We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parador
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Almost Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Hotel Parador has a beautiful setting at the end of a crazy, narrow road south of Quepos, Costa Rica. Our room was large and comfortable and the view from our balcony was magnificent. However, there was a strange vibe we got from the employees that they didn’t seem happy and that we were a bother that they had to put up with. This was the only place over the course of eleven days in Costa Rica where we got this feeling. They seem to need smile lessons. The beach is a torturous walk down a hundred yards of paved road then another 200 yards of crumbling pathway to an unkempt public beach. We read later that there is a shuttle to a beach in Manuel Antonio National Park that is much better. A friendlier staff might have mentioned this amenity. The restaurants were very expensive and the menus failed to pique our interest so we filled up at lunch then munched on appetizers at the bar to save money. The bar staff seemed friendly enough when they were talking among themselves but were reluctant to smile at their patrons much less engage them in conversation. It was almost excellent, if it hadn’t been for the employees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are so surprised and sad to hear your comment about our employees. This is really very rare to hear such a review and we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    301
    94
    37
    24
See reviews for
303
571
20
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a week at Parador and literally didn't leave the resort for a couple days. The resort is beautiful, good food, and the staff went well beyond our expectations to be helpful. The wild life was everywhere,amazing views, and we even saw a rainbow. Recommendations for local activities and food were spot on. It is the perfect place to relax or be active.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Mr. & Mrs. Ford One of our favorite couples ever – sweet, kind and so much in love!

Our recent 30th anniversary couple from Massachusetts did indeed capture the magic of Parador Resort & Spa. You were provided with all the pampering and spoiling that you truly deserved.

Every guest at Parador is treated like a member of our family and the entire staff welcomes every chance to help and assist them in their every need.

We Wish for You many years of love, happiest and Pura Vida!
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with others here on this Tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Parador from April 26-May 04 and were completely satisfied. Parador is perched on top of a very steep hill and has excellent views of the ocean. Many of the rooms offer a view of the Pacific and the surrounding jungle, which is beautiful and fascinating. The jungle comes alive around 6am and the animals can be heard easily over the din of the air conditioner. Monkeys, toucans, and other wildlife easily visible on the hotel grounds.

Hotel: the main part of the hotel has extensive woodwork throughout which really adds to the atmosphere. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, although it's probably time for them to buy some new pillows -- ours were flat and lumpy.

Staff: very friendly and trustworthy.

Food: the food is excellent on and off the resort. The complimentary breakfast buffet was delicious and filling. Lunch was reasonable but dinner can get expensive if you eat there every night. The chef puts out great food but for my wife and I it cost about $90 for dinner with 1 drink each. There are some cheaper food options in town but not many - Costa Rica, or at least this part of it, is as expensive as a typical Canadian or US city.

Wildlife: You will be tripping over the monkeys, iguanas, and sloths. Enjoy!

Manuel Antonio National Park: $10 per person entry. Hire a guide once you're inside to get the most out of your visit. They've been doing it so long they can spot frogs, snakes, and monkeys that I otherwise would have walked past. Inside the park is the beach -- clear water and soft sand. The public beach just a few hundred yards away is much rougher.

Getting around: We rented a vehicle from the airport in San Jose and thought it was worth it. Getting down from the resort into the nearest town is about 5km of very steep winding roads. The hotel offers a shuttle service and taxis are available, but we found it handier to come and go as we pleased. We had trouble finding this resort on the GPS so the rental agency programmed another shop close by.

Overall: can't say enough positive things about our stay. I did notice that when we mentioned where we were staying, both the locals and other tourists would nod approvingly, since the resort has a good reputation and a prime location. It's one of the more expensive resorts but I thought it was worth it. I'd go back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Wow, we blush! Thank you so very much for your wonderful and detailed comments. It is our humble goal to accommodate all our guests with the highest standards of quality and customer service and we are so very happy that we met your expectations. Regarding the Park tour -- while it is not absolutely crucial to enjoy Manuel Antonio National Park under the guidance of a guide, our professional certified guides have the eyes, equipment to spot the unique wildlife of the jungle. Furthermore, a guide provides a much more comprehensive educational experience regarding our area’s flora and fauna. Pura Vida and we hope to see you pretty soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I work as travel inspector and I just passed 3 amazing days at El Parador! The property is elegant and classy, the decoration is romantic and exquisite! Love is in the air All over this place, delicious gastronomy, good wines and cocktails. The pool is completely the best in All Manuel Antonio area and invite You to swim since the First time You enter to the hotel. Amazing ocean views All the time! The staff is extremely friendly, genuine and respecful and willing to assist You All the time in a Perfect way that makes You feel at home from beginning to ending of your Pleasant stay. This an ecoluxury hotel that really worth to visit. get ready to fall in love!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
MUCHAS GRACIAS! Well, what can we say in response to such a stellar review? We’ll start with a heart-felt Thank You! We are always delighted to learn of our guests positive experiences at Parador and are grateful that you’ve taken time out of your busy schedule to share your thoughts and observations with us – and the world. Come back soon! It will be our pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York PA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I just attended his son's wedding. Resort was first class including amenities. Restaurant was excellent. Loved the experience. Actually saw monkeys on one morning frolicking in the trees. Loved the pool and the pool side bar. I agree with past reviews that the hotel staff were very warm and friendly. Actually pronounced my name correctly - my proper name I mean. The only other time that has occurred was at the Ritz Carlton in Puerto Rico. We had the reception dinner at the Parador as well and everything was perfect including the surroundings, the meal and the service. Highly recommend. The only thing we didn't like was the three hours plus drive from the airport. However the driver of the shuttle bus was wonderful and the trip was actually very interesting

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Parador was a five star resort in my opinion. The views are incredible and the grounds are amazing. The hotel staff were so friendly -- always asking what they could do for us. And they were always smiling. The room was beautiful and we were upgraded upon arrival. We walked the hotel trail and saw monkeys and a sloth early in the morning. The pool area was a paradise with swim up bar. I am not sure how there could be a nicer hotel in the area than this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Marilee. We pride ourselves on providing wonderful and personal service to our guests, so we are thankful that you mentioned it as a highlight of your trip. As a 4-star property with 5-star service, we provide our guests with everything they deserve and more than they expect. It's all magic, created every day in Parador Resort & Spa.
We are so glad you had such an amazing time during your stay! You really did get the best view in the resort and nothing sounds better than waking up to the view of the exotic monkeys and the cute sloths. We would love for you to return and explore more of Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I spent three days at the Parador and it was great. The grounds are beautiful and there is always some little spot to sit and just enjoy. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. We brought school supplies to the hotel, as the Parador is a drop off location for Pack for a Purpose. The hotel invited us to go to the sponsored school and it was delightful. Please - if you are going to Costa Rica check out the Pack for a Purpose website

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
You are too kind! We always say that our resort is exceptional but it is the staff that makes it truly special. We will be sure to let them know that they made your vacation memorable. MUCHAS GRACIAS for your contribution and participation in PACK FOR A PURPOSE to deliver school supplies to one of our schools. We are so overjoyed every time our guests joins us to deliver schools supplies and meet the children – bringing a smile to a child’s face is truly an emotional and unforgettable experience!
We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.