We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good option :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Faro Beach Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Faro Beach Hostel to your Saves list
El Faro Beach Hostel
| Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park,300 Mts from Restaurante Marlen, Manuel Antonio National Park XQP, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good option :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good value for price!
Close to the park and the beach.

Very nice atmosphere in the communal areas of the hostel. The swimming pool was very clean and with plenty of sun beds around.

Bathrooms were pretty ok. Sizeable shared kitchen with the basics, although people's food in the fridge was stolen all the time and somehow I doubt about the guests itself (who knows).

They've different types of rooms the more you pay the more you get, but it's still pretty ok if you're on a budget.

Thank you very much :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    17
    22
    14
See reviews for
1
32
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I decided to "book" this place because the other recommended hostels were already booked for private rooms; I say "book" because by the time I arrived we had no reservation in the suite I called twice to confirm. They only had a private room with shared bathrooms, as a courtesy the front desk lady gave me a $5 discount... my mistake, I should have gone to another place.

Pros of this place: nice pool, nice common areas, very convenient location towards beach and park, free wi-fi.

Bad: The rooms are terrible!!! The walls, if you can call them like that, are really thin. You can hear absolutely everything from the other room.... EVERYTHING... when they are having a conversation at 12 am you can join them, when someone snores you can hear it right next to you, when people are partying at the pool at 2 am you can hear that too. The room floor has stains of paint, beds are bunks like in the army.

Definitely not a good choice

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was our least favorite hostel of our trip. We don't require much and thought that we could skip the AC and just have a fan, but since the room was on the second floor it was like a sauna. It was impossible to stay in the room while the sun was up. Maybe if we were on the first floor it would have been more bearable. The bed sheets looked old and dirty. Bathrooms were ok although there seemed to be a lack of toilet paper. Luckily we brought our own. The outside area was cool and had a pool. The plus about this hostel is that it is right at the entrance of the National Park.

Room Tip: If you stay here get AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I like simple, cheap hostels, but even we had a horrible experience at this hostel. I received email confirmation from someone about my booking, and when we arrived they had "no space for us on the second night". The receptionists are sweet but very unprofessional, and unable to problem solve.

The beds are VERY uncomfortable, and more expensive private rooms have no perks for the price. The bathroom was not clean, and needed many repairs. Any time I made a comment about something lacking, I was met with an indifferent attitude.

The second night we were moved to one of the new luxury apartments (because they had no other space) and were woken up at 6am by the construction workers. Again, there was no competence when I mentioned this to the staff.

The pool is nice, and the location is great, but we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room did and I have heard that all of the rooms have terribly uncomfortable beds. The only nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Gillian,

First off, thanks so much for staying with us. Second, I want to apologize with you about the service you received from the front desk (where by the way, we´ve made some staff changes already)...

We have to apologize for the misunderstanding presented during your check in due to an human mistake we were overbooked for the next day, however we solved you this issue with a free upgrade to a room with ocean view, AC, private bath...

I would like also to mention these aspects that this particular guest forgot to mention in his review and we hope our future guests can understand:
Our hostel is located door to door to Manuel Antonio National Park, and its privilege location is a great plus to spend comfortable vacations walking to the Park or to the beach anytime. The hostel has also a great pool, communal kitchen, free and fast WiFi, and nightly movies.

Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmares, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed two nights in the dormitory for women, and we loved it! Of course it is an hostel so our expectations were not high. They had a lot of bathrooms and showers that they cleaned all the time so that made us feel so much more comfertable! The atmosphere were great with an open and well equilped kitchen and a big pool were people were hanging all the time so you could get to know people easily!
And the location was amazing!! Close to everything! Whatever you do, do not live on the way between to manuel antonio from quepos! Its a mountain between the villiges so choose either to live by the beach like this hostel (because there are stores and nightlife on the beach all the time) or in quepos with more stores and nightlife (but less atmosphere). There are buses between these villiges all the time so you wont have a problem getting around! And its really hot here so you want to live close to the water!
This hostel shows big screen movies over the pool that all the guests look at, and great movies to, which really bost the whole experience!
The only minus could be that the beds are a little bit hard, but hostels are not for sleeping in anyways ;)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We truly appreciate your comments about the hostel. It means a lot to us that you noticed how kind our staff is, our facilities, our closeness to the main beach ( walking distance) and of course to Manuel Antonio National Park, the cleanliness (housekeeping service), the free communal kitchen...

There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like yours to continue providing services beyond our guests’ expectations!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hostel had the dirtiest beds we have ever seen. The sheets were covered with stains. Because it was after 10 pm, we had to get the guard to come and have a look. He brought us new bedsheets, which had holes in them and were too small (for one person only). The mattress itself was disgusting. After complaining again, the guard showed us to a new room, which was better (a larger room with clean bedsheets). However, due to very thin walls, we didn't get any sleep at all. There was just too much noise. The day after we went to a different hotel because we could not stand another night here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We apologize that we were not able to satisfy your demands!

We are now taking actions to buy new sheets.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacations at this incredible and wonderful country!!

We want to tell all our Tripadvisor readers that if there is a way we can make your stay better, we kindly ask that you inform us while you are in the hostel, as we are more than happy to accommodate you in any way that we can.

Warm regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place has one thing going for it and that is it: location. It is only 50 meters from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. Other than that, yikes! My wife and I have stayed in many hostels all around the world. This had to be one of the dirtiest I have ever seen. As stated by other customers on this forum, the mattresses are moldy. Not just one or two but ALL OF THEM in each room. The sheets they provided us smelled like old cheese. The beds themselves are made out of wooden planks - very uncomfortable night's sleep. The rooms are very narrow and have one fluorescent light above. If someone comes into the room late at night, boom, bright light in your eyes. And people were in and out of every room each night. Very loud place. The pool is very small and rinky-dink, non-chlorinated either. The water pressure in the showers was eh but very cold water. One morning none of the toilets flushed which didn't stop people from leaving deposits. There were movies projected at night in the courtyard but one night the projection didn't work but they continued to play the sound for hours. Long story short, I'm sure some people don't care about cleanliness and just came here to party, but overall this place needs better management, to burn their mattresses and to hire new cleaners.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
The management and staff here at National Park Backpackers are extremely sorry that this guest was not happy with his stay at our Hostel.

It is forums like Tripadvisor that assist us to see our way clear to improve our overall service to our valued guests.

Overall, we will make any necessary changes and/or corrections based upon the observations indicated here. And we once again thank our guest for taking the time to post here on Tripadvisor... a welcome tool in the hospitality industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Faro Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro Beach Hostel

Address: | Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park,300 Mts from Restaurante Marlen, Manuel Antonio National Park XQP, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Faro Beach Hostel is conveniently located within steps from the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park and only a short walk to Playa Espadilla (the main beach). We have an outdoor swimming pool and several common areas which provide a great place to relax and have fun with fellow guests from all over the world. We offer both private rooms and dorms with hot showers and a fully-equipped guest kitchen. Manuel Antonio is a mecca for the adventure seeker whether it is sportfishing, ziplining, whitewater rafting, sea kayaking, horseback riding, ATV tours... our friendly staff can arrange it all. It is also a haven for nature enthusiasts with all the flora and fauna and wildlife in the park.On-site we have our restaurant, the "Funky Monkey", which serves both local and international flavors from 6am to 10pm daily... including beer, for a great price. Also, we have a nightly poolside movie feature (and yes, we will take requests on what to show). We are the only hostel in the area with our amenities AND a great location. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or if there are any special arrangements you should need. We are here for you and to ensure your time spent in Manuel Antonio is the best it can possibly be. Other amenities:• WiFi • Swimming pool• No curfew• Lockers• Nighttime security guard• Free parking• Tour information• Snacks and beverages for sale• Fully-equipped kitchen area• Pura vida!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your El Faro Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Faro Beach Hostel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Faro Beach Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.