We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parador
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Atenas, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

What is there to say about the Parador other than everything about it was fabulous, the service, the staff, the location, the hotel, the decor, the food, the rooms, the management and also all of the wild life that we saw on the property. We will definitely be staying there the next time we visit Manuel Antonio!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are so pleased that your stay at Parador Resort & Spa met – and hopefully exceeded – your desires and expectations. It is our passionate goal to ensure that every one of our visitors has the best possible experience at both the hotel and in Manuel Antonio. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to serving you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    735
    300
    91
    37
    24
See reviews for
297
565
20
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Parador for 8 nights during this leg of our first trip to Costa Rica organised by our fantastic travel experts at Escape Worldwide. We had done quite a lot of research before choosing our hotel for the Manuel Antonio stay and quite sure that we made the best choice.

On arrival after a four-hour drive from San Jose airport (via Interbus who I would recommend for Costa Rica transfers), we were greeted with the customary tropical fruit drink and a check in process which summarised the hotel and grounds. We were delighted to have been upgraded from our Garden room to a Premium Ocean View room which was unexpected, but very welcome.

To access the rooms in the premium and premium plus block, you could either take some stairs or a quaint little funicular car (basically an elevator that would slide up and down some rails at a steep angle) – we used both depending how tired we were (or if we were carrying luggage).
The room itself was as good as we could have hoped for – two queen beds, mini bar, satellite TV, programmable air conditioning, telephone and coffee-making (no tea) facilities. There was also free wifi but we found this problematic most of the time and had to leave the room and try another part of the hotel for some access.

The highlight of our room, however, was the balcony. Fairly private and with views over the bay to Quepos, it was possible to sit there and watch the wildlife – without leaving our room, we could spot black vultures, small colourful birds, howler monkeys and large black iguanas in the trees literally meters from the balcony. We had halloween crabs, butterflies of varying colours, down below while night brought out the frogs, geckos and some amazing insects (check out the leaf bug image I've uploaded with this review – that was taken just outside our room).

As for the rest of the resort, it had everything you would expect and more. Plenty of dining & drinking options, multiple swimming pools including a nice quiet adult pool which is always good, as well as tennis courts, a spa, a gym, a shop, a tours/excursions kiosk, a free shuttle to/from Manuel Antonio beaches and National park and also, the highlight for us, a large private nature trail.

Dining was provided via several restaurants, including a themed buffet to an a-la carte restaurant serving Central American cuisine, a sushi restaurant and various snacks and light bites at the bars. We generally had larger lunches and so only really had snacks/light bites for dinners although we did try the El Quijote restaurant one evening. Breakfasts were the highlight for me – especially of note was the thick sugary French toast and the made-on-demand omelettes. However, the majority meals we had onsite were rather unexciting (apart from the meal at El Quijote) and in my opinion quite overpriced – we found dining in New York (during an earlier part of the same trip) cheaper! Drinks were equally expensive although there is a happy hour each evening which is when the bar tends to get a little busier and service gets a little slower). If you can accept the prices, some of the cocktails are interesting with a menu of drinks named after the native wildlife (the tree frog, the gecko etc).

There are no real other dining options in walking distance (well not at night at least) so if you do want to eat elsewhere during the evening (after the free shuttle buses have stopped), you need to get a taxi which will work out at around $10 each way to Manuel Antonio but if you eat at the right places, it may still work out cheaper!

As for the other facilities... the shop was great, if (again) a little pricey, for bottled drinks, trinkets and self-service laundry tokens. $10 bought us two tokens (one for the washer, one for the dryer) and a small clear pouch of detergent- still way cheaper for a full wash load than using the hotel laundry service. The tour desk was also useful – we booked a few tours through the desk, including an ATV tour to Rainmaker rainforest, a trimaran morning cruise, a boat trip out into the mangroves by Damas Island and also a night tour around the monkey trails. All were good and I’d especially recommend the ATV and Damas Island tours. I didn't use the spa - my partner did use it and she wasn't overly impressed - for the price (best part of 100 bucks), her manicure and pedicure was a little disappointing - the varnish application was a bit amateur and it had to be removed the next day after starting to chip off.

The real draw of the Parador is, for me, the monkey trails... essentially a private little rainforest, bordered by the sea cliffs, with it’s own wildlife.. everything from tree frogs to lizards of varying sizes, squirrel and howler monkeys, two and three-toed sloths and a whole host of other creatures that flew, scuttled and climbed around. We actually saw more wildlife in here that our two trips into MA National Park!

The hotel itself had no beaches of it’s own *being high up on it's own little peninsula), but a 10-minute walk down thehill and along a small trail leads you into a small secluded cove with it’s own sandy beach (Biesanz Beach), if you’re into that (I'm not really a beach person). However, as mentioned above, there was a regular free shuttle to/from the main Manuel Antonio areas and if you really like beaches, Playa Manuel Antonio inside the park is a fairly nice beach surrounded by rainforest filled with all manner of creatures.

Basically, if you like wildlife, comfortable surroundings and good service with a smile, I heartily recommend the Parador and I wouldn't hesitate to book there again if returning to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We thank you for writing such an extended review about our Resort. Your praise is so overwhelming that it is difficult to know where to begin with expression of our gratitude. Although we cannot take credit for the spectacular geography that surrounds us, the true ambiance of Parador comes together with the level of service of our staff, wonderful rooms, Award winning spa, room service, and so much more. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly our fabulous breakfast, the tours and the yoga classes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Parador for 6 nights in Las Suites. We had great views of the resort and the ocean. WIFI is free at the resort but did not always work in our room. The staff was very friendly and accommodating (Marianella helped us from the very beginning with planning our vacation). They provided shuttles which made getting around very easy. Our meals were delicious and pricing can be expensive, but its well worth it. We would gladly recommend this location to anyone traveling to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Choose the suites! They are comfortable, we heard very little noise, and there is an adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for such wonderful comments, we are thrilled you choose your anniversary destination at our Resort and everything turned out great!. After all, that is what every honeymoon should be …“perfect”. And that is what we strive for every day. Hopefully we will see you again on your anniversary. Pura Vida!
________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Parador for 4 nights and the first thing I should say is our room was fine, with a great sea view. Some of our group weren't so happy with their views and the noise from air conditioning units and asked and were moved.
Unfortunately on the day we travelled some 8 hours to get there we waited 1.5 hours for our meal and when it arrived it was lukewarm. Being tired, I asked to speak to the manager in the morning and duly received a phone call from his colleague at 7am!!!! Why the staff should think that I'd want to deal with the problem that early I still don't understand. However, when I later spoke to the Manager he was very helpful and compensated my group for the failings of the night before.
We did eat there on our fourth night on the upstairs balcony and the food was quite good although those that had the buffet weren't so happy especially as there were no puds left. Still the waitress(I didn't get her name) who looked after us was very good and managed to scrounge some desserts for us.
In general the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel pools were really good and there was a secluded adult pool for those who wanted to keep away from the kids and the pool bar.
Lunch at the pool bar was very reasonable and we received good service there.
Laundry facilities were good either self service $10 or through room service.
There's a 20 minute walk down to a nearby beach which although a bit rough was easy enough and the beach was lovely. Snorkel gear and kayaks are available for hire there.
The shuttle to Manuel Antonio was efficient and the driver was very helpful.
The hotel is in a beautiful position with excellent trails where a wide variety of monkeys and birds could be viewed. Be aware, some of the paths are quite steep.

My wife had a session in the spa and rated the service, ambience and treatments as excellent.

This is, in general, is a beautiful hotel and I would recommend it for some relaxing r&r after touring Costa Rica but be aware that they may have a few problems in the kitchen on busy nights.

Room Tip: Insist that you don't overlook the air conditioning units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review—we’re glad you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and the stunning views to the ocean.

We’re sorry you felt you did not enjoy your experience on the restaurant as our goal is to provide a superior product, amenities and high quality service and hospitality.

We are glad your stay with us and it’s definitely one of our calling cards—and we thank you for pointing out some details that we will definitely look into. We apologize you had a less than stellar experience with our service, as we strive to always offer nothing less than the best. Please know that myself and our groups coordinator were always on hand and checking in to take care of any issues, and we would have been more than happy to do so during your stay so as to ensure your final impression was a positive one.

Again, thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on this forum. We appreciate your candor and, as with all of our guests, we take your comments very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We could not have been happy and more pleased with this resort! We found a great deal and stayed in the garden room. This resort is 100% worth the price, and will make your stay in Costa Rica worth while. We enjoyed everything from the spa, yoga lessons, the food, the service to the tours and pools.

They greet you with a cool towel, and refreshing juice to kick off your stay at the resort. The service was top-notch and the staff was always friendly and helpful. We felt very safe as well. There are several pools on the grounds with the best being at the top of the hill by the ocean view rooms. It's always quiet, and has a restaurant by the pool as well.

There is a bus that runs to and from the beach each day from 7am - 5pm so if you don't have a car it works great. After 5pm you can take a cab for $10 one way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share that you and your large extended family had a wonderful time at Parador. Providing the best possible vacation experience is our primary goal and your comments perfectly reflect the pride everyone here takes in ensuring that our guests are happy. We are always gratified to hear that our accommodating and gracious staff has done it again! We’re further pleased to know that the amenities and superlative service we offer exceeded your expectations and that the outside tours we arranged for your family were enjoyed by all. It will be our great pleasure to serve you again next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, Oxfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very high standard accommodation with spectacular views over the ocean and Manuel Antonio National Park, helpful and friendly staff, excellent food, friendly bar, beautiful swimming pools, gardens and walking areas. Pretty close to perfection.

The hotel runs a free shuttle service to Manuel Antonio National Park which is well worth a visit...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Pura Vida! Thank you for your comments! We love that you chose Parador for your vacation and enjoyed our wonderful private piece of paradise. So glad that to hear that you enjoyed our free shuttle service to our national treasure – Manuel Antonio National Park. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a beautiful room in the tower with a amazing view of the ocean. If you stay on the 4th floor or higher you should have a view on both sides, out your front door and off your balcony. The balconies have jacuzzi tubs. The monkeys will wake you around 5:00am but get up and check them out and watch the sunrise. This resort has fabulous adult pools and a nice family pool with a swim up bar. The drinking age is 18 so my 18 year old loved the swim up bar. The pools are a little too warm the only drawback of the whole place. Take the monkey walk or walk down to the beach. The snorkeling was not great but the beach was really peaceful. Iguanas and crab everywhere. The buffets are great at breakfast and dinner. The staff is very nice, smiling and happy to help. Washer and dryer=$8 a load.

Room Tip: Tower is away from the main entrance but great view and peaceful. You will have a view of one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Your story is a perfect example of how our hotel caters to the entire family—young and old! Thanks so much for sharing. We do our best to make sure our guests have a complete 5-star experience, from the accommodations to the food, the pool, the spa, and yes, our staff is a big part of it as well. We hope you had the chance to take one of the nature tours at Manuel Antonio or on our own grounds and took home many great pics of the local wildlife. We’re happy it was a memorable vacation for all of you . We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.