We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO GOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngo

Ngo
next to Hotel Flor Blanca, Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 000000, Costa Rica
+506 2777 6821
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Asian Take out and Delivery
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SO GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Love the orange chicken! MUST TRY this place when in Manuel Antonio... The owners are great and the food is fantastic.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    22
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Hospitality in it's purest form.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This place is really a stand out spot in Manuel Antonio. The owners have done a great job in creating a uniquely friendly and familiar atmosphere for anyone lucky enough to get a table at this 2 table spot. Most of the business seems to be based on to go orders, but I recommend eating in. The owners are super friendly and really make the whole experience very enjoyable. The food was fresh and a very welcome change after eating rice and beans for days. We had the lo mein and the singapore noodles as well as roast pork spring rolls and an avocado mint boba tea (recommended by Susan). The spring rolls were nicely done and the peanut dipping sauce was nice and spicy. The noodle dishes were done simply and very well executed. The boba tea was so refreshing and a nice surprise to find. I highly recommend this place if you enjoy a non touristy, casual, and friendly dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Authentic Pan-Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

After four months in Latin America, and starved for real Asian food and not the greasy chow mein and egg rolls found in many Latin American "comida China" and lunch counters, Ngo was a welcome find. The fresh spring rolls wrapped in real rice paper were delicious, especially with the spicy peanut-hoisin sauce served on the side. Generous portion of orange chicken (not my personal favorite but my husband likes it) with very prominent orange flavor. My Singapore noodles tasted the real thing, I only missed the bean sprouts and shrimp I'm accustomed to, but all in all a very welcome find. The restaurant is tiny (just two tables) with little ambiance, their primary business is take out. Although there is no view to speak of, other than the main street that runs through town, while we were sitting at the sidewalk table, we spotted a baby sloth sitting on top of the bus stop and a very large iguana hanging down the tree across the street. We would definitely not hesitate to come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“As good as ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I returned to MA with my parents, wife and daughter nine months after visiting solo. I took them to NGO and they confirmed how good it is. We ordered a variety of items from the menu all yummy, filling, and a deal to be sure in MA. They also just won best take out in MA so don't hesitate to grab it and go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Amazingly fresh Asian food in Manuel Antonio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Keep in mind that this is an "express" restaurant, their business concept is FOOD DELIVERY, therefore they only have 2 or 3 tables for those who want to enjoy their food right there and DO NOT USE PLATES, only to-go boxes, and the place is located right beside a busy road (which is the ONLY reason why I gave them a "4" on Atmosphere), but on the other hand the owners ate extremelly friendly and a good chat is guaranteed! It was a very, very positive surprise. The food was certainly the freshest asian dish I had in months and the portion was HUGE and prices very reasonable. They have Vietnamese, Chinese and Singaporean dishes (among others) but no Japanese food.

Congrats to the owners, if you keep cooking such great food you have the potential to grow a lot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngo also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Ngo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.