguanas on the beaches and a strange looking animal without a tail! We swam in 2 of the beaches and really enjoyed that. We also came back and swam at the public beach another day then did some souvinir shopping across the street. Hotel Parador was a great cloice for us!

Room Tip: We chose an oceanfront room and loved the view! It was well worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Eric, we remember you very well! You were very kind to our entire staff and your friendliness and good cheer was recognized and valued by everyone here. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again and be of service to you during your stay. We always appreciate you taking the time to share a kind word and to hang out and get to know us – and to give us the opportunity to get to know you as well! Thanks so much for acknowledging the many things you enjoyed about Parador Resort & Spa, including the great value, recommended tours and positive overall experience. Your friends at Parador Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    733
    299
    91
    37
    24
See reviews for
295
564
20
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived at the hotel early, and they led us into breakfast while they rushed to finish our room. This was what set the tone for our stay. Everyone here is so nice and accommodating. The tour we booked through the hotel was fabulous (it was a dolphin tour and even though we saw no dolphins it was so much fun). The breakfast was utterly amazing. They have a small beach that is about a 10-15 minute walk and is so secluded. I truly cannot say enough good things about this hotel and the people that work there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience in this form. We are blessed with the spectacular geography that surround us and recognize that the essence of Parador emanates from its great food, wonderful rooms, amenities, natural jungle surroundings and most importantly, our staff.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our fabulous breakfast and our tours. We hope to see you soon! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Parador as the 2nd half of our honeymoon in Costa Rica (the first half being in the Arenal Volcano area.) Hotel Parador is beautiful, with ocean views to die for. We arrived and were given a welcome drink. We were informed we had been upgraded to a suite... yay! We were taken to our room via golf cart (nice because it was quite warm.) The first night of our stay, we came back from dinner to find a trail of candles and petals leading to our deck hot tub filled with bubbles and petals. Beautiful! We also received chocolate covered strawberries for our honeymoon. While there, we enjoyed buffet dinner one night (delicious) and a great buffet breakfast every morning (awesome!) We used their onsite service to book a trimaran cruise with snorkeling which was excellent, with good food, good drinks and great entertainment. The pools onsite were beautiful. We ate at the restaurant exclusive to the suites and thought it was delicious. The bar was so so. Only real downside that we had was that calls to the US were not free (not a big deal, but we wanted to call our kids.) The people working the front desk were more than helpful and accomodating in all aspects and very cheerful and kind.

Room Tip: Suite was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Pura Vida! What a fantastic review, thank you! Parador is definitely one of the more romantic spots in Manuel Antonio and Quepos—we’re so glad you chose to celebrate your 2nd honeymoon at our resort. We greatly appreciate your comments about our staff; we’ll share with them! You really experienced all we have to offer, including the views and the amazing wildlife. We hope you come back soon… how about on your 3 honeymoon? See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Costa Rica is such a great destination that it is hard to decide what part of the country to Visit. The Manuel Antonio area is truly a great spot. Although it is on the Pacific Coast it is not a traditional beach location. This hotel (as all the hotels do) sits on a mountain side overlooking the Ocean and the views are breathtaking. There are different room categories ranging from Jungle view to Ocean view. Make sure and pay the extra for the views, if you are going to visit this area - then it is about the view. Don't save the $ asking for price point room as you miss the essence of this region which is the cliff side views of the ocean. I had was in the main tower on the 4th floor and the room was large, well decorated, comfortable bed, great bathroom amenities and size as well. On the balcony I had a small Jacuzzi tub and could just enjoy the amazing view. They have trails on the property you can walk and spot wildlife especially birds!!! The food was good and choices plentiful. The staff was VERY accommodating and helpful. I would come back here again!!!! My only issue is the gym - it was very small. The area is not conducive to running so I was hoping for a treadmill - nope. They do have a lovely spa and a very private area for Yoga so I did the Yoga instead. FYI they can accommodate gluten free as well which is a real plus. They also offer a free shuttle to the Manuel Antonio National park which is another great area to nature watch and swim in the ocean. This destination is not really a traditional "beach" destination but you can still go for an ocean swim. While I was swimming at the national park a pair of raccoons decided to check out my backpack. If you love nature and ocean, you can't go wrong coming to Manuel Antonio and staying at Parador.

Room Tip: Only book room with ocean view. Change your dates if they don't have these room types. don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Yes, we’re definitely proud of our views! It’s one of the advantages to being on a bluff. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and all the resident wildlife!), but sorry you weren’t able to take advantage of our gym. We apologize for the inconvenience as we are currently upgrading the facility and equipment.
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We hope to welcome you back at Parador soon! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Parador to celebrate our first wedding anniversary from May 4-8. We bought a Living Social deal for 4 nights stay that included 2 passes to the National Park. I really don't have any negatives to state about our stay, I am only giving it 4-stars, instead of 5, because of the minimal food options (we personally like variety...but if you don't mind that sort of thing then consider this a 5-star review!). But we had rented a car so we ate all of our meals, with the exception of 1 dinner and all breakfasts, off the resort grounds. The breakfast was excellent, in our opinion. Always different options and amazing fresh fruits, breads and juices. We had sushi for dinner at the resort and it was very good!

The staff was exceptional; so sweet and helpful. I did not encounter one unhappy or unfriendly staffer at the resort. When we checked in to our room, I was curious to see if there were any other rooms available with a better view (just for kicks). The bell boy, Franklin, quickly took us to another room to see if we liked it better and VOILA! We paid an additional $100 and were in a room with an amazing view (420) within minutes. Very impressed by that.

I would recommend renting a car if you are the type that likes to explore the area you're in and you don't want to stay at the resort the entire time. We rented from VAMOUS rental cars and had a great experience with them. The car + all the insurance can be pricey but we felt it was worth it. (If you rent a car, the only advice you need is #1- get ALL the insurances and #2 do not to leave ANYTHING in your car at any time. That said, we didn't have any issues or breaks ins but I had heard of other tourists leaving things in the car and it being stolen- just be smart!).

Parador is located literally at the end of the main road through Manuel Antonio and not really walkable to other bars/restaurants so you will either have to take taxis or you're stuck on the resort (in terms of meals/shopping). But there is a shuttle to the Public Beach (where you can rent chairs/umbrellas and order food/drinks) or you can walk to the private beach. It is about a 10 minute walk but nothing outrageous. (If you're in normal health you can easily walk there, just wear sneakers since the area walking down to the beach is a little off the beaten path). But once you are there it's quiet and serene, hardly anyone there, which is a nice change of pace.

We did not hire a Guide for the Park tour. And I'm glad we didn't because even if there was an animal somewhere everyone would gather and the guide would tell you what he/she was looking at anyways so what's the point of paying for that when you can just walk to where the mass of people is anyways? We had a great experience without a guide and saw a TON of monkeys off the trail near the beach. And there was not a soul around at first, it was just us and about 10 monkeys then others started to gather. So not having a guide had no baring on our experience. But if you prefer to hear all the nitty gritty details of the Park then hire a guide.

We went to several other hotel bars for happy hours and meals. Was nice to get out and see other places and try more authentic costa rican food. My husband likes to try things off the beaten path so we went into places where the staff spoke very little English but even in those situations the Costa Rican people were so friendly and nice.

Weather: I was worried about the weather prior to the trip since May begins rainy season but we basically had picture perfect weather all but one day. It rained a few times in the evenings but it was nice to hear the rain so it didn't bother us at all. In the mornings it would be a little cloudy/foggy but by 8 am it was all sun! It was wonderful. Our last day it was pretty cloudy with intermittent rain but it was awesome to be in the pool while it rained. The sun peeked out a bit and we still both managed to get sun burnt anyways (The sun is much stronger there!). And I never burn that badly.....definitely beware of stronger sun. I noticed the weather changes there quickly. Even when some clouds rolled in, soon enough they were gone. Don't let the "rainy season" deter you; it's low season in terms of tourism so the resort wasn't crowded at all which was great. And like I said, we saw plenty of sun! :)

Overall, a great experience and I would recommend to those who wish to simply relax and soak in the sun/sights as well as those who want to tap into their adventurous side (you can schedule zip lining or hiking or anything you want right at the resort. The staff sets up the time for you and you show up in the lobby when told and someone is there to take you to your destination. It couldn't have been easier!). No need to worry about planning your activities before going, you can do it on-site.

So....long story short: awesome time! Go for it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing. We do our best to make sure our guests have a complete 5-star experience, from the accommodations to the food, the pool, the spa, and yes, our staff is a big part of it as well. We hope that you had the chance to take one of the nature tours at Manuel Antonio or at the resort and took home many great pictures of the local wildlife.
We love the rainy season, too, as things slow down a bit and we’re able to catch our breath—at least a little! The view from your room is really unbeatable and there’s nothing like enjoying it from your balcony. We’re happy to hear that it was a memorable vacation for all of you and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Hotel Parador has a beautiful setting at the end of a crazy, narrow road south of Quepos, Costa Rica. Our room was large and comfortable and the view from our balcony was magnificent. However, there was a strange vibe we got from the employees that they didn’t seem happy and that we were a bother that they had to put up with. This was the only place over the course of eleven days in Costa Rica where we got this feeling. They seem to need smile lessons. The beach is a torturous walk down a hundred yards of paved road then another 200 yards of crumbling pathway to an unkempt public beach. We read later that there is a shuttle to a beach in Manuel Antonio National Park that is much better. A friendlier staff might have mentioned this amenity. The restaurants were very expensive and the menus failed to pique our interest so we filled up at lunch then munched on appetizers at the bar to save money. The bar staff seemed friendly enough when they were talking among themselves but were reluctant to smile at their patrons much less engage them in conversation. It was almost excellent, if it hadn’t been for the employees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are so surprised and sad to hear your comment about our employees. This is really very rare to hear such a review and we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a week at Parador and literally didn't leave the resort for a couple days. The resort is beautiful, good food, and the staff went well beyond our expectations to be helpful. The wild life was everywhere,amazing views, and we even saw a rainbow. Recommendations for local activities and food were spot on. It is the perfect place to relax or be active.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Mr. & Mrs. Ford One of our favorite couples ever – sweet, kind and so much in love!

Our recent 30th anniversary couple from Massachusetts did indeed capture the magic of Parador Resort & Spa. You were provided with all the pampering and spoiling that you truly deserved.

Every guest at Parador is treated like a member of our family and the entire staff welcomes every chance to help and assist them in their every need.

We Wish for You many years of love, happiest and Pura Vida!
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with others here on this Tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.