We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuuuummmmm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngo

Ngo
next to Hotel Flor Blanca, Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 000000, Costa Rica
+506 2777 6821
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Asian Take out and Delivery
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yuuuummmmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Thanks Susan and Kong for 2 great meals while visiting Manuel Antonio. We loved the Gyoza (our kids did too), orange chicken, sweet and spicy chicken, noodles and aguacate boba shake. These 2 really know what they are doing. A great little place with high quality food, something I normally wouldn't expect to find in a tourist town. We loved it so much we ate there 2 nights in a row. So funny, we saw 6 other people coming back from the night before as well. Ground hog day at Ngo. Susan and Kong are great, they make you feel right at home, like you are guests in their personal kitchen. They deliver too! Thanks for offering great Asian food. We haven't had any for 2 months.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanheatherj, Owner at Ngo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I think it all of our history, we will not be able to say it's ground hog day again at Restaurante Ngo. I am so happy your son loved our dumplings, and I will let you know if we ever do decide to have a dumpling eating contest! I am glad we were able to give you a smoothie fix with our boba tea and offer you new flavors. It was a pleasure meeting your family and hope you come to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    26
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affordable and Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We came here to get something different, other than Costa Rican food, and it was surprisingly food. The owner was very nice and guided use to many activities to do.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanheatherj, Owner at Ngo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you, and we are always happy to see a fellow Floridian! Thank you for trying us out and it was a pleasure meeting you guys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Hardworking owners, wonderful service, an awesome feel, and flavors that you'll enjoy completely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

You might look at their menu and think that it is a bad thing that there are only 10 or so options to chose, but in this case it is for the better. The owners have made the right decision to follow the "less is more" approach and have concentrated their efforts on making a handle of items taste exceptional and affordable. The kitchen is open and has a modern zen feel to it and they are truly hospitable. Nothing you order will disappoint. Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanheatherj, Owner at Ngo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you Matthew! While we do plan on eventually adding a few things, the idea is just to keep it simple. We are glad you came by, and once again, I am sorry you weren't able to try the other things on the menu :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The best food my girlfriend and I have had in Costa Rica all week.Dumplings were my favorite and lo mien noodles were great. I wish we had found NGO sooner. Owners also gave great advice about activities around MA.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanheatherj, Owner at Ngo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I am so happy you loved our dumplings so much! We do them from scratch so a lot of time and love goes into making them, and they have been a big hit. Although we only got to see you at the end of your stay, I am glad you came by and tried us out, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Vietnamese in the middle of the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great food, fresh, well spiced, good prices and wonderful owners.... we found this on our last night in Manuel because Sancho's was closed and they suggested NGO. We were not disappointed. My gluten free daughter was full and happy and all of us enjoyed some familiar yet exotic tastes we'd been missing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanheatherj, Owner at Ngo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for giving us the chance to give you something different while in Manuel Antonio. I am glad you were pleased with our gluten free choices!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngo also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Ngo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.