We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis a few yards from the most beautiful national park in Costa Rica.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Save Saved
You added National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio
Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park | 300 Mts del Restaurante Marlen hacia el Parque Nacional de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 11111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An oasis a few yards from the most beautiful national park in Costa Rica.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our stay here was relaxing & fun. The hostel is great. Nice rooms & beautiful clean pool right outside the door. Food is yummy & reasonably priced. The National Park is only a few yards away & was stunning with loads of animals & butterflies, with beautiful beaches. Every night they play a movie outside in a giant screen. The staff were great & so friendly. I can highly recommend this hostel as a must when visiting Costa Rica!! Would love to go back!!! :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego E, Gerente at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello Lottipop!
What a brilliant review you have written... We all the staff at NPBP are very happy that you had enjoyed in the most beatiful National Park in Costa Rica which is just 100mts away from us.
A great thanks for recommending our hostel to everybody and we would love also to see you again someday!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    8
    15
    11
See reviews for
1
25
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a nice, simple hostel! We stayed in a private room, which was basic (an ok bed, and a little storage space) but clean. The site though is really nice: a pool, a kitchen if you want to cook your own food, and movies at night outside! Would be nice to have a better wifi and more fridges, but it wasn't a problem at all! It is also right next door from the national park and there are many restaurants for all price range in Manuel Antonio, walking distance from the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks to our recent friend from Quebec for such a nice review on this forum.
We are actually improving our wifi connection and our fridge although it´s really big we are considering to put more when we have more people staying.
Welcome back anytime to paradise where our staff will be happy to host you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is an excellent hostel! Super great atmosphere, nice set-up, clean, and the movies at night on the projector was an definite plus. It's just minutes away from the National Park, which is so beautiful- worth spending an afternoon in. As a side note, Manuel Antonio beach was probably the most beautiful beach I've been too.. rainforest meets the ocean with monkeys near by! The restaurant food is good, and there is also a kitchen to do your own cooking too. All in all, I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Regina,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hostel on this TripAdvisor forum... Our location is just perfect being just some steps away from the georgeous National Park and its nice beaches. Thanks also for pointing out our cleanliness and our different movie played every night by our pool.
You are welcome back anytime.
Diego Elizondo / Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I volunteered with a friend in San Jose, Costa Rica at an orphanage. One weekend we wanted to get away, and a travel guide told us to go to Manuel Antonio and that the best place to stay on a budget was backpackers. Once we finally found it off of the bus (we had to ask some people because we had no idea where we were...) it was awesome. There were a few restaurants and it was only a five minute walk to the beach. Also, it was right next to the national park, which has the most beautiful beach I have ever been to. There was also a restaurant that served breakfast (eggs, rice & beans, a huge fruit plate, and coffee) for super cheap, I wanna say like a dollar? The location itself makes me give backpackers at least 3 stars, but the fact that they had a projection screen playing movies at night, a little food area, and a pool was definitely more than I had expected. I am so glad we chose to go there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
The entire family of NPBP is certainly thrilled with your review here Meaghan! It´s wonderful to know that we fullfill with your expectations. Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with others here on this TripAdvisor forum. We look forward to seeing you again!!
Diego Elizondo / Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place was cheap, and pretty clean for a hostel. They sold beer and played movies on a large projector. The people were nice, and the place seemed safe. good place to crash if you want to surf Manuel Antonio, or peep the park. I would go back...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you very much to our recent friend from New Jersey!
Pointing out some of our facilities as: the different movie played every night in the projector, our very friendly staff, the safety in our property and the proximity to the beatiful national park is very much appreciated.
We certainly hope to have you as our guest one more time.
Warm regards,
Diego Elizondo / Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very nice and pleasant including the other guests. The food was good and economical giving us no reason to eat anywhere else. The location was very convinient having stores, restaurants, the national park and even the beach very close.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Khalidkure!
We all the staff are truly thrilled that your experience at National Park BackPackers was so wonderful... Thanks for taking notice of our restaurant which offers great food, and indeed the cheapest on the area.
The entire staff of NPBP really enjoyed being able to serve you during your stay, and you say one really good thig for people staying here: we are just some steps away from the amazing Manuel Antonio National Park, beaches, grocery stores, bank, etc.
You are welcome back anytime at Paradise!
Sincerely,
Diego Elizondo
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very nice and friendly staff and comfortable location of the hostel. :D
There's also a cooking facility and a good atmosphere around the people. ^-^

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Lisa & Sabrina!
Thank you very much for your positive and sincere review of National Park Backpackers on this TripAdvisor forum.
Thanks also for pointing out the service that our friendly and helpful staff provided to you. And it is true!, staying at NPBP is very comfortable because you are just 100 mts away from the very famous and gorgeous Manuel Antonio National Park and its nice white sand beaches!!
We all look forward to your next visit.
Pura Vida,
Diego Elizondo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Address: Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park | 300 Mts del Restaurante Marlen hacia el Parque Nacional de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 11111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Park Backpackers is conveniently located within steps from the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park and only a short walk to Playa Espadilla (the main beach). We have an outdoor swimming pool and several common areas which provide a great place to relax and have fun with fellow guests from all over the world. We offer both private rooms and dorms with hot showers and a fully-equipped guest kitchen. Manuel Antonio is a mecca for the adventure seeker whether it is sportfishing, ziplining, whitewater rafting, sea kayaking, horseback riding, ATV tours… our friendly staff can arrange it all. It is also a haven for nature enthusiasts with all the flora and fauna and wildlife in the park.On-site we have our restaurant, the “Funky Monkey”, which serves both local and international flavors from 6am to 10pm daily… including beer, for a great price. Also, we have a nightly poolside movie feature (and yes, we will take requests on what to show). We are the only hostel in the area with our amenities AND a great location. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or if there are any special arrangements you should need. We are here for you and to ensure your time spent in Manuel Antonio is the best it can possibly be. Other amenities:• WiFi • Swimming pool• No curfew• Lockers• Nighttime security guard• Free parking• Tour information• Snacks and beverages for sale• Fully-equipped kitchen area• For hire laundry service• Pura vida!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.