We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parador
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This review is long overdue. We actually stayed at Parador in May 2011.

This is hands down the best hotel we've stayed at to date. Coincidentally, on our flight into CR, we ended up sitting next to a woman who was a local and frequently spends her vacations at this hotel with her family.

The grounds are unbelievably beautiful, especially the main pool overlooking the Pacific. Since we arrived at the beginning of the rainy season, it did rain like clockwork everyday around 5pm. But the way the grounds are set up, we didn't mind. Walking from the lobby to your room is completely covered, so it was convenient not having to carry an umbrella. We even stayed in the pool during one storm which was actually pleasant.

Complimentary shuttle to the beach was convenient and the driver would even stop and point out huge iguanas, monkeys in the trees along the way.

Breakfast was great, especially loved all the fresh fruit. We mostly ate dinner at the hotel's restaurants and always found the food to be good, even though a bit pricey, including the sushi we had one night.

Staff was very helpful and we booked a snorkeling trip through them without a problem.

Loved this hotel and Costa Rica - truly felt like paradise!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room and had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are so happy to hear from you after almost two years! If it was the best hotel for you then, you will definately have to come back soon so you can enjoy some great add-ons and improvements, including new tours, and delicious new dishes.

Your comprehensive review was welcoming and we thank you for taking your personal time to make your wonderful comments on our staff, food, decor and overall surroundings.

Thank you so very much for having spent your holiday with us and we look forward to your return visit......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    301
    94
    37
    24
See reviews for
303
570
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Parador Hotel in Costa Rica ,very nice rooms ,, good restraunts and great food. 2 pools one adult and one for all , The beach is very nice and is about 12 minutes away by hotel shuttle which is no problem to take .The staff is very helpful and friendly. I can not say enough about this place except excellent .We arrived at this hotel at the end of our tour with Trafalgar Tours ,, a well worth doing tour. The guides were full of information about everything .

Room Tip: I don't think you have to worry about room choices as I looked into a couple others and about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Wonderful...!! Marvelous...!! Thank you for coming to Parador Resort & Spa and allowing us to have you in our home for the short period you were here in Costa Rica.

Our staff from the front desk to our restaurant staff to our pool attendants still speak of your kind words and meaningful understanding of what we have created here at our 5 star service resort.

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on this TripAdivsor forum.

You are welcome back with open arms......anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the moment you step through their gate. You are greeted by eager staff awaiting to help you with your every need. Guillermo was ready upon parking to carry our bags to the front desk. He then proceeded to bring us nice pina coladas which was a perfect touch after the long drive from san jose. Our room wasn't quite ready because we arrived just a bit earlier so Guillermo took us for a spin on one of the golf carts. He showed us around and eventually dropped me off at the spa because i wanted to inquire about their pricing. After seeing the spa menu I checked out the tour desk and booked a surf lesson for the next day.

The pools here are fantastic with killer views of MA beach. Their are several adult pools and bars within reaching distance of the waters. The breakfast was very good as well and the rooms very tidy. I would definitely come back for a romantic getaway sometime in the future. This place is truly for couples.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great views from the grounds. Garden view room was nice. Staff (as in all in Costa Rica) was very helpful. We chose it, because it was just a few minutes from the beach. A la carte menu at restaurant was overpriced and food was uninspired. However, one evening there was a BBQ station and the food there was excellent.
We are rating as very good and not excellent for 2 reasons:
1 - there is some kind of confusion as to the style the hotel designer was after. Spanish-inspired "parador" motives clash with kitschy Roman statues and crocodile (in pool).
2 - perhaps not extremely romantic and intimate; can have weddings there. Drunk people were shouting outside our room for a long time one night. It is perhaps more fitting for families.

Recommend for beach proximity, cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

From the time we checked in we knew it was a great hotel. checking in was easy because the staff is so good and they continued to be helpful our entire stay. Our room had great views of the ocean and was comfortable and clean. The pools were a good temperature and very pretty. The best unique part about this hotel was that in the early morning and evening the howler and squirrel monkeys came to the trees right outside our balcony and were very photogenic. The other unique factor was the elevator. We stayed on the hilltop in building 10. The elevator is open on the sides and is on a diagonal track so you enjoy the views all the way up. Definitely a place i would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently visited Parador Resort and Spa for the first time and it was such a wonderful experience. The hotel is just beatiful, with breathtaking views of the ocean that you can enjoy while chillin on one of the the pools or enjoying a delicious meal. The staff is very helpful and nice, they will go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and welcome during your stay. Make sure you take a hike on the trails surrounding the property. And the food... OMG! Everything was simply delicious.

I will definitely go back to this hotel as soon as I can!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a first class resort. Saw three species of monkeys on the property, two of them right outside of our room. We were woken, one morning, by the Howler monkees. Quite the experience. Saw whales spouting from the pool area shortly after arrival. The grounds were unbelievably beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurants were a little pricey but the food was excellent. The free breakfast had anything that you would want. Excursions are offered with the staff being the guide.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We love nothing more than to receive comments such as the one above from our recent guests.

Service and uncompromising attention to detail when it comes to our guests and their desires.

We have a saying at Parador.........”For our guests, it is all that you deserve and much more than you expect.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.