We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location...overall disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Casitas Eclipse to your Saves list
Hotel Casitas Eclipse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location...overall disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Highlights - Iguanas greeted us most mornings. Howler monkeys right outside our window. Close bus stop and cheap bus ride to Manuel Antonio Public Beach with a short walk to the park entrance. That being said, none of that was due to the hotel or it's staff.

Lowlights - We asked for face cloths at the front desk. We were sent back to our room to wait for them but they never came. We asked for a fitted sheet that stayed on the bed (who wants to sleep DIRECTLY on a bed that so many others have slept on?!) that didn't happen. We improvised with sheets from another bed. Broken toilet seat, cracked windows, and worn out and moldy fixtures ....

There are so many hotels in the area others should be considered.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    57
    42
    33
    19
See reviews for
30
85
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Highlights - Iguanas greeted us most mornings. Howler monkeys right outside our window. Close bus stop and cheap bus ride to Manuel Antonio Public Beach with a short walk to the park entrance. That being said, none of that was due to the hotel or it's staff.

Lowlights - We asked for face cloths at the front desk. We were sent back to our room to wait for them but they never came. We asked for a fitted sheet that stayed on the bed (who wants to sleep DIRECTLY on a bed that so many others have slept on?!) that didn't happen. We improvised with sheets from another bed. Broken toilet seat, cracked windows, and worn out and moldy fixtures ....

There are so many hotels in the area others should be considered.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I ended our trip with a 2 nights stay here. The over all experience of this hotel was worth the stay!!! The room was comfortable. Bathrooms were ok. The pool was nice. We saw toucans flying over us while we swam in the pool and another animal of sorts ran by the pool. We heard howler monkeys off in the distance and in the morning heard and saw monkeys playing outside our window and above us in the trees as we walked around. The restaurant across the street with the big plane has great food. We also ate at a little pizza joint down the road another night. And Manuel Antonio reserve is right down the road. It was by far the place we saw the most animals on our whole trip. Monkeys, slothes, snakes, raccoons (haha, true), frogs, and beautiful beaches. We found free parking near Manuel Antonio up a side street, so don't let the locals rip you off on parking. You will do A LOT of walking to get into the park so make sure you wear good shoes. I wore flip flops and wished I hadn't. We also brought a Eagles Nest hammock for the beach and hung our stuff up so the raccoon wouldn't dig in our stuff while we were swimming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Realy a very nice place with large rooms, more like condos, including a full kitchen. The location is great, the quality of the room and cleaning acceptable. Halas that more or less all the service that is offered. Breakfast can be ordered separately in the restaurant Cato Negro. Also there the view is great, but the rest is less than average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The pictures are wonderful, and the amenities are overall good. But, take a closer look and it is difficult to work basic things in the room, such as opening windows (who installed these?), turning on the taps (hot and cold switched), and shutting the front door. We had a nice time anyway and enjoyed having a patio, making coffee in our room, and being just a few steps from the terrific pool (which is as good as it looks). The front desk staff can be much, much friendlier and less stingy with handing out pool towels--no, we are not taking them to the beach and only want to use them for the on-site pool. Plus, who steals hotel towels anymore? (do we really need the stern warning about having to pay for missing towels?) Pay for your drinks and meals at the restaurant--there may be extra fees if you use a "tab" and pay at the front desk. Easy & inexpensive bus ride to the beach and national park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It's far from perfect. The rooms could use a few repairs and updates. The restaurant needs a good coat of paint inside, but it is a beautiful, slightly shabby place. The rooms have the ambiance of private villas with large varandas overlooking the lovely gounds. It's like a little village. Plenty of wildlife lurking about in the early mornings. One night a sloth was hanging on the telephone wires outside above the street. The restaurant is just okay, but El Avion (the airplane) across the street is great! The bar has a happy hour, but it's not a bargain. Staff is helpful and friendly and the manager is a lovely French lady.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

It's not a high star count hotel but is clean, safe, has parking (small and a little uncomfortable) and attention is from ok to good. The biggest plus is that it is surrounded by nature and you can see monkeys, guatuzas and really big frogs. If you are not a nature person then probably Manuel Antonio is not for you at all. The rooms have air conditioning and it works fine. We had a villa for 4 adults, it's only one big room so if you are looking for more privacy think in the "casita" or the standard room for only two.

Room Tip: If you want closer as you can be to the jungle Villa 103 is for you. It's a long walk though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casitas Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Address: Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casitas Eclipse 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Eclipse is an exuberant Mediterranean - style hotel, located in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. Just in front of the hotel, the main road that heads to Manuel Antonio National Park and to the beach.The hotel is surrounded by exotic gardens which combined with their strategic location right next to the National Park, enables guests to enjoy within premises, the occasional visits of monkeys, iguanas, sloths, birds, colored frogs and other wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Hotel Casitas Eclipse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Eclipse Hotel
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casitas Eclipse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.