We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casitas Eclipse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casitas Eclipse
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed at Casitas Eclipse during the New Year's holiday and felt obligated to write this review after my wonderful stay. We stayed in a suite with a working kitchenette, which we actually used one night to make a delicious seafood dinner with fresh fish and jumbo shrimp that we purchased in Quepos. The suite was clean, comfortable and the air conditioner worked great!!! The hotel has beautiful grounds. The gardens are gorgeous and the jungle is just beyond the hotel. The staff was also very helpful during our stay and treated us very well. In fact they went out of their way to make sure everything worked perfectly and that we were satisfied. The hotel has three beautiful pools, which were very refreshing after a day at the beach. The restaurant threw a New Year's Eve bash which included entertainment and amazing gourmet food, including lobster and filet mignon. We rented a car, so it was nice to have onsite parking as well. I definitely felt that this hotel was a good value. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel!!! If you are going to Manuel Antonio I would definitely recommend Casitas Eclipse. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    53
    38
    29
    18
See reviews for
27
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This hotel has a nice property and is very scenic. It is clean but the property has a few issues. The water and plumbing is not very good. We had to switch rooms because our shower did not work properly. We came for a wedding and had several members stay here.
The toilets in several rooms backed up several times. The mattresses are not the best, and not all the kitchenettes have glasses and kitchenware. The pools are nice, and there are several iguanas and monkeys you can see around the property. The foliage is great and gives you a great view of the jungle in the background. The staff is prompt with trying to fix things when you call. There are a lot of stairs so if you don't like to climb, make sure you get a room near the lobby. It is close to the beach and on the bus line, so getting around is easy. You can also walk to several restaurants. The hotel restaurant is nice and the staff is friendly. The breakfast was very good, but the "sausage" on the Americano menu is actually a hot dog. Their seafood is also good. With some furniture upgrades this place could be very nice. It was a decent price and an average room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We had a suite with kitchenette that allowed us to stay in the first day of torrential rain. We had a lovely covered patio that overlooked the facility and the steep jungle hills alive with birds and all kinds of creatures. The location provides for easy access to the public beach at Manual Antonio, nearby clubs and spas, and the town of Quepos itself.

We did have a laugh in the restaurant at breakfast, when we chose the "Americano" breakfast that included sausage. What actually came was a hot dog! Yuck! We let them know that a hot dog is NOT a sausage. They were happy to substitute. The pineapple in CR is the best I've ever tasted anywhere.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, bringing us umbrellas and generally helping however they could. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had adjoining rooms with our kids which when combined together were like a villa. Was spacious, comfortable and clean. Loved how the hotel was set with separate casitas and a few pools scattered around the complex and lovely trees, plants and some animals. Service was good and helpful. We enjoyed the restaurant and we got a good deal on Sunday lunch (main courses were half price). Lots of other places to eat nearby. Beach was close (by car) and both the beach within the National Park and the one outside were great although different. The one outside is great for boogie boarding/surfing. The one inside is gentle and nice for paddling.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This hotel is on the main road of Manuel Antonio. Everything (including the beach) is within walking distance. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We found Hotel Casitas Eclipse through friends we met in Costa Rica. The staff was so friendly and accommodating! Our affordable suite looked out over the Pacific coast and the rainforest ~ what a treat! We were blessed to enjoy all the iguanas and monkeys that Costa Rica had to offer!

The breakfast (included) was fresh and filling and we enjoyed several dinners at, Gato Negro, the "house" restaurant as well. The staff at the restaurant served ingenious local fare only steps from our room!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Good location, nice gardens, can hear monkeys in the morning....that's the good. Old hotel, dated decor, very hard bed, a two star at best, noisy air conditioning, smell of sewage near the rooms, too many stairs, mediocre food.........Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casitas Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Address: Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casitas Eclipse 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Eclipse is an exuberant Mediterranean - style hotel, located in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. Just in front of the hotel, the main road that heads to Manuel Antonio National Park and to the beach.The hotel is surrounded by exotic gardens which combined with their strategic location right next to the National Park, enables guests to enjoy within premises, the occasional visits of monkeys, iguanas, sloths, birds, colored frogs and other wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casitas Eclipse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Eclipse Hotel
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casitas Eclipse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.