We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Casitas Eclipse to your Saves list
Hotel Casitas Eclipse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San José, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place, convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

It's not a high star count hotel but is clean, safe, has parking (small and a little uncomfortable) and attention is from ok to good. The biggest plus is that it is surrounded by nature and you can see monkeys, guatuzas and really big frogs. If you are not a nature person then probably Manuel Antonio is not for you at all. The rooms have air conditioning and it works fine. We had a villa for 4 adults, it's only one big room so if you are looking for more privacy think in the "casita" or the standard room for only two.

Room Tip: If you want closer as you can be to the jungle Villa 103 is for you. It's a long walk though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    57
    43
    33
    19
See reviews for
30
85
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This seems to be an older attractive hotel on a hillside, well maintained and managed. It met our expectations during a two-night stay, providing a comfortable base to go to the Park and beach as well as being close to several good restaurants for dinner. There is a bus stop right out front on the main road which can take you to the beach or to Quepos in the other direction. The hotel has nice pools, and a nature loop trail into the forest. Breakfast was nice, with a great vista. The only negative was an ant infestation--in our room and the lobby; I don't know whether this is common in the area, but they were a nuisance here. The staff sprayed our room, and it was not too big a problem after that. BTW, the Kapi Kapi restaurant nearby was great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Costa Rica in January of this year and stayed at this great hotel at the end of our adventure. We had a great room with the pool right outside our door. Our room seemed to be our own private house. We had a kitchen with all of the amenities, great sleeping area and bath. The staff was exceptional. We had breakfast and dinner at their lovely open restaurant overlooking the coast. The food was great and offered a variety of everything. The grounds were beautiful and everything about Hotel Casitas Eclipse was wonderful. We really enjoyed all of the monkeys hanging outside of our room! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the pool. It is private and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merzig
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night. When we came to our room we recognized that there was water running out of the AC. Because they didn´t have any other room free they gave us the suite. Except for the fully equipped kitchen it was a normal room. Nice, pool right outside the door and very calm. We had breakfast in the morning which was okay. You have several different options - and a lot of bees flying around you while eating. But nothing happened. The restaurant of the hotel is good but very expensive, so the restaurant opposite of the hotel might be the better option. It´s called "El Avion". All in all, we liked our stay at the "Casitas Eclipse". People travelling with us complained about the stairs and the long ways to get tothe rooms,especially when you have suitcases to carry it can be very strenous. The National Park Manuel Antonio can be reached only by car or bus and it´s about a 15 min drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We just returned from vising this hotel. The outside view was very desirable. The staff was friendly and at times as helpful as they could be. The view from our room and the pool area was amazing. There were interior room defects ~ the shower head was not working, the shower door wouldn't stay closed and there was no iron available. There were lots of little bugs all over the room, don't leave any edible items out in the room. There was were gaps underneath the doors making accessible to any insects.

Room Tip: If you like wrinkle free clothing, bring an iron and bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dilazz@verizon.net
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We just returned from visiting this hotel. What a great place to visit. We enjoyed the staff as well. Very helpful. We enjoyed Happy Hour and meeting a lot of friends. What a wonderful place to see the monkeys in the morning and enjoyed swimming in the pool. Had a fantastic view of the gorgeous settings. Loved all the beautiful flowers and the great scenery. On our balcony we had a table and chairs and enjoyed having a glass of wine and just relaxing.

You could get a local bus directly out of the hotel lobby. We did not use the bus service but it was available and we understand that a lot of people that stayed at the hotel used the bus service to go to Manuel Antonio National Park.

We enjoyed our breakfast and we also had dinner one evening which was wonderful.

There were a lot of steps but it was lit in the evening and we did not encounter any problems when we returned. We felt that there were a lot of steps if you weren't in great shape.

Again, fantastic views and enjoyed the pool. They do have three pools but we only used the one near the restaurant and bar since it was close to our room. Great Place and we will be sure to go back again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room which had a sofa, 2 chairs, refrigerator and three beds. We had a nice bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

One of the hotels used by tour companies, it is uphill from the Manuel Antonio National Park on the main local bus route (50 US cents a ride), located in a gorgeous jungle setting. The layout is a series of freshly painted white stucco units set multiple staircases apart on a hillside. While there is a "handicapped accessible" path over parts of the complex, this is steps upon steps for the most part and not recommended for those with walking or vertigo problems. There are three nice swimming pools, a friendly staff and a very ordinary restaurant (breakfasts are less so and served open air among too many flying insects -- and this was the dry season). The rooms are being updated. We had a clean "family room" -- double and two single no-more-than serviceable beds with a living room area and old refrigerator. There were ceiling fans and a loud AC unit. Some in our traveling party were uncomfortabel in pre-fixit rooms. The flora, fauna (monkeys,birds) are the main feature here; restaurants abound along the highway with a bus stop at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one that includes a refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Casitas Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Address: Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casitas Eclipse 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Eclipse is an exuberant Mediterranean - style hotel, located in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. Just in front of the hotel, the main road that heads to Manuel Antonio National Park and to the beach.The hotel is surrounded by exotic gardens which combined with their strategic location right next to the National Park, enables guests to enjoy within premises, the occasional visits of monkeys, iguanas, sloths, birds, colored frogs and other wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Hotel Casitas Eclipse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Eclipse Hotel
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casitas Eclipse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.