We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, but tired resort in need of updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casitas Eclipse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casitas Eclipse
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, but tired resort in need of updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in room 201 and it was huge. I had a full kitchen including coffee maker (you have to buy your own coffee and fixings) and blender, stove, refrigerator, pots/pans, and even a salad bowl with serving spoons. The two beds were comfortable and the built-in sofas were ok, but not padded enough for sleeping. This hotel is definitely not upscale, but it was clean and I loved having so much room. The screens on windows were torn and allowed bugs to get in, but with the windows shut and the A/C on I was a happy camper. My unit also had a large covered front patio with a table and chairs, although the mosquitoes in Manuel Antonio were large enough to carry me away so I didn't spend a lot of time out of doors in the evening. This is the unit closest to the reception area and I had WIFI available on the patio, but not inside the room.

I had issues with the air conditioner but a very nice maintenance guy fixed that quickly. Others in my group had a number of maintenance issues that caused endless trips from maintenance and in some cases changing rooms 3 times before finding a room with a working air conditioner. Every unit on the property and the restaurant requires a lot of steps. If you do not do well with steps this hotel is not the place for you. The restaurant food was ok but not great. Breakfast was very limited and the entire restaurant is open air. You must order off a set menu and the breakfast and dinner portions I had were very small.

Would I stay at this hotel again? Probably not. I don't know the rates because I paid for the entire trip as a package from a tour operator. Others in our group stayed at Si Como No and said their rooms were much better than mine, but they paid more for their trip package.

Room Tip: Walk about 6 blocks up the hill and eat at Rico Tico. Rico Tico has fabulous food and service, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasitasEclipse, General Manager at Hotel Casitas Eclipse, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Westgalady
Thank you for your review.
We always take our costumers feedback into consideration, as we try to improve our service and quality every day.
We are glad to see that you liked the room, and that our maintenance department responded quickly.
We are a 3 ½ star hotel, that tries to give more services than expected, such as free WIFI areas in the reception area and restaurant.We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our restaurant service. We will look into what happened, as we usually deliver a good service.
We hope that you had a wonderful time in our country,

Thank you again,
Hotel Casitas Eclipse's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    53
    38
    29
    18
See reviews for
27
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights, part of a 10 days tour of Costa Rica.
All bungalow style unit. Room was spacious (we had a two room suite downstairs with kitchen).
Definitely showing wears and tears.
Staff were courteous, except they ruined 2 pieces of our luggage.
Hotel ground was beautiful.
Very disappointed with the quality of breakfast (included), not a buffet. Selection of 4 options. They served some very old and hard toasts for two of the three breakfasts. No excuse.
As a result, we ate 2 diners at El Avion (great view, food, and service, right across the street).
Had lunch at the Falls Garden Cafe and we really enjoyed it.
We had a group dinner in the hotel, the toughest steak we had in a very long time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasitasEclipse, General Manager at Hotel Casitas Eclipse, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear TibetVisitor,
First of all thank you for taking some of your time, to write a review on our property.
We are truly sad that we did not your expectations.
We usually have a good breakfast service, and we will check our daily slog, to see why you were disappointed.
We are sincerely sorry, since it's our goal to met all of our guests expectations.
Please, if you feel comfortable, address your complaints here: info@hotelcasitaseclipsehotel.com

Thank you again,
Hotel Casitas Eclipse's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The only way this gets one star is for the grounds which are beautiful. This place is ancient with no renovations what so ever over the last 50 years. The bathroom is disgusting, grimy grout with 50 years of stains, nasty fixtures, nasty, everything. Dead flies in the bottom of the 50 year old refrigerator.
Towels are gray from age and being washed with jeans. You only get 2 towels, no more available because they do the laundry in ONE machine on the porch of an outhouse. Don't go here.

Room Tip: don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasitasEclipse, General Manager at Hotel Casitas Eclipse, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear WantToSeeItAll,
First of all thank you for taking some of your time, to write a review on our property.
We are completely shocked by your review, and we would like you to contact us – via email – in order to get the total feedback and effectively see what caused such a negative review.
There are only two things that we would like to point out: we do not have only one washing machine. We have several, and the are placed with dryers, in the “house” (our laundry facility) you are mentioning. About getting only two towels, that is probably because they were been washed, at the time you asked for them.
We are sincerely sorry, since it's our goal to meet all of our guests expectations.
Please write to info@hotelcasitaseclipsehotel.com

Thank you again,
Hotel Casitas Eclipse's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I gave this 3 stars but really I would give the rooms 2 stars and the hotel grounds a 4. So I averaged it.
Stayed here and of the 3 rooms our party had the problems were:
Floors dirty.
Beds were more like cots. Thin, hard mattress on a metal frame.
Two sheets had 'pills' and would not stay on the mattress.
One room A/C units worked poorly.
One room had no hot water.
No place to sit other than the bed.
No shelves other than the ones inside closet.
One safe was broken.

As far as the hotel grounds, they were spectacular. Rooms had beautiful balconys with tables and chairs to sit and enjoy the trees/flowers/birds. Please note: lots of steps on brick walkways, definitely not for anyone with mobility issues.
We found a nice trail leading down into the jungle behind the hotel. Very lovely with a couple of swinging bridges and lots of assorted mosaic work that someone made. Would have been a highlight if not for the slight sewage smell near the bottom of the ravine.

Room Tip: Make sure if you have mobility problems to ask for a room without steps. One unit appeared to be whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasitasEclipse, General Manager at Hotel Casitas Eclipse, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear MontanaCBears ,
Thank you for taking some of your time to write a review about our hotel.
We are stunned about your review, and we are going immediately to investigate what happened.
A/C, hot water, security boxes and ceiling fans are constantly checked by our maintenance department.
According to your review, the room you had was a Standard Room, and these rooms don`t have any other shelves but the closet ones.
The trail you walked through, leads to our up-cycle glass workshop and to our 100% natural sewage treatment plant. However it is designed to not leave any residual or smell, even at the very end, where the ravine is.
We are doing our best to improve our quality and services, and we really appreciate your comment.
Hopefully will resolve all these issues, and eventually – if you come back - we will meet your expectations.

Thank you again,
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We originally had a reservation at a cliff side hotel on the other side of town but realized immediately that it would make for too remote a stay in the area. Hotel Casitas Eclipse is located right on the main road into Manual Antonio park and is thus well positioned near restaurants and stuff. While trying to select an alternative accommodation we popped into many properties and can say with some authority that this one is a winner.

Laid out like a Greek island village, the property is multi-tiered with foliage and pathways and art and a pool. You could easily get lost in the labyrinthine design looking for your room. Trees grow thick and verdant between the rooms and buildings with enough space between them to see the ocean. An early morning wake up (thanks Howler Monkeys!) gifted us with a stunning view of the suns rays being strained between leafy branches into the thick, misty air.

Breakfast was passable and sufficient but not noteworthy.

A couple of tips; though the restaurant directly across the street lures diners in with the well placed husk of an actual US Military cargo plane (it was used in '71 to bring weapons in during iran/Contra), just look and move on; the food and service are like a Chili's without a manager. Just down the hill a few steps is another place, this one with a train car (same owners) that is way more convivial and serves up some great brick oven pizzas.

Also, when you visit the park you will be engaged (read harassed and lied to) by alleged park employees. The shirts may look official but they are NOT working for the park. They are trying to get you to spend about $42 USD per person on a guide. They will also cause you to park further from the gate than you probably need to so they can get you out of your car and make their pitch. If you wish to have a guide wait until you are at the gates of the park and hire an actual official guide there. Or, my advice; skip the guide completely. As you walk the paths in the park you will see plenty of people with guides and those guides will be pointing out wildlife and you just need to look where they're pointing. I think i just paid for your dinner, so you're welcome!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasitasEclipse, General Manager at Hotel Casitas Eclipse, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Cap'n_Crunchy,
Happy New Year from all the Hotel Casitas Eclipse's Staff!
Thank you for your review of our property! We definitively are going to check the breakfast service, as we usually have very good reviews about it.

Thank you again,
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

When one arrives and walks from reception to our rooms, the well landscaped and maintained outside appearance gives one the idea that we are in an upscale hotel.
Once we insert the key into the lock and try to open the door the questions begin.
We had two rooms, bath, and kitchenette. All looked like they belong to the 1970s.
It was clean, well made up and the beds were fine, but the room just looked old.
The two major problems were the A/C - old and super noisy.
As the power in the city kept going out, the A/C would stop and not come back on.
Maintenance arrived and fixed this problem.
The shower ran all night, no way to turn it off, we could not hear it due to the A/C noise.
Our concern with this facility and too many locations in Costa Rica was the lack of internet throughout the facility.
After full days, we have to do our writing in the evenings to submit our material to the Internet late at night.
The hotel had internet at the bar and reception. One required us to walk 150 and the other 250 yards, in the DARK.
With the power constantly going out, the bar router was often out. Reception had no clue on how to reset theirs.
We ended up being the tech support - troubleshooting, unplugging, resetting and rebooting.

Room Tip: Check the rooms (A/C and shower water) before agreeing to the lodgings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasitasEclipse, General Manager at Hotel Casitas Eclipse, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Vicbrasil, first of all Happy New Year, and we wish you had a great time in our country!
Our hotel have been built in the mid 90's, in a simple but elegant Mediterranean style. As every hotel in the world - near the sea, and far from suppliers -, we have some issues... specially with electronic equipment. No excuses, just the way things are.
We are doing our best to improve our quality and services, and we really appreciate your comment.
Hopefully in a future visit of yours, we will have resolved all these issues.

Thank you again,
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

During our trip across Costa Rica we spontaneously decided to spend one night in Manuel Antonio. We did not look for hotel before and we just selected Casitas Eclipse because of its nice location on top of a hill overlooking the ocean. The hotel was almost fully booked but we could get a nice, large room with view on the forest and close to the second swimming pool (really nice!). I do not know if we were particularly lucky or if it is a policy of the hotel, but we got a nice discount on the stay (ask for it, you might be lucky too!). The staff was friendly and helpful with some sightseeing tips. The restaurant of the hotel was quite disappointing, though: a pretty expensive Italian restaurant with a very poor service. Overall, Casitas Eclipse has a good price/quality ratio and is very convenient to explore Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casitas Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Address: Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casitas Eclipse 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Eclipse is an exuberant Mediterranean - style hotel, located in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. Just in front of the hotel, the main road that heads to Manuel Antonio National Park and to the beach.The hotel is surrounded by exotic gardens which combined with their strategic location right next to the National Park, enables guests to enjoy within premises, the occasional visits of monkeys, iguanas, sloths, birds, colored frogs and other wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casitas Eclipse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Eclipse Hotel
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casitas Eclipse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.