We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont judge the "hotel" by its outside!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casitas Eclipse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casitas Eclipse
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Joliet, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Dont judge the "hotel" by its outside!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We just returned from vising this hotel. The outside view was very desirable. The staff was friendly and at times as helpful as they could be. The view from our room and the pool area was amazing. There were interior room defects ~ the shower head was not working, the shower door wouldn't stay closed and there was no iron available. There were lots of little bugs all over the room, don't leave any edible items out in the room. There was were gaps underneath the doors making accessible to any insects.

Room Tip: If you like wrinkle free clothing, bring an iron and bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    53
    38
    29
    18
See reviews for
28
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dilazz@verizon.net
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We just returned from visiting this hotel. What a great place to visit. We enjoyed the staff as well. Very helpful. We enjoyed Happy Hour and meeting a lot of friends. What a wonderful place to see the monkeys in the morning and enjoyed swimming in the pool. Had a fantastic view of the gorgeous settings. Loved all the beautiful flowers and the great scenery. On our balcony we had a table and chairs and enjoyed having a glass of wine and just relaxing.

You could get a local bus directly out of the hotel lobby. We did not use the bus service but it was available and we understand that a lot of people that stayed at the hotel used the bus service to go to Manuel Antonio National Park.

We enjoyed our breakfast and we also had dinner one evening which was wonderful.

There were a lot of steps but it was lit in the evening and we did not encounter any problems when we returned. We felt that there were a lot of steps if you weren't in great shape.

Again, fantastic views and enjoyed the pool. They do have three pools but we only used the one near the restaurant and bar since it was close to our room. Great Place and we will be sure to go back again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room which had a sofa, 2 chairs, refrigerator and three beds. We had a nice bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

One of the hotels used by tour companies, it is uphill from the Manuel Antonio National Park on the main local bus route (50 US cents a ride), located in a gorgeous jungle setting. The layout is a series of freshly painted white stucco units set multiple staircases apart on a hillside. While there is a "handicapped accessible" path over parts of the complex, this is steps upon steps for the most part and not recommended for those with walking or vertigo problems. There are three nice swimming pools, a friendly staff and a very ordinary restaurant (breakfasts are less so and served open air among too many flying insects -- and this was the dry season). The rooms are being updated. We had a clean "family room" -- double and two single no-more-than serviceable beds with a living room area and old refrigerator. There were ceiling fans and a loud AC unit. Some in our traveling party were uncomfortabel in pre-fixit rooms. The flora, fauna (monkeys,birds) are the main feature here; restaurants abound along the highway with a bus stop at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one that includes a refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed at Casitas Eclipse during the New Year's holiday and felt obligated to write this review after my wonderful stay. We stayed in a suite with a working kitchenette, which we actually used one night to make a delicious seafood dinner with fresh fish and jumbo shrimp that we purchased in Quepos. The suite was clean, comfortable and the air conditioner worked great!!! The hotel has beautiful grounds. The gardens are gorgeous and the jungle is just beyond the hotel. The staff was also very helpful during our stay and treated us very well. In fact they went out of their way to make sure everything worked perfectly and that we were satisfied. The hotel has three beautiful pools, which were very refreshing after a day at the beach. The restaurant threw a New Year's Eve bash which included entertainment and amazing gourmet food, including lobster and filet mignon. We rented a car, so it was nice to have onsite parking as well. I definitely felt that this hotel was a good value. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel!!! If you are going to Manuel Antonio I would definitely recommend Casitas Eclipse. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This hotel has a nice property and is very scenic. It is clean but the property has a few issues. The water and plumbing is not very good. We had to switch rooms because our shower did not work properly. We came for a wedding and had several members stay here.
The toilets in several rooms backed up several times. The mattresses are not the best, and not all the kitchenettes have glasses and kitchenware. The pools are nice, and there are several iguanas and monkeys you can see around the property. The foliage is great and gives you a great view of the jungle in the background. The staff is prompt with trying to fix things when you call. There are a lot of stairs so if you don't like to climb, make sure you get a room near the lobby. It is close to the beach and on the bus line, so getting around is easy. You can also walk to several restaurants. The hotel restaurant is nice and the staff is friendly. The breakfast was very good, but the "sausage" on the Americano menu is actually a hot dog. Their seafood is also good. With some furniture upgrades this place could be very nice. It was a decent price and an average room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We had a suite with kitchenette that allowed us to stay in the first day of torrential rain. We had a lovely covered patio that overlooked the facility and the steep jungle hills alive with birds and all kinds of creatures. The location provides for easy access to the public beach at Manual Antonio, nearby clubs and spas, and the town of Quepos itself.

We did have a laugh in the restaurant at breakfast, when we chose the "Americano" breakfast that included sausage. What actually came was a hot dog! Yuck! We let them know that a hot dog is NOT a sausage. They were happy to substitute. The pineapple in CR is the best I've ever tasted anywhere.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, bringing us umbrellas and generally helping however they could. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had adjoining rooms with our kids which when combined together were like a villa. Was spacious, comfortable and clean. Loved how the hotel was set with separate casitas and a few pools scattered around the complex and lovely trees, plants and some animals. Service was good and helpful. We enjoyed the restaurant and we got a good deal on Sunday lunch (main courses were half price). Lots of other places to eat nearby. Beach was close (by car) and both the beach within the National Park and the one outside were great although different. The one outside is great for boogie boarding/surfing. The one inside is gentle and nice for paddling.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casitas Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Address: Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casitas Eclipse 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Eclipse is an exuberant Mediterranean - style hotel, located in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. Just in front of the hotel, the main road that heads to Manuel Antonio National Park and to the beach.The hotel is surrounded by exotic gardens which combined with their strategic location right next to the National Park, enables guests to enjoy within premises, the occasional visits of monkeys, iguanas, sloths, birds, colored frogs and other wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Casitas Eclipse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Eclipse Hotel
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casitas Eclipse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.