We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, and excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante and Sports Bar El Sol

Restaurante and Sports Bar El Sol
Manuel Antonio's main public beach | Altos Super Joseth, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
+50627777003
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bayside, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The food was great, and the portions were huge!!! I had the fish ceviche, and it was very fresh and delicious. This was a very good casual place to go to with friends and/or family.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Location location location........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Perfect location on second floor facing the ocean, with stools and tables. This place provided the best Casado meal while in that area. We returned the following day to order the same exact meal!
And there wings are good too. Owner is on location and a real soccer fan.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

They had the most amazing food. That is the only way to put it. I got chicken in mushroom sauce. Perfectly cooked veggies. The only catch was that there was white rice and I prefer brown. Also had a great ocean view.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ceviche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

great location, cold beer , food is fantastic, when in manuel Antonio get fish and calamari. guacamole is good too. don't worry about eating too much you walk it all off

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Food Overlooking Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

El Sol was recommend by our hotel so we gave it try. The price was reasonable but not cheap. We were happy to have something other than the typical Costa Rican "casado" for a change and we had shrimp quesadilla and fish tacos. The lettuce, tomatoes, and avocados were very fresh and tasty and the portions were generous. The service was quick and very friendly.

This restaurant is on the second floor over a little super and it looks over the main drag (such as it is) of Manuel Antonio and out to the beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante and Sports Bar El Sol also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Restaurante and Sports Bar El Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante and Sports Bar El Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.