We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for people with Celiacs Disease!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Arado

El Arado
Old road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2777 0928
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: If you are looking for an Authentic Costa Rican meal El Arado is your place! We have no hamburgers or pizza on the menu. Only traditional home cooked meals. Tell your taxi driver we are located on the old road to Manuel Antonio 100 meters south of the hotel Villa Teca.
Denver, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Great for people with Celiacs Disease!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place is right next to Hotel Villa Teca and has excellent food! I ate there everyday that I was in Manuel Antonio. The couple that own the restaurant are very sweet people and the wife who cooks most of the food is aware of gluten allergies and Celiacs. She mentioned that she has removed flour from her sauces. I had the vegetarian platter and the arroz con pollo there and did not feel sick at all and I am fairly sensitive. I definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    25
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic and off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This small, open-air, family-run restaurant is a wonderful experience for those who want a relaxed, delicious home-cooked meal. Rather than a printed menu, you can tell the owner/cook what you want and she will make you a complete meal with their fresh meats and ingredients. Secret tip: stay around and ask when the families of spider monkeys are expected - it's a wild experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Costa Rican food and best food in last 5 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great authentic experience - great food and very reasonably priced. That's the way me and my wife felt yesterday visiting this place. It's not on the main road, but this place was reccommened to us and we decided to try. If you enjoy GREAT food go here, it's only 100 m off the main road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio NP. Holesome food, organically grown on their own farm. It's family own restaurant and the owners Ana and her husband are very friendly and warm people. We felt like we were eating delicious dinner at our friends house. Very simple decor, you seat on home built furniture right next to their vegetable garden. It was highly reccommended and we are happy to pass it on. Must try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Local dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

You will not find white table cloths, air conditioning or fancy bar service but you will get terrific food in a very casual setting. It is basically home cooking in a slightly rustic atmosphere. Very limited selections but all seem to be good and prepared while you wait and watch the prep in the open air kitchen. They may not have everything on the menu but what you get will be fresh and local.

They do take credit cards now and the prices are still very reasonable even by local standards. Go and enjoy a local meal and just relax and enjoy it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path but wow is it worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Bring cash, they don't take credit cards...this is a rustic hole in the wall where the husband and wife team do all the cooking. it is not tourist-y at all, the food is simple and so delicioso.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Arado also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Arado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Arado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.