We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parador
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Verona, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for Christmas 2012. We were part of a group of about 25. This was still before the peak season.
The first night was a fabulous buffet open to everyone. You chose what you wanted and they grilled it for you. There were many options. It was all-you-can-eat. Breakfast buffets were also good.
We used this as a base of operations for going to Isla Damas, Manuel Antonio and a snorkel cruise out of Quepos. It was convenient to all. There are several trails through their grounds. We went for a night hike and saw a Ferruginous Pygmy Owl.

Room Tip: There's a small self-serve laundry. It has two washers and two dryers. They worked fine, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Your kind words are very welcome. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay including our famous buffet! And glad to see that you enjoyed excursions to Isla Damas, Manuel Antonio and a snorkel cruise out of Quepos.

Thank you for sharing with others your wonderful experience in this forum.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    743
    300
    94
    37
    24
See reviews for
303
568
20
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanlivery, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is in glorious immaculately kept grounds with wonderful views.Breakfasts are superb, dinners not so good with prices that do not include the 23% taxes. This was the only time when service was less than perfect with some waiters needing better training.The shuttle bus is not available in the evening so we were not able to try other restaurants without a $20 taxi.We opted for the cheapest garden room which was spacious and well equipped with a sunny flowery terrace looking into the trees where we could watch the birds,butterflies and monkeys.For a change of view and more breeze we took the lift to the terrace above.The adult pool is small and shallow but the nearby beach which you walk down a forest path to was safe and unspoiled.You can also hire equipment there.And if you are feeling very lazy they will send a golf cart to pick you up from the top of the path.

Room Tip: Why spend more for a top room. How long are you going to spend in it?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
You’re so right: monkeys, birds and butterflies show up quite often on our grounds, and we’ve gone to great lengths to make sure they feel quite at home
We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your experience in the restaurant as it help us to improve our services and have taken the necessary steps to improve the areas that you highlighted.

I truly hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The views from this Premium Plus room are fantastic, on one side the quiet bay in the distance with dense forest that is full of vibrant life right outside the balcony. The other view is a breathtaking panorama of the Pacific crashing into the inshore rocks.
I have to say that this hotel is probably the best I've ever stayed in and I've stayed in a few on my travels.
The room and its location was perfect, the staff were pleasant, polite and attentive.
The atmosphere within the public areas took one back to a historic time, there is loads of interesting artifacts dotted around the place at strategic places. The Piano Bar could be an old Mexican saloon.
The Pools are idyllic, especially the adults pool....bet you have a photo shoot with the crocodile in the main pool :-)....after you've wrestled the croc into submission you can swim up to the pool bar for a well deserved beer.
We preferred the snack restaurant meals that finish at 5.30pm to the main Galeria restaurant.
Facilities are spot on: gym, souvenir shop and activity shack where you can pay for one of their guided tours around the hotel's nature trail. You have got to do the night tour, it really is the rainforest at night.................and you're never more that 300 metres from a luxurious hotel, unbelievable!
Special mention to manager Silvia, Thank-you again Ma'am you were a Diamond xx

Room Tip: Premium Plus, room 423 is heaven lol. All of those rooms are fantastic but that one has an L shaped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you liked the breathtaking views and the location of our Hotel, as well as you were very satisfied with your room and the amenities that we provide to our guests. Also glad to hear that you enjoyed our guided tours and the relaxing atmosphere at the Galeria Restaurant..

Thank you also for your positive feedback regarding our employees, especially highlighting our Group Manager helpfulness.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I spent a couple of days in the Manuel Antonio area during my vacation in Costa Rica. The pictures online were great and I never actually thought what I'd see with my own eyes could be more beautiful than what the photos represented. When I arrived, I was greeted by the reception and byJimmy who brought me a tropical beverage (it should have been alcoholic) along with a wet towel for my hands. We were driven to the stairs leading to our room. As many others have said, this place is a bit off the beaten path from the main road and I didn't mind. They have scheduled complimentary shuttle rides to the beach area throughout the day.

The onsite restaurant was a bit expensive. Because I arrived late and the location, I didn't have much of a choice in food. Dinner was done buffett style for $30/USD per person. It was sushi night. I thought they were a bit too proud of themself for charging that amount of money for the options and quality. I wasn't aware that I could have eaten out of their regular menu until I saw another couple getting different meals. Breakfast was pretty standard with made to order omelette.

The weather and the view from the hotel was absolutely stunning.

Overall, I am satisfied with my stay here. I wish the food wasn't so overpriced for what it was and their pool side drinks need more alcohol content. After all, this is a very touristy area.

I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Keep your AC on high to keep the flying ants away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your experience in this forum. So glad to see that our resort location, views, natural surroundings and amenities exceeded your expectations
We are sad to hear that you did not have the opportunity to enjoy our different dining venues which include four restaurants serving international and local dishes at reasonable prices. Thank you for making mention by name some of our outstanding staff members as the are truly special to us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The rooms are beautiful I have stayed in the older part of the hotel an the newer part. Now I prefer to stay in the new building room 5432 is one of the rooms I have stayed in . This room is beautiful and has great views the deck over looks the pool an ocean . It sets on the corner next to the jungle while I am showering I can look out at the jungle where I have saw Howler Monkey families looking back at me :0). On my last stay I was lucky enough to get the room on the top floor this time I was lucky enough to see a large Howler Monkey family moving threw the jungle going from there night time place to a day time place. I saw three mommies with babies on their backs of course dad and other family members. Also that same morning the White Face Monkeys were traveling what luck .This part of this hotel is very Monkey friendly the deck outside the rooms wraps around so you can follow the monkeys as they travel. The rooms have small tubs on each deck for romantic ocean viewing and the staff will even set them up for you so after dinner you can come back to a bath of rosé petals. This Hotel also have a romantic wine cellar that can be used for a romantic dinner. They also have a great spa the spa has a pool an hot tub open to the jungle which I have saw Monkeys . At the main building they have a pool with swim up bar then a Adult Pool closer to the jungle. he new Building has a pool a pool and bar to have drinks orLunch. I say go and enjoy!

Room Tip: New Building 5432
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We truly appreciate your feedback!

It is so gratifying to read your recognizing words and your praise of our service quality. Please be assured that we highly value your patronage and thank you for being such a loyal fan of Parador Resort & Spa! Glad to see that you enjoyed the Howler Monkeys! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your romantic getaway!

We would be thrilled to welcome you back anytime in the future! Thank you for sharing your experience in this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed at this resort and it was absolutely beautiful. The hotel is clean, the room was nicely decorated and clean also. The amenities were plentiful and the pools overlooking the ocean were magnificent and inviting. The restaurant had good food and the breakfasts were plentiful and delicious with a great selection of fresh foods. The nature preserve on the property allowed us to see a lot of wildlife including the monkeys and many iguanas just hanging out including a sloth hanging out in a tree! Our room had a great view of the canopy and the ocean and we were able to use the outdoor elevator, which our kids enjoyed using.

If you want to stay in a little piece of paradise, stay at the Hotel Parador. It is definitely worth the trip! And again, the staff at this hotel could not be more helpful and friendly. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay at Parador! From the natural surroundings, service, amenities, views, daily buffet breakfasts with a great selection of fresh foods and of course, the sloths! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Okay, first of all its a beautiful property that is very well maintained and has a great location. We reserved 3 nights in a Garden View king room for $185/night through Expedia. When we checked in, we were told that they couldn't honor our "request" for a king room, but they would upgrade us to a garden plus room with two beds. After much "discussion" with the front desk folks they called a supervisor who told me that they couldn't put us into a king room until the last night of our stay and they would put us in a premium plus room that night. That was the best they could do. Funny, our neighbors that checked in after us on a similar deal did in fact get a king room...hmmmm. Our room was very nice, but both nights we had issues with the power going off and then problems getting the AC back on. We had to have maintenance come each time the power cycled off. A real pain that caused us to lose sleep both nights. The 3rd night we were upgraded to a great room with a gorgeous view. And no electrical issues. Anyway the breakfast was great and the staff was universally cheerful and accommodating. Great hotel with great amenities and view. Lots of monkeys and birds in the area were a bonus as well. Other than the problem with getting our king bed....it was a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Parador Resort & Spa. I am sorry that your request for a king size bed was not available on the date of your arrival and that there were problems with the AC. However, we are happy to see that after we upgraded you to a great room with a fabulous view you truly enjoyed your stay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet, service, amenities and the monkeys, birds and natural surroundings. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.