We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Parador, Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Parador to your Saves list
Hotel Parador
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Miller Place, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Parador, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We were welcomed with a cool drink and checked right in. Our room was large and beautiful with a great view. The service was amazing, the food was wonderful and the coffee was excellent!

There were three beautiful pools but we preferred to go to the ocean. The water was so warm we didn't want to come out. Manuel Antonio National Park is amazing with all sorts of birds and animals. We had guides that brought telescopes so we could see the wildlife deep in the jungle. We also went on a sailboat dinner cruise and a Mangrove Boat Tour. It was really a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are so glad you had such a wonderful time. We agree that the views of the Pacific Ocean and rainforests are amazing and cannot be beat. We love hearing you love our coffee, we cannot wait for your return to experience more of what makes Hotel Parador and Costa Rica special.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    359
    118
    38
    28
See reviews for
381
715
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Parador the last two nights of our one week Costa Rica trip. What a refreshing finish to an amazing week. We arrived earlier than check-in time but they handed us a cold pineapple drink and checked us right in. We had an incredible suite over-looking the ocean. The resort is spotless with 3 beautiful pools and many amenities (spa, tennis, etc. that we did not have time to use) including a nice hiking trail. Bed was very comfortable and when we returned at night the bed was turned down (with the token chocolates left) and used towels replaced.
As others mentioned the beach is a short walk but secluded enough to seem semi-private. Saw several monkeys up close on the trail to the beach.
The staff was all very accommodating and friendly. At dinner one night we asked for coconut water ( not on menu) and our waiter came back with a topped coconut with 2 straws. Another time we asked for garlic bread (also not on menu) and they made it for us. Food was very good, including breakfast buffet. We were surprised that the only dessert offerings are ice cream (which was excellent) or crepes.
Parador is about a mile off of the main road on a peninsula (which makes for the amazing views). We like a little isolation but if you like to walk from your hotel to shops and restaurants you might want to stay on the main street, where other hotels are. We had a car but others without took a 3 minute cab ride. Manuel Antonio Park is only about a 10 minute ride.

Room Tip: There are various type rooms here. We recommend the Suites unit with its own pool and bar/cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Like you, we love refreshing coconut water! We are very happy you had fabulous experience at Parador. Our staff indeed make the difference in the quality experience. We provide service way beyond expectations and consider that the basis of your holiday experience. You’re so right: monkeys show up quite often on our grounds, and we’ve gone to great lengths to make sure they feel quite at home. Did you get a chance to go on a night tour? The frog pond is a real treat! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went from Feb 28th-Mar 2nd with my wife and 4 yr old. Great service since we got there til we left. We stayed in premium ocean room. Great ocean and jungle views. We saw about 20 monkeys hanging our from our balcony. Main pool was nice, pretty warm though, i guess some people like that. Good buffet breakfast and coffee. Had dinner one night and it was very good.. a bit pricey though, but worth it. Our room was very clean,.. if you leave the balcony door open some insects might get in.
They have go carts to take you halfway to the nice and tranquil Biesaenz Beach. Then it's 10 min walk downhill. Altogether it was a excelent experience with great views. The only minor downside was the wifi reception, which isn't important to some people. Woud definately go back. Checkin is at 3pm and checkout at 11am.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Parador. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed a pleasant and relaxing time in our facilities and most importantly, that you had the opportunity to enjoy watching the monkeys right from your room. We're also glad that you enjoy our breakfast—and our famous Costa Rican Coffee. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our room was nice and clean. Did find a small cockroach crawling on the bed. The pool while nice looking and view excellent it was too hot and not very refreshing as it was so hot.
The ice maker by our room never had ice however when I called to the front desk some one brought ice to our room right away.
The monkey trailer was cool saw lots of monkeys and a sloth. At night we went down to the pond and saw the biggest bull frog I have ever seen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review—we’re glad you enjoyed our view to the beautiful Pacific Ocean and the trails within the property. We are happy that you were able to see some of the many animals that call our small reserve home.
About the cockroach, please accept our apologies as this is the first time that we hear of a incident similar to yours. As we are surrounded by a jungle, this kind of incidents are sometimes difficult to prevent. However, please note that the cockroach that you found came from the natural surroundings of our resort and not from sources related to pipes or lack of cleanliness.

We also would like to reiterate that our standards of cleanliness are very high and this was something quite unusual. Again, our apologies for the unpleasant situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I, along with some friends, just returned from a week's stay at this outstanding resort.
Everything about our stay was exceptional; the staff, our rooms, the grounds and pools, and the sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean, the bay and coastline, and the rain forest. Breakfast buffet (included in our room rates) was fabulous. We enjoyed it each morning in the open air setting. Rooms were made up daily, and beds turned down while we were out to dinner. The resort offers a free and convenient shuttle to a wonderful beach only 5 minutes away. There is almost always live music at night, and dinner specials are offered daily (although we ventured out to surrounding restaurants on several evenings). Go to Parador once and you'll return again!

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor of the main building (400 #'s). The view from your private balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Parador Resort & Spa – our famous breakfast buffet, amenities, nightlife entertainment and service.

Thank you for sharing your time with us on the Parador property and sharing your wonderful experience with other readers on this TripAdvisor forum.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I spent new years 2012 at this fantastic hotel. The service was amazing as were the staff. No complaints about the food either. The nearby public beach was a little poor and very littered.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during the New Year’s celebration – so glad you were part of our celebration!
We hope to welcome you back in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Me and my wife were ther 5 nights for our Honnymoon, its an exelent hotel we had a wonderful veacation in costa rica for a month and it was the "finale". the service was amazing from the front desk trew the belboys and everybody els so nice evrythung with a big smile. the view was amazing all over the hotel mostly from our suit 4524 in the suits bilding.
there is shatels to the beach and to manuel antonio park wich was very nice.
the food is abit expensive in the resturant but we had a grate dinner in our packege....:)
i would defenetly come and visit this hotel againe...

Room Tip: suits bilding is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We feel truly honored that you chose Parador Resort & Spa to celebrate the beginning of your marriage.

We love to cater to honeymooners and create something truly special that they will remember for the rest of their lives.
Honeymooners that were with us over the years are now returning to celebrate their ongoing wedding anniversaries. We simply love that!
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Parador Resort & Spa . We hope to welcome you back for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.