We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There has to be better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casitas Eclipse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casitas Eclipse
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Port Isabel, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“There has to be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

These were at one time two story apartments. The rooms are very old and out of date. The TV is in the living area and a half bed is also. The sofa is built in the wall partition and the TV sits behind the sofa. Each room is either up or down the mountain so you have to climb one way or another. The restaurant is a very strenuous climb up especially for the elderly. There is no Wi-Fi except from the upper heights of the complex. The pool was dirty and not very well kept as was the whole hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    53
    38
    29
    18
See reviews for
27
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a let down compared to everywhere else on our 10 day tour. This is a run down resort. It definitely needs updating. They ask that you to hang your towels so that they are not being washed. We did so, but they still took our towels. There are no ice machines, if you ask for ice they charge you $1. The wifi does not always work where it is supposed to. Sitting by the pool, I notice other people get asked if they would like a drink and it is brought to them. We were never asked if we would like a drink even though I had gone to the bar and gotten one myself. The breakfast menu is very limited. The toast the first day was cold. One the second day I asked for warm toast and it was brought to me. The jungle trail was interesting - wear shoes as there is lots of broken glass.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasitasEclipse, General Manager at Hotel Casitas Eclipse, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Karen M,
We are sorry that our property didn't met your expectations. However we would like to clarify a few things....
Our policies to not waste more water than necessary are clear: hung towels are not to be washed, towels on the floor are. However our maids use common sense, and if your towels are really not so clean, they will wash them anyway, hanged or not.
We don't have an ice machine, and guest are welcome to ask for the ice they need, for there drinks, at our restaurant. If they charged you $1, it's because you asked for a full bag of ice, maybe to take to the beach. We do not provide ice bag services (to go), however there are many supermarkets nearby that do.
We understand that you visited our private trails – on your own -, and you walked through our glass workshop. It worth mention that we upcycle all the glass from the restaurant, and there are no glasses on the trails.
We are surprised that you haven't been asked for drinks at the pool, and we would like you to give us more feedback about this issue here: info@casitaseclipsehotel.com.

Thank you
Hotel Casitas Eclipse's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived at our hotel, Hotel Casitas Eclipse, right after a tour bus so there was a bit of a wait. I had read about the stairs and it was no exaggeration. My knee got a bit sore going up and down, up and down and so on. We were near the bottom. I also had a hard time remembering which way to go, it’s not a straight shot to get anywhere. The room was a nice size. I woke up very early in the morning telling my husband it was raining on my head. Turns out the a/c which was right over the head of the bed was dripping quite a bit of water into the room. Mattress, pillow and my head were soaked. Their fix was to move the bed away from the wall. The pool was right out side our room. Could not believe how hot the water was, truly like a bathtub. But it was hotter out of the pool so it did help some. Not sure I would recommend this hotel. I would not stay here again.

We had lunch at Gato Negro and it was good.

Room Tip: Best be in good shape with good knees
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in room 201 and it was huge. I had a full kitchen including coffee maker (you have to buy your own coffee and fixings) and blender, stove, refrigerator, pots/pans, and even a salad bowl with serving spoons. The two beds were comfortable and the built-in sofas were ok, but not padded enough for sleeping. This hotel is definitely not upscale, but it was clean and I loved having so much room. The screens on windows were torn and allowed bugs to get in, but with the windows shut and the A/C on I was a happy camper. My unit also had a large covered front patio with a table and chairs, although the mosquitoes in Manuel Antonio were large enough to carry me away so I didn't spend a lot of time out of doors in the evening. This is the unit closest to the reception area and I had WIFI available on the patio, but not inside the room.

I had issues with the air conditioner but a very nice maintenance guy fixed that quickly. Others in my group had a number of maintenance issues that caused endless trips from maintenance and in some cases changing rooms 3 times before finding a room with a working air conditioner. Every unit on the property and the restaurant requires a lot of steps. If you do not do well with steps this hotel is not the place for you. The restaurant food was ok but not great. Breakfast was very limited and the entire restaurant is open air. You must order off a set menu and the breakfast and dinner portions I had were very small.

Would I stay at this hotel again? Probably not. I don't know the rates because I paid for the entire trip as a package from a tour operator. Others in our group stayed at Si Como No and said their rooms were much better than mine, but they paid more for their trip package.

Room Tip: Walk about 6 blocks up the hill and eat at Rico Tico. Rico Tico has fabulous food and service, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasitasEclipse, General Manager at Hotel Casitas Eclipse, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Westgalady
Thank you for your review.
We always take our costumers feedback into consideration, as we try to improve our service and quality every day.
We are glad to see that you liked the room, and that our maintenance department responded quickly.
We are a 3 ½ star hotel, that tries to give more services than expected, such as free WIFI areas in the reception area and restaurant.We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our restaurant service. We will look into what happened, as we usually deliver a good service.
We hope that you had a wonderful time in our country,

Thank you again,
Hotel Casitas Eclipse's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights, part of a 10 days tour of Costa Rica.
All bungalow style unit. Room was spacious (we had a two room suite downstairs with kitchen).
Definitely showing wears and tears.
Staff were courteous, except they ruined 2 pieces of our luggage.
Hotel ground was beautiful.
Very disappointed with the quality of breakfast (included), not a buffet. Selection of 4 options. They served some very old and hard toasts for two of the three breakfasts. No excuse.
As a result, we ate 2 diners at El Avion (great view, food, and service, right across the street).
Had lunch at the Falls Garden Cafe and we really enjoyed it.
We had a group dinner in the hotel, the toughest steak we had in a very long time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasitasEclipse, General Manager at Hotel Casitas Eclipse, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear TibetVisitor,
First of all thank you for taking some of your time, to write a review on our property.
We are truly sad that we did not your expectations.
We usually have a good breakfast service, and we will check our daily slog, to see why you were disappointed.
We are sincerely sorry, since it's our goal to met all of our guests expectations.
Please, if you feel comfortable, address your complaints here: info@hotelcasitaseclipsehotel.com

Thank you again,
Hotel Casitas Eclipse's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The only way this gets one star is for the grounds which are beautiful. This place is ancient with no renovations what so ever over the last 50 years. The bathroom is disgusting, grimy grout with 50 years of stains, nasty fixtures, nasty, everything. Dead flies in the bottom of the 50 year old refrigerator.
Towels are gray from age and being washed with jeans. You only get 2 towels, no more available because they do the laundry in ONE machine on the porch of an outhouse. Don't go here.

Room Tip: don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasitasEclipse, General Manager at Hotel Casitas Eclipse, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear WantToSeeItAll,
First of all thank you for taking some of your time, to write a review on our property.
We are completely shocked by your review, and we would like you to contact us – via email – in order to get the total feedback and effectively see what caused such a negative review.
There are only two things that we would like to point out: we do not have only one washing machine. We have several, and the are placed with dryers, in the “house” (our laundry facility) you are mentioning. About getting only two towels, that is probably because they were been washed, at the time you asked for them.
We are sincerely sorry, since it's our goal to meet all of our guests expectations.
Please write to info@hotelcasitaseclipsehotel.com

Thank you again,
Hotel Casitas Eclipse's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I gave this 3 stars but really I would give the rooms 2 stars and the hotel grounds a 4. So I averaged it.
Stayed here and of the 3 rooms our party had the problems were:
Floors dirty.
Beds were more like cots. Thin, hard mattress on a metal frame.
Two sheets had 'pills' and would not stay on the mattress.
One room A/C units worked poorly.
One room had no hot water.
No place to sit other than the bed.
No shelves other than the ones inside closet.
One safe was broken.

As far as the hotel grounds, they were spectacular. Rooms had beautiful balconys with tables and chairs to sit and enjoy the trees/flowers/birds. Please note: lots of steps on brick walkways, definitely not for anyone with mobility issues.
We found a nice trail leading down into the jungle behind the hotel. Very lovely with a couple of swinging bridges and lots of assorted mosaic work that someone made. Would have been a highlight if not for the slight sewage smell near the bottom of the ravine.

Room Tip: Make sure if you have mobility problems to ask for a room without steps. One unit appeared to be whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasitasEclipse, General Manager at Hotel Casitas Eclipse, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear MontanaCBears ,
Thank you for taking some of your time to write a review about our hotel.
We are stunned about your review, and we are going immediately to investigate what happened.
A/C, hot water, security boxes and ceiling fans are constantly checked by our maintenance department.
According to your review, the room you had was a Standard Room, and these rooms don`t have any other shelves but the closet ones.
The trail you walked through, leads to our up-cycle glass workshop and to our 100% natural sewage treatment plant. However it is designed to not leave any residual or smell, even at the very end, where the ravine is.
We are doing our best to improve our quality and services, and we really appreciate your comment.
Hopefully will resolve all these issues, and eventually – if you come back - we will meet your expectations.

Thank you again,
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casitas Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Address: Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casitas Eclipse 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Eclipse is an exuberant Mediterranean - style hotel, located in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. Just in front of the hotel, the main road that heads to Manuel Antonio National Park and to the beach.The hotel is surrounded by exotic gardens which combined with their strategic location right next to the National Park, enables guests to enjoy within premises, the occasional visits of monkeys, iguanas, sloths, birds, colored frogs and other wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casitas Eclipse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Eclipse Hotel
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casitas Eclipse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.