We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and funkily charming!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casitas Eclipse to your Saves list
Hotel Casitas Eclipse
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Upstate New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique and funkily charming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

How many hotels have their own rainforest? How many hotels feature agoutis, iguanas, a crocodile and weird glass sculptures, on a carefully landscaped and laid-out terrain? Just one, I'm betting. Yes, the Casitas Eclipse is not a new place, and yes, they only have wifi in certain areas. But the rooms are enormous, the A/C works, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed here on the last leg of a four-stop Costa Rica rainy season vacation, and were charmed by its quirkiness. We preferred it over the resort, lodge and eco-hotels that preceded it. Close to Manuel Antonio, the beach and lots of restaurants, it's worth a visit.

Room Tip: No fitness center or room service, but we could have slept five in our room, and they kept it clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    53
    39
    32
    19
See reviews for
28
79
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is dated.. Unlike most hotels, there were no amenities (soap, shampoo, etc) in the room. Air conditioning in our room was an antique and noisy. It sounded like an engine running right next to our room. Faucets were 'loose' that the whole set rotates with the handle. We never had 'clean' towels that were free from dirts or embeded dirty marks. Cottage layouts were confusing. There were many pools on the property. There are not clean. We never felt that we had a clear view of the pool bottom. We had a room that is all the way in the back. After staying for three days, our family still could not get to our room/cottage in one attempt.

There is no wifi in the room. Wifi is only available at the restaurant and at the front office. Both are open air structures. Mosiquitos had a great time feeding on me when I had to get on internet in the evening. It was not pleasant. Both restaurant and front office close at 10PM. If wifi router got into trouble, wifi service is gone.

Grounds were pretty. Many flowere and colorful variated plants. It is very pleasant to walk around the property. We saw monkeys and other additional wild lifes.

Restaurant wise, I would recommend the restaurant "El Avion" across the street. We had a good meal in Manuel Antonio area there. I will definitely recommend against going 'Cate Negro" on the property. Customers voted them out. We ate there one night. Food was below expectation. We were the only customers from 7 to 8:30PM. Another night, they had no customer.for the period I used wifi at the "Cate Negro".

Room Tip: We had a room in the back towards the woods. I think it helped for spotting wild lifes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here while in Manuel Antonio and there was three of us to the room. The room is extra large. The grounds were well manicured.There were always Agouti's roaming the grounds early in the mornng. The chestnut-mandibled toucans were in the trees everyday which we got to make fantastic pic opportunities. There is a restaurant directly across the street that has the entire restaurant built around a airplane. Everything on the menu is great. The hotel restaurant is ok . but The El Avion is better. There were tons of smaller monkey everywhere as well as the Howler monkeys and sloths either all on the property or across the street while we were there. A great place would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is ideally located, a 20 minute walk from the beach (uphill) and near several nice places to eat. We also saw lots of toucans, monkeys and other wildlife just down the road which was amazing! It's a safe and relaxed area.

Sadly, the hotel itself is very dated and falls way behind the many lovely ones in the area. The restaurant is best avoided and the room wasn't very well equipped or clean. The service was fair but not great. I would avoid and maybe spend the extra for somewhere nicer. 2* at best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overall fair, would not use again. Everything here was worn out. Kitchen appliances, towels, hardware were all dated and very worn. One bright spot was a friendly and helpful staff. Is very close to ma park and decent restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

First the good-The location and the grounds of the hotel are old but very beautiful. The staff in the restaurant was wonderful. The floors and bathrooms in the rooms were impeccable. It has a fabulous and interesting trail in the back that is a must-see. With very little expense, this hotel could be wonderful. There were a few ants in the room but this IS a tropical climate so that didn't bother us at all. I loved the little balcony with a standard room and table overlooking the pool. The bad- dusty spray painted lamp shades, old comforters and "pilly" sheets, no coffee in the room for a country known for it's coffee. For me steps were not an issue but if you are handi-capped in any way by steps or have brought too much luggage, choose another hotel.

If you get a good rate and decide to stay here, some recommendations... Take the city bus into Quepos for food. The family owned restaurants or Sodas are very good and cheap. Don't worry about crowding onto the bus. It's only a few minutes ride and only about 50 cents per person, rather than $10.00 for a taxi. You will pay at least two or three times the amount for food in Manuel Antonio. The bus loops back and forth between Quepos and Manuel Antonio every 20 minutes so don't worry about getting back to the hotel. Bring some instant coffee if you want coffee in your room before breakfast. The staff at reception told me this hotel costs $125.00 to $150.00 US per night. I don't know for sure since it was part of a package but it is not worth that. The photos of the grounds are accurate--it is quaint and beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

After I read the other reviews, I was a little worried about this hotel. No reason! The grounds are beautiful and kept impeccably clean, and the view from our room was spectacular. Our room was very nice -- better than ours at home (and with three beds... I kind of felt like Goldilocks), and the bathroom was also nice -- again, better and larger than ours at home (in the U.S.). The shower was huge! My husband and I found our bed to be quite comfortable, though it might not look that way in the photos on the hotel's website. The air conditioning and fans worked great. It was really nice to have a refrigerator in the room, because as anyone knows, any food items would need to be shut away to discourage ants and such. We even put our dry goods (pretzels) in there. One of the best parts of the room was right outside the room -- a nice table and chairs where we could read, enjoy a glass of wine, and listen to the birdsong. It was also great for the night we had an intense rainstorm/thunderstorm -- we sat out there for an hour, until the rain got too heavy.

I only swam in the pools a couple of times (we really had only 4 full days there, though we stayed 5 nights). Very nice. What a location for a peaceful swim!

Yes, there are lots of steps, but they are shallow and easy -- just don't rush! I found that they provide a nice feeling of privacy as the paths branch off to different casitas and rooms. Remember: Pura Vida!

The attached restaurant, Ristorante Gato Negro, was good. We only ate there one night, though, because I don't like eating in an empty or nearly empty restaurant. We eat early; I think most customers came a little later. The food was good, the ice cream excellent, the service fantastic. The "included" breakfasts offered a nice variety of options -- I think the "tipico" was the best. Our waiter was nice and on the last day made us a special juice because we could not drink orange juice.

We spent three of our evenings at El Avion, which is across the street from the hotel. What a fantastic view! That was the major draw for us; the food was good, but nothing to rave about. The service from the wait staff varied from excellent to mediocre, depending on the night and our table's location, but we always got what we needed even if we had to waive the waiter over. And we always got a table with an expansive view of the ocean.

I found that everyone was quite gracious and friendly. Folks spoke English, but like anyone, were more comfortable speaking in their first language. They accepted my Spanish readily, and were even kind enough to compliment me on it.

The hotel will set you up with tours; we too the mangrove boat tour -- wonderful! I would do that again also.

Finally: Transportation: So easy! Just take the bus -- for 280 colones each person -- either into Quepos or to Manuel Antonio National Park. Buses run every 15-20 min., and the hotel can change money for you (also, the bus driver will make change).

I hope your stay here is as nice as ours was.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304. Nice tile floors, nice big shower, great view from the shared balcony. Plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casitas Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Address: Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casitas Eclipse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Eclipse is an exuberant Mediterranean - style hotel, located in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. Just in front of the hotel, the main road that heads to Manuel Antonio National Park and to the beach.The hotel is surrounded by exotic gardens which combined with their strategic location right next to the National Park, enables guests to enjoy within premises, the occasional visits of monkeys, iguanas, sloths, birds, colored frogs and other wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Casitas Eclipse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Eclipse Hotel
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casitas Eclipse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.