We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casitas Eclipse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casitas Eclipse
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

During our trip across Costa Rica we spontaneously decided to spend one night in Manuel Antonio. We did not look for hotel before and we just selected Casitas Eclipse because of its nice location on top of a hill overlooking the ocean. The hotel was almost fully booked but we could get a nice, large room with view on the forest and close to the second swimming pool (really nice!). I do not know if we were particularly lucky or if it is a policy of the hotel, but we got a nice discount on the stay (ask for it, you might be lucky too!). The staff was friendly and helpful with some sightseeing tips. The restaurant of the hotel was quite disappointing, though: a pretty expensive Italian restaurant with a very poor service. Overall, Casitas Eclipse has a good price/quality ratio and is very convenient to explore Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    53
    38
    29
    18
See reviews for
27
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Highlights-So the staff was amazing. The front desk lady was super nice. When my tour ran late she let me check out thirty minutes late with no charge. When my a/c was broken, maintenance had it fixed within ten minutes of my call. They even came to help.me when I thought I locked my bag in the safe. Also, there is wildlife everywhere and the grounds are very well maintained.

Lowlights-rooms smell SOOO bad of mildew. The shower head was covered in black stuff making water only come out of certain holes. The seals around the wood and walls is coming apart. The sink water never got hot and the shower knobs are backwards. There also is no WiFi in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Highlights - Iguanas greeted us most mornings. Howler monkeys right outside our window. Close bus stop and cheap bus ride to Manuel Antonio Public Beach with a short walk to the park entrance. That being said, none of that was due to the hotel or it's staff.

Lowlights - We asked for face cloths at the front desk. We were sent back to our room to wait for them but they never came. We asked for a fitted sheet that stayed on the bed (who wants to sleep DIRECTLY on a bed that so many others have slept on?!) that didn't happen. We improvised with sheets from another bed. Broken toilet seat, cracked windows, and worn out and moldy fixtures ....

There are so many hotels in the area others should be considered.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Highlights - Iguanas greeted us most mornings. Howler monkeys right outside our window. Close bus stop and cheap bus ride to Manuel Antonio Public Beach with a short walk to the park entrance. That being said, none of that was due to the hotel or it's staff.

Lowlights - We asked for face cloths at the front desk. We were sent back to our room to wait for them but they never came. We asked for a fitted sheet that stayed on the bed (who wants to sleep DIRECTLY on a bed that so many others have slept on?!) that didn't happen. We improvised with sheets from another bed. Broken toilet seat, cracked windows, and worn out and moldy fixtures ....

There are so many hotels in the area others should be considered.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I ended our trip with a 2 nights stay here. The over all experience of this hotel was worth the stay!!! The room was comfortable. Bathrooms were ok. The pool was nice. We saw toucans flying over us while we swam in the pool and another animal of sorts ran by the pool. We heard howler monkeys off in the distance and in the morning heard and saw monkeys playing outside our window and above us in the trees as we walked around. The restaurant across the street with the big plane has great food. We also ate at a little pizza joint down the road another night. And Manuel Antonio reserve is right down the road. It was by far the place we saw the most animals on our whole trip. Monkeys, slothes, snakes, raccoons (haha, true), frogs, and beautiful beaches. We found free parking near Manuel Antonio up a side street, so don't let the locals rip you off on parking. You will do A LOT of walking to get into the park so make sure you wear good shoes. I wore flip flops and wished I hadn't. We also brought a Eagles Nest hammock for the beach and hung our stuff up so the raccoon wouldn't dig in our stuff while we were swimming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Realy a very nice place with large rooms, more like condos, including a full kitchen. The location is great, the quality of the room and cleaning acceptable. Halas that more or less all the service that is offered. Breakfast can be ordered separately in the restaurant Cato Negro. Also there the view is great, but the rest is less than average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The pictures are wonderful, and the amenities are overall good. But, take a closer look and it is difficult to work basic things in the room, such as opening windows (who installed these?), turning on the taps (hot and cold switched), and shutting the front door. We had a nice time anyway and enjoyed having a patio, making coffee in our room, and being just a few steps from the terrific pool (which is as good as it looks). The front desk staff can be much, much friendlier and less stingy with handing out pool towels--no, we are not taking them to the beach and only want to use them for the on-site pool. Plus, who steals hotel towels anymore? (do we really need the stern warning about having to pay for missing towels?) Pay for your drinks and meals at the restaurant--there may be extra fees if you use a "tab" and pay at the front desk. Easy & inexpensive bus ride to the beach and national park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casitas Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Address: Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casitas Eclipse 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Eclipse is an exuberant Mediterranean - style hotel, located in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. Just in front of the hotel, the main road that heads to Manuel Antonio National Park and to the beach.The hotel is surrounded by exotic gardens which combined with their strategic location right next to the National Park, enables guests to enjoy within premises, the occasional visits of monkeys, iguanas, sloths, birds, colored frogs and other wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casitas Eclipse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Eclipse Hotel
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casitas Eclipse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.